We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of my Botswana trip”
Review of Okavango Delta

Okavango Delta
Book In Advance
More Info
US$6,211.00*
and up
9 Day Safari Tour: Okavango Delta, Savuti and...
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Maun
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Mokoro ride with the hippos and crocodiles, field walks on the islands, really beautiful and peaceful place.
Be careful of the mosquitos

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Athi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bird life"
in 37 reviews
"water level"
in 7 reviews
"bush walk"
in 8 reviews
"scenic flight"
in 26 reviews
"old bridge backpackers"
in 12 reviews
"mokoro trip"
in 22 reviews
"bush camp"
in 10 reviews
"the reserve"
in 6 reviews
"bucket list"
in 13 reviews
"walking safari"
in 11 reviews
"water lilies"
in 9 reviews
"dugout canoe"
in 10 reviews
"rainy season"
in 10 reviews
"boat ride"
in 9 reviews
"unique experience"
in 10 reviews
"game drives"
in 23 reviews
"three nights"
in 8 reviews
Filter

284 - 288 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

Had a wonderful holiday in the delta with family. Thanks to Lisa and her team from safari specialists everything went without a hitch. We started our trip by visiting Victoria falls and seeing the falls in its full glory no wonder it is among the natural wonders of the world. The children took part in all the adventure sports and enjoyed it.
From Victoria falls we proceeded to Chobe elephant camp in Botswana for a 3 night stay. Lizzi was the manager of the camp and took good care of us. The camp itself was great with good basic facilities. Food was also good. A special mention of our guide KG. He was very knowledgable with a good sense of humour.
Next stop was Little Machaba camp in the delta. This was a new camp and Lisa strongly recommended it. This was the highlight of our trip. If we could would give it ten stars! The camp,food the safari and everything else was great. Richard the camp manager went out of his way to make us comfortable. Our guide Moreri was fantastic. It was obvious how passionate he was about wild life preservation and really took pains to show us a lot of wild life including leopards and lions. Our 4 nights stay in this camp was unforgettable and would love to return some day
Would strongly recommend safari specialists as tour operators for the delta trips as they did a fantastic job and arranged an amazing holiday for us

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Poshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

We visited the Delta outside of Maun and did a mokoro boat tour. It was great to have a relaxing ride and converse with our guide, Gee. We stepped off twice, once to just look around and then the next time to have a longer walk and lunch. During the longer walk, we saw elephants walking and our guide explained the delta (which was dryer at the time) and how all the animals work together to create a symbiotic environment. It was really touching, I have to say. The ride back through the water lilies was magical. I'd definitely suggest it, and I would love to return someday during the rainy season to see the changes.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Expensive, compared to South African options, nonetheless worth it. A large element of the cost is the tourist/park fees due to the enlightened policy of the Government of Botswana.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank JWT-1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2016

If you wanna to have the experience of walking in the middle of the african savana for sure take the plane to Botsuana... it is facinating how the tribes there knows everything about the nature and the behavior of the animals.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank Tiago M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Okavango Delta also viewed

Moremi Game Reserve, Okavango Delta
Maun, Ngamiland East
 
Maun, Ngamiland East
Makgadikgadi Pans National Park, Central District
 

Been to Okavango Delta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing