We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
beautiful, beautiful Holkham Beach

Beautiful beach, excellent for dog walking. Car parking near beach and refreshment and toilet... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
GrandmaSmarties
,
Lincolnshire, Uk
The new hide

Found just at the end of the car park, or from Wells if you walk, this new addition is more than... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
scorpionana
,
Norwich, United Kingdom
Read all 473 reviews
  
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveller rating
367
73
22
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
73
22
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park sand dunes bird watchers unspoilt beach either direction long walk pine trees lovely walk north norfolk an ice cream van lovely place dog walkers dogs are allowed low tide vast expanse can walk for miles pay and display
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 473 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2018

Sadly the area has No facilities toilet or access for disabled wishing to use the family beaches or Naturist beaches, there is no concession to allow or park cars nearer to the Naturist beaches. There is no shops for children adults, to get ice cream, drinks.its just bare, so sad it is a beutiful area, and to claim it would spoil the area, well they put hides in, and good access to them, im sure they can try to put better facilities in to blend in just the same, were all entitled to see the natural world and views to enjoy them even for a brief moment in a small life we have. My personal thought is they dont want dissabled down there, as everything is alien to them, and they may not want to encourage the use of the beaches for anyone hence the lack of facilities there. I wanted to spend a day there but managed 1 hr, a long drive for small plesure. I would give the views and beaches 5 stars but not the facilities.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Waine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne L, Marketing Assistant at Holkham National Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you for your feedback Wayne. You may have noticed building work being carried out on Lady Anne's Drive - we are currently in the process of building new visitor facilities and the work is due to be completed late summer. This has been an ongoing project for quite some years now due to planning permission on Holkham National Nature Reserve. The building work came about as a response to visitor feedback - so we do value all comments and listen to them. The new facilities will have lavatories, a small café selling refreshments and snacks and information on the Nature Reserve.

With regards to shops etc, Holkham Village is adjacent to Lady Anne's Drive with a number of shops, along with The Victoria Inn with a restaurant and bar, there are also lavatories in Holkham Village for beach-goers. Holkham Hall is also opposite with extensive parkland, visitor facilities and attractions and is accessible for disabled visitors.

We must disagree with your points on not wanting disabled visitors to visit the beach, we welcome all visitors and will do all we can to assist, however, the beach is, in fact, a recognised National Nature Reserve. There is level access to the beach, however we cannot build level paths onto the beach as the tides would simply cover them. For the very reason that the whole area is a National Nature Reserve, we are very limited on what we can and want to build, we work very hard to maintain the nature reserve and keep it a thriving habitat for a wide range of species, therefore it is not about 'spoiling' the area, more about protecting it.

Thank you for your visit, we hope you will return and enjoy the new facilities coming late this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

This is a wonderful place. I'm a bit biased as it includes a fabulous naturist beach. The reserve is expansive and you'll see a multitude of wildlife.

Date of experience: May 2018
2  Thank Imogen2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolkhamEstate, Marketing Assistant at Holkham National Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Thank you for your review, it is indeed a wonderful place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

I am lucky enough to visit this beach any time I want as only live ten mins away. I often walk from Wells to Holkam and absolutely love love love it. Such a beautiful unspoilt beach. Walks in the pine wood behind the beach if you fancy a change or miles of sandy beach to explore. No facilities on the beach. So just bring your own drinks etc. Outstanding beauty. Nature in her finest.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank lorna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolkhamEstate, Marketing Assistance at Holkham National Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

A great review Lorna, thank you. We are so lucky to have this stretch of the coastline on our doorsteps. Good recommendations, and plenty of beach to go around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

One of the best beach's I know . Miles of sand in a big bay . Walk east or west along the beach or through the pine trees .
Currently building a visitor centre which will overlook the grasing marshes which will be great .

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank cliff d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne L, Marketing Assistant at Holkham National Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thanks for your review Cliff, great recommendations and pleased to hear you are looking forward to the new visitor facilities coming this summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

We went to Holkham beach and forest as part of a film shoot on the English ghost story writer, M.R. James. We arrived on an April day that was freezing with pouring rain to find the parking lot jam packed with cars, families and friends walking cheerfully to the beach in their wellies and parkas, dogs in tow. I looked around and said, "These people are nuts!" It was the most delightful thing I've ever seen. Being from Chicago, this kind of weather finds me inside on my computer. This scene won me over to the British view of life! The beach itself is like a scene from a dream, the forest exquisitely beautiful. Then there is the custom brewed coffee and homemade treats from the coffee truck and the cheerful, devoted staff of the area who are obviously in love with the place. I went back to the car after filming my scene, but my friends stayed on and were rewarded by coming upon scores of seals on the beach!
Highly recommended.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank ursula1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne L, Marketing Assistant at Holkham National Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for your review, pleased to hear you enjoyed your trip to Holkham and got a glimpse into true British life at the seaside! (You learn to look past the weather!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews