We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Review Highlights
Definitely worth a look

A lovely modern cathedral with a beautiful image of Christ behind the altar. In a lovely location... read more

Reviewed 6 March 2024
Alanadjuster
,
Birmingham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Historic

This quaint cathedral in the tiny village of Skálholt, considered to be Iceland's first town, is a... read more

Reviewed 8 October 2022
lilirishstar
,
North Canton, Ohio
via mobile
Read all 254 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Selfoss
from HK$1,257.88
More Info
from HK$848.21
More Info
from HK$1,032.26
More Info
from HK$584.14
More Info
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
79
106
59
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
79
106
59
9
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2020 via mobile

The site has an amazing history and an incredible feeling of peace and calm. We were lucky to find the place virtually deserted, but the size of the car park indicated it could get very busy sometimes!

The cathedral itself is a bit scruffy and there are no tourist facilities so don’t expect to much. However, if you strike lucky and have the place to yourself, you may find it as magical as we did.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank BillfromKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 November 2019

We drove down to this church as we thought it looked interesting. The church looks a bit more tired than in the pictures I had seen. The glass windows on the inside looks nice though.

This is not a stop to do if you're short on time. Make a visit if you have some extra time and think it looks interesting. No one else visited when we went there, so we had the whole place to ourselves.

Date of experience: November 2019
2  Thank Simsim7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 September 2019

We would not return to this site, and would not include it on our itinerary if we had to do our trip over again.

We rented a car and saw amazing places all over Iceland.

However, this site was to us uninteresting and our time and fuel would have been better spent elsewhere on the myriad of things to do in this amazing country.

All due respect to this location. It's a lovely site. It just can't compete with the natural wonders of Iceland.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Oaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 August 2019

We went to the church at Skalholt for one of their summer concerts, including baroque and contemporary music. It was an amazing experience.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Liathach1055m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2019

We came upon this cathedral after going to the Secret Lagoon. To one side there is a big archeological dig. It is worth stopping by to see and take some photos.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank jkskel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews