We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kayaktive 10 day trans-Okavango kayak trip”
Review of Okavango Delta

Okavango Delta
Book In Advance
More Info
US$2,382.00*
and up
Victoria Falls To Okavango Delta Tour
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Maun
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kayaktive 10 day trans-Okavango kayak trip”
Reviewed 26 June 2016

After seeing many different parts of the Okavango Delta and travelling by many different modes, I can easily say doing a trans Okavango with Kayaktive Adventure Safaris is far and away the best way to see the Delta.

Not for the feint-hearted, the trip involves paddling some ~280km over 10 days. In that time you will get to see the environment change from the papyrus fringed, deep channels of the panhandle to the vast expansive network of channels and islands in the Delta proper.

If you enjoy camping and exercising, this is by far the best way to experience the Okavango Delta.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    69
    8
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Oddballs”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed three nights at Oddballs and were extremely impressed by their attention offered to us. The guide was legendary and the Enclave staff looked after us well beyond our expectation. We would totally recommend this lodge to singles, couples and families.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Arandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mobile safari with Okavango Expeditions”
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Our Background: We are a family of four - two teenage daughters that like animals. I'm a university zoology professor. My wife doesn't want to rough it TOO much, so we selected the serviced version - not the participatory version. It means you get out and see more too.

Our Overall Experience: Amazing! Our guide, Meier, was incredible competent and had non-stop enthusiasm for what he did. He was relentless in finding us amazing things to see. He had the enthusiasm of someone on his very first safari but with the knowledge of someone doing them for 11 years. He knew where to go to find everything. He could spot animals from incredible distances and using the most interesting signs. He could spot a leopard tract driving 40kph and heard distant alarm calls of birds telling him that a lion was back over a rise. We really saw everything we could have reasonable hoped to see, and way closer than you could imagine. I'd never have dreamed we would watch two lion predation events, painted dogs regurgitating to their pups, and lots more. And happen right in front of us. This is a trip that would make a wildlife fanatic VERY happy.

Food: The food was delicious! The chef preparing it for us made us put on weight - there was ALWAYS more than you could eat, and then he served dessert! Very inventive menu that NEVER repeated itself at lunch and dinner. Breakfasts were more simple, but that was just fine.

Accommodations: A three person support team drove ahead and set up everything for us. The tents, beds, and everything else were set up and ready whenever we changed camp. All VERY comfortable.

Attitudes: Everyone was VERY positive and friendly. I look forward to doing their Kalahari trip next time. I would certainly recommend them to anyone wanting a real African experience. Much better than staying at a lodge - something we also did, in neighboring Zimbabwe. Elephants walking into our camp, hyenas walking by at night who you could occasionally her from the comfort of your sleeping bag. But all very safe.

Advice: If there in May-September, bring a wind-proof down jacket for the two daily game drives (with an attached hood is even better). It's their wintertime, it's COLD in early morning and evening, and you are in an open vehicle with a lot of wind at that time. A scarf to wear over your face (or even snow mobile mask - seriously!) would be very useful. Fingerless gloves let you focus cameras and binoculars. Also, ask the owner Clint about bringing over some warm clothing to donate to the poor elderly to help out local charities there.

Suggested Improvements: I can't honestly think of any, except them providing a warm clothes checklist. Many thanks to Lesh, MK, Phineas, and Meier! And Clint for running the company.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank jocaroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dawnaraqwa - camping for scouts, never forget the travel!”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

When we left Maun in Mocoros's (small boats) we lived an excellent experience with the landscape "following us" in the river.
But when we arrived the camp you were very very surprised and upset. There was no water, no bathroom and the tents were adequated for scouts near home.
The food arrived late and short.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Marta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Highlight of my Botswana trip”
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Mokoro ride with the hippos and crocodiles, field walks on the islands, really beautiful and peaceful place.
Be careful of the mosquitos

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank Athi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Okavango Delta also viewed

Maun, North-West District
Maun, North-West District
 
Maun, North-West District
Makgadikgadi Pans National Park, Central District
 

Been to Okavango Delta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing