We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sarah H

Quirky in the best way

Review of Borealis Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Jul 2023
First things first, do not miss the dinner. You don't get much detail on what will be served and then they start bringing out this incredible buffet spread - beautiful salads, breads, meat, fish, potatoes, etc. And you sit in this dining area with all kinds of antiques and eclectic décor. The rooms are small but very comfortable and clean. We met the owner, who just bought the place and she was lovely and very accessible. Oh, and the breakfast that's included is also delicious. This place is quirky and fun and definitely worth it. Did I mention how good the dinner was?
Date of stay: July 2023
Room Tip: Seriously, don't miss the dinner. Or the breakfast.
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$2,132
  • Expedia
5.4 km from Borealis Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$1,596
  • Agoda.com
18.2 km from Borealis Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$2,072
  • Agoda.com
18.3 km from Borealis Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Up to seven people can sleep in the apartments
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$1,089
  • Agoda.com
18.2 km from Borealis Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$1,055
  • Expedia
14.6 km from Borealis Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$2,331
  • Agoda.com
46.0 km from Borealis Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Swimming pool
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Expedia
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$1,730
  • eDreams
33.1 km from Borealis Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$1,269
  • Expedia
21.0 km from Borealis Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$1,421
  • Expedia
24.7 km from Borealis Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Selfoss
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
57
15
9
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
57
15
9
1
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews couple restaurants lobby area hot tub golden circle northern lights an upgrade yogurt cod a lovely stay blackout curtains very nice hotel stayed nights lamb dining room hans pillows country
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2023

Excellent stay with very friendly and helpful staff who were willing to talk about their country and their customs. Plenty of options for breakfast to get the day started. The dinner they served every night was some of the best food I've ever eaten and there was and abundance of variety. The location is beautiful and a great place to be immersed in Iceland's countryside. Would highly recommend staying at this wonderful hotel!

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jasonaU5795UT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2023

We had a wonderful stay here. Our room was very comfortable, and even a bit trendy with unpolished concrete floors. We had dinner (a buffet of Icelandic specialities) and breakfast in the hotel restaurant and enjoyed them very much. Our hosts were extremely friendly and could not have been more welcoming and friendly. Excellent location in the Golden Circle; close to everything. Would definitely return.

Date of stay: May 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 May 2023 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here. I think it has a little more of an Airbnb vibe than a traditional hotel. The main building is decorated with a more eclectic artsy style. And the room we stayed in was a little more homey than we were expecting. It was so quiet, we never heard any other guests at night and they had fantastic blackout curtains which are quite necessary in Iceland. The furniture in our room was a little beat up with scratches and such and the pillows could use an upgrade. Just fyi there were some dogs in the main building when we checked in, but they were very sweet and friendly. We didn’t get a chance to eat here, but breakfast was included.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CJKirtland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 May 2023

What a charming experience! The new owners have just started doing some changes, but it already is a nice place to stay. Nice environment, warm welcome, excellent kitchen with freshly prepared local food and... a hot tub😉

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 April 2023

The hotel is situated in a beautiful surrounding. Very good combination with the golden circle. You can use all the board games, the hot tub, walk around in the beautiful area, sit in the garden, pet the dogs:) In the garden there is a little "pray house" for silent time and meditation, welcome and open to all religions
When you enter it feels like coming home in a beautiful house. All vintage stile, antique with a colourful twist.
The team is very warm and welcoming "you can sit at the bonfire with us in the evening if you like". Icelandic people, who are open to tell you about their country and culture.
The food is outstanding! All biological, local, fresh and home made. Prepared with so much taste and dedication.
We where happy that we could stay there for an other night.
We can highly recommend this hotel to all travellers who like a warm connected place.
The photos that are on the website are from the old situation. It is so much more beautiful now.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Judith v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews