We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Review Highlights
Definitely worth a look

A lovely modern cathedral with a beautiful image of Christ behind the altar. In a lovely location... read more

Reviewed 6 March 2024
Alanadjuster
,
Birmingham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Historic

This quaint cathedral in the tiny village of Skálholt, considered to be Iceland's first town, is a... read more

Reviewed 8 October 2022
lilirishstar
,
North Canton, Ohio
via mobile
Read all 254 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Selfoss
from HK$1,262.65
More Info
from HK$849.19
More Info
from HK$1,033.45
More Info
from HK$526.34
More Info
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
79
106
59
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
79
106
59
9
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2021

No one was here when we came by, but the cathedral was open, so we sat a bit. My husband was very interested in the archeological site, so he walked around a bit. the opening underneath we didn't go in, as there wasn't any information . We didn't realize there was a museum, so we missed that. There is plenty of parking.

Date of experience: October 2021
1  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2021

You must visit this place- the owner , Gigi, of the restaurant is a generous, attentive and creative person. She and her family member have taken ownership fo this Cathedral restaurant and they are devoted and attentive. We had a group of 15 people- Merrie's friends and we were all pleased. 2 of the members of our group were vegetarian/vegan and those meals also were exquisite. All of our meals were artistically and Icelandic in display and cuisine. The chef's speciality was apparent in the taste and presentation- they were meals you don't want to end. Gigi and her staff were welcoming and offered excellent customer/guest care. The Cathedral is an intriguing historical setting with a cozy guesthouse. Even if you spend the day there you Must enjoy a meal with Gigi.

Date of experience: September 2021
1  Thank vickid696
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2021

The is easy and quick to visit as it is just off the road between Geysir and Selfoss. This is another historic site where hundreds of years ago there was a very large cathedral and religious school. The original cathedral was destroyed by an earthquake, but the church was rebuilt in the 1960’s. The church was closed when we stopped by. There as a view over the ruins and a lake but the whole visit should not detain you for very long.

Date of experience: June 2021
3  Thank NomadicTraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 August 2021 via mobile

Historic cathedral with a crypt below. Wish there was more information available as it’s such an important piece of history. Centuries of cathedrals have been built here. There’s even a hidden entrance from the field into the crypt. It’s a nice stop along the Golden Circle route.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank MarisaS979
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2021

Great church to visit for some excellent pictures. The church was locked, so could not venture inside. Just a few minutes here to relax, take a deep breath and enjoy the gorgeous scenery. Located just off the Golden Circle.

Date of experience: May 2021
1  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews