We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Review Highlights
Definitely worth a look

A lovely modern cathedral with a beautiful image of Christ behind the altar. In a lovely location... read more

Reviewed 6 March 2024
Alanadjuster
,
Birmingham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Historic

This quaint cathedral in the tiny village of Skálholt, considered to be Iceland's first town, is a... read more

Reviewed 8 October 2022
lilirishstar
,
North Canton, Ohio
via mobile
Read all 255 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Selfoss
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
80
106
59
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
80
106
59
9
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2019

We did a short stop at Skalholt Cathedral - an important historic site. We didn't stay long, but we had a nice walk around and it's pretty cathedral with equally pretty views. We were the only ones there, so it's not a busy stop.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2019

We seemed to be the only visitors one Sunday afternoon. Tried the door and it was surprisingly open. They asked for a donation to see the basement crypt so be sure you have a few Icelandic coins on you to drop in the box. Below there are a few exhibits, a crypt of priest, secret passage way to the outside, etc. Definitely interesting and not something you see everyday. Walk around to the back and see the small cemetery with some recent graves.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank Tricia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2019

The church is rather modern and minimalsitic while the surrounding area is beautiful with historic excavations on the grounds, no crowds and relaxing time. Good to visit the bible collection next door.

Date of experience: February 2019
31  Thank Niels L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2019 via mobile

The Cathedral at Skálholt is another example of the simple beauty of Icelandic church architecture. Compared with the crowds at the Hallgrimskirkja, Skalholt is much more quiet and offers an ideal opportunity for contemplation. The stained glass windows are magnificent in the setting Winter sun, dappling the sanctuary and nave with the most vibrant colors. The historic pulpit is clad in iconographic painted images of Bible stories. The crypt museum is also very informative, relating the conversion of Iceland to Christianity and its Reformation. The recreated turf church is also interesting.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank davee701
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 February 2019

It is well worth a visit when you are in Iceland. A very interesting history here. Leave the Cathedral via the secret passage.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank TimothyCorbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews