We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great afternoon relaxing on the grounds”

Holkham National Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Windswept tidelines, a maze of creeks and saltings, miles of dunes and sandspits, shady pinewoods, green pastures and grazing marshes, the mix of habitats and the blend of wildlife confirm Holkham National Nature Reserve as a unique place.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The grounds are massive with a variety of wildlife on display. We spent an afternoon in the sun just relaxing and taking a stroll through the reserve. Well worth the visit and then stay for afternoon lunch.

Thank ianwebb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne L, Marketing Assistant at Holkham National Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review Ian, very pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"car park"
in 64 reviews
"sand dunes"
in 35 reviews
"bird watchers"
in 8 reviews
"beautiful beach"
in 26 reviews
"lovely area"
in 5 reviews
"long walk"
in 19 reviews
"dog walking"
in 8 reviews
"great walk"
in 10 reviews
"pine trees"
in 12 reviews
"north norfolk"
in 15 reviews
"pay to park"
in 5 reviews
"low tide"
in 12 reviews
"miles and miles"
in 7 reviews
"vast expanse"
in 5 reviews
"wells beach"
in 8 reviews
"horses"
in 37 reviews
"beaches"
in 47 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2018

Sadly the area has No facilities toilet or access for disabled wishing to use the family beaches or Naturist beaches, there is no concession to allow or park cars nearer to the Naturist beaches. There is no shops for children adults, to get ice cream, drinks.its just bare, so sad it is a beutiful area, and to claim it would spoil the area, well they put hides in, and good access to them, im sure they can try to put better facilities in to blend in just the same, were all entitled to see the natural world and views to enjoy them even for a brief moment in a small life we have. My personal thought is they dont want dissabled down there, as everything is alien to them, and they may not want to encourage the use of the beaches for anyone hence the lack of facilities there. I wanted to spend a day there but managed 1 hr, a long drive for small plesure. I would give the views and beaches 5 stars but not the facilities.

Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne L, Marketing Assistant at Holkham National Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you for your feedback Wayne. You may have noticed building work being carried out on Lady Anne's Drive - we are currently in the process of building new visitor facilities and the work is due to be completed late summer. This has been an ongoing project for quite some years now due to planning permission on Holkham National Nature Reserve. The building work came about as a response to visitor feedback - so we do value all comments and listen to them. The new facilities will have lavatories, a small café selling refreshments and snacks and information on the Nature Reserve.

With regards to shops etc, Holkham Village is adjacent to Lady Anne's Drive with a number of shops, along with The Victoria Inn with a restaurant and bar, there are also lavatories in Holkham Village for beach-goers. Holkham Hall is also opposite with extensive parkland, visitor facilities and attractions and is accessible for disabled visitors.

We must disagree with your points on not wanting disabled visitors to visit the beach, we welcome all visitors and will do all we can to assist, however, the beach is, in fact, a recognised National Nature Reserve. There is level access to the beach, however we cannot build level paths onto the beach as the tides would simply cover them. For the very reason that the whole area is a National Nature Reserve, we are very limited on what we can and want to build, we work very hard to maintain the nature reserve and keep it a thriving habitat for a wide range of species, therefore it is not about 'spoiling' the area, more about protecting it.

Thank you for your visit, we hope you will return and enjoy the new facilities coming late this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

This is a wonderful place. I'm a bit biased as it includes a fabulous naturist beach. The reserve is expansive and you'll see a multitude of wildlife.

1  Thank Imogen2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolkhamEstate, Marketing Assistant at Holkham National Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Thank you for your review, it is indeed a wonderful place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

I am lucky enough to visit this beach any time I want as only live ten mins away. I often walk from Wells to Holkam and absolutely love love love it. Such a beautiful unspoilt beach. Walks in the pine wood behind the beach if you fancy a change or miles of sandy beach to explore. No facilities on the beach. So just bring your own drinks etc. Outstanding beauty. Nature in her finest.

Thank lorna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolkhamEstate, Marketing Assistance at Holkham National Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

A great review Lorna, thank you. We are so lucky to have this stretch of the coastline on our doorsteps. Good recommendations, and plenty of beach to go around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2018

One of the best beach's I know . Miles of sand in a big bay . Walk east or west along the beach or through the pine trees .
Currently building a visitor centre which will overlook the grasing marshes which will be great .

Thank cliff d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne L, Marketing Assistant at Holkham National Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thanks for your review Cliff, great recommendations and pleased to hear you are looking forward to the new visitor facilities coming this summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holkham National Nature Reserve also viewed

Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Sheringham, Norfolk
 

Been to Holkham National Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing