We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oddballs”
Review of Okavango Delta

Okavango Delta
Book In Advance
More Info
US$6,211.00*
and up
9 Day Safari Tour: Okavango Delta, Savuti and...
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Maun
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed three nights at Oddballs and were extremely impressed by their attention offered to us. The guide was legendary and the Enclave staff looked after us well beyond our expectation. We would totally recommend this lodge to singles, couples and families.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Arandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bird life"
in 37 reviews
"water level"
in 7 reviews
"bush walk"
in 8 reviews
"scenic flight"
in 26 reviews
"old bridge backpackers"
in 12 reviews
"mokoro trip"
in 22 reviews
"bush camp"
in 10 reviews
"the reserve"
in 6 reviews
"bucket list"
in 13 reviews
"walking safari"
in 11 reviews
"water lilies"
in 9 reviews
"dugout canoe"
in 10 reviews
"rainy season"
in 10 reviews
"boat ride"
in 9 reviews
"unique experience"
in 10 reviews
"game drives"
in 23 reviews
"three nights"
in 8 reviews
Filter

281 - 285 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2016

Our Background: We are a family of four - two teenage daughters that like animals. I'm a university zoology professor. My wife doesn't want to rough it TOO much, so we selected the serviced version - not the participatory version. It means you get out and see more too.

Our Overall Experience: Amazing! Our guide, Meier, was incredible competent and had non-stop enthusiasm for what he did. He was relentless in finding us amazing things to see. He had the enthusiasm of someone on his very first safari but with the knowledge of someone doing them for 11 years. He knew where to go to find everything. He could spot animals from incredible distances and using the most interesting signs. He could spot a leopard tract driving 40kph and heard distant alarm calls of birds telling him that a lion was back over a rise. We really saw everything we could have reasonable hoped to see, and way closer than you could imagine. I'd never have dreamed we would watch two lion predation events, painted dogs regurgitating to their pups, and lots more. And happen right in front of us. This is a trip that would make a wildlife fanatic VERY happy.

Food: The food was delicious! The chef preparing it for us made us put on weight - there was ALWAYS more than you could eat, and then he served dessert! Very inventive menu that NEVER repeated itself at lunch and dinner. Breakfasts were more simple, but that was just fine.

Accommodations: A three person support team drove ahead and set up everything for us. The tents, beds, and everything else were set up and ready whenever we changed camp. All VERY comfortable.

Attitudes: Everyone was VERY positive and friendly. I look forward to doing their Kalahari trip next time. I would certainly recommend them to anyone wanting a real African experience. Much better than staying at a lodge - something we also did, in neighboring Zimbabwe. Elephants walking into our camp, hyenas walking by at night who you could occasionally her from the comfort of your sleeping bag. But all very safe.

Advice: If there in May-September, bring a wind-proof down jacket for the two daily game drives (with an attached hood is even better). It's their wintertime, it's COLD in early morning and evening, and you are in an open vehicle with a lot of wind at that time. A scarf to wear over your face (or even snow mobile mask - seriously!) would be very useful. Fingerless gloves let you focus cameras and binoculars. Also, ask the owner Clint about bringing over some warm clothing to donate to the poor elderly to help out local charities there.

Suggested Improvements: I can't honestly think of any, except them providing a warm clothes checklist. Many thanks to Lesh, MK, Phineas, and Meier! And Clint for running the company.

Date of experience: June 2016
2  Thank jocaroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

When we left Maun in Mocoros's (small boats) we lived an excellent experience with the landscape "following us" in the river.
But when we arrived the camp you were very very surprised and upset. There was no water, no bathroom and the tents were adequated for scouts near home.
The food arrived late and short.

Date of experience: June 2016
2  Thank Marta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Mokoro ride with the hippos and crocodiles, field walks on the islands, really beautiful and peaceful place.
Be careful of the mosquitos

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Athi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

Had a wonderful holiday in the delta with family. Thanks to Lisa and her team from safari specialists everything went without a hitch. We started our trip by visiting Victoria falls and seeing the falls in its full glory no wonder it is among the natural wonders of the world. The children took part in all the adventure sports and enjoyed it.
From Victoria falls we proceeded to Chobe elephant camp in Botswana for a 3 night stay. Lizzi was the manager of the camp and took good care of us. The camp itself was great with good basic facilities. Food was also good. A special mention of our guide KG. He was very knowledgable with a good sense of humour.
Next stop was Little Machaba camp in the delta. This was a new camp and Lisa strongly recommended it. This was the highlight of our trip. If we could would give it ten stars! The camp,food the safari and everything else was great. Richard the camp manager went out of his way to make us comfortable. Our guide Moreri was fantastic. It was obvious how passionate he was about wild life preservation and really took pains to show us a lot of wild life including leopards and lions. Our 4 nights stay in this camp was unforgettable and would love to return some day
Would strongly recommend safari specialists as tour operators for the delta trips as they did a fantastic job and arranged an amazing holiday for us

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Poshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Okavango Delta also viewed

Moremi Game Reserve, Okavango Delta
Maun, Ngamiland East
 
Maun, Ngamiland East
Makgadikgadi Pans National Park, Central District
 

Been to Okavango Delta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing