We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
FindHotel
Trip.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
262
32
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
262
32
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plantation house south devon small hotel biscuits restaurant with rooms chef patron superb food pre dinner drinks fresh milk surrounding countryside fabulous hotel thoroughly enjoyed our stay nothing is too much trouble breakfast and dinner tea and coffee stayed for two nights relaxing stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2021

Our first trip to Devon, and an excellent location for exploring the coast and Plymouth. Richard was very helpful, and his team is well trained and attentive. Our room, #12, was cozy but well appointed. Breakfast is a highlight - one orders the night before from a very complete menu and is served promptly at your table. My wife considers the coffee to be among the best she's had. Dinner features fresh, locally sourced options. My wife chose one evening to go with two starters, and was delighted. The wine list is well thought out and reasonably priced, while the bar has the best stock of single malts that I've seen south of the Tweed.
We look forward to our rturn to Plantation House and Devon.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 September 2021

We stayed here for a second time, having stayed previously in Sept 2019. We were delighted by the excellent attention to detail and delicious food on both occasions. Can't wait to return. Friendly and attentive staff, nothing is too much trouble and the food is excellent, much better than we had recently in an establishment of a celebrity chef. The spacious and elegant room and ensuite had every need catered for, still and sparkling water, bowl of fruit, variety of teas and even ground coffee and a cafetière plus fresh milk provided. What more could be asked? Thank you, Richard and staff.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B5912SVsuea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 September 2021

This was our second visit to this little gem!
The staff are amazing, very attentive, friendly and what’s more hardworking. This small hotel has style and their eye for detail is amazing. The room we stayed in which was number 14, was very spacious, tastefully decorated, with lots of wardrobe space. The bed was comfy, i even took a note of the mattress make, we slept so well. In the room there was a bowl of fresh fruits, a vase of fresh flowers, fabulous selection of teas, ground coffee, hot chocolate and delicious biscuits. A nice touch was that fresh milk was bought to us immediately we entered the room.
The bathroom was sparkling clean with plenty of hot water and lots of toiletries available. White fluffy towels too!
The dining….the food was again delicious. We started with complimentary-nibbles in the bar and moved to the restaurant for our main meal. There was plenty of choice and we were a party of four, so we had lots of different courses served, everyone said how amazing the flavours were, the presentation was great too.
My husband has a yeast intolerance and this was sorted very well, the kitchen staff certainly know their stuff! He had a fabulous dinner, full of flavour and no ill effects at all. This is very unusual, trust me.
The breakfast was delicious too. Lots of choice and again beautifully served. The fresh bread is a real treat!!
The garden area was very pretty and despite it being an awful summer this year it still looked full of colour and was very welcoming. You could see lots of vases of flowers around the hotel from the garden. A fabulous space to enjoy an early evening tipple!
We are planning another visit, it’s such a relaxing, enjoyable place to be, you won’t be disappointed.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank JaneE481
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 September 2021

They are all very friendly and the food is excellent. Only down side to the food is it is 3 course or nothing and we couldn't eat all that every night which made it too expensive so we ate elsewhere most nights. Our room did not look like th eones in the pictures. I would describe it as outdated. The sink tap was loose, the curtains, wall paper and other furnishings were drab and the chairs were short reach so I ended up perched on them (I'm not tall). The worst was the bed (room 14) which sagged in the middle. It was like sleeping on a hillside.

Room tip: Avoid room 14 as it has a dilapidated bed
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparehead3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2021

We have seen a review saying the hotel needs updating - I can only recommend spectacles for the reviewer. As you enter the hotel, we thought it was a newly refurbished hotel and the room we were shown to looked like no-one had ever been there before, apart from friendly and clearly dedicated staff. Nothing was too much trouble and our evening meal was superior to any of the other 5 star hotels we had stayed in, including Relais & Chateau hotels - as was the breakfast. The owner has immaculate standards which the staff emulate, so we cannot speak highly enough of the hotel. RoyHants

Room tip: We had the Master Bedroom
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Royintheforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews