We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,703)
Filter reviews
1,703 results
Traveller rating
1,247
338
79
31
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,247
338
79
31
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews teddy bears happy hour evening reception full kitchen village tavern rich newman free beer and wine paradise bakery bedroom suite starbucks coffee cocktail hour courtyard view pool area tacos fresh fruit complimentary breakfast morning breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 1,703 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Have stayed here for years while in town for Spring Training. Stay here because they have two bedroom suites, allows us to have a common room for hanging out together yet still have two bedrooms and bathrooms. The kitchen is handy as well. The hotel is getting worn looking, needs a refresh. Had to call to have the outlets in the kitchen tightened so they not only worked but so they would be safe as well. AC controls also did not work and had to be repaired. Tried to rent a movie, it did not work, had to call front desk, they had to send maintenence. Room rates are quite expensive so I expect perfect rooms. Bathrooms need painting as well. Like the location, staff is friendly and helpful. Free breakfast & happy hour snacks a plus. Exercise room is small but has good selection of machines and weights.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bonnie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Lovely room, great poolside view service was amazing very friendly . cabana first floor poolside was so nice the 3rd floor poolside was also very nice we hope to return one day and stay longer. Village restaurant was also very very good.

Room tip: request cabana poolside closest to the evening reception and breakfast. so nice spent so much time there with our son and daughter in law
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank luventheson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

We checked in with our 2 college aged kids for spring break. This was one of the nicest hotels we’ve been in. The complimentary breakfast was awesome and the happy hour from 5:00-7:00 was unbelievable! The appetizers were substantial, not just cheese and crackers, and the complimentary beer, wine and sodas were appreciated! The grounds were beautifully maintained, and the rooms were clean and up to date in decor. I still love the comfort of the couch in the room!! We will definitely be coming back. It’ll be hard for other hotels to measure up to Gainey Suites! Now we are spoiled!!!

Room tip: Ask for a room closer to the front desk. It’s a LONG walk if you’re at the back of the hotel when you go for breakfast and happy hour.
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sherri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

this is a nice property-but is in need of updates/renovations-most especially in the rooms themselves. I wasn't overly impressed by the staff-very hit or miss at the front desk-some were somewhat friendly but none were more than that. Security doesn't seem to be a priority for guests-I found the door next to the guest elevators propped open at least 4 times during my 3 night stay. I closed it every time. anyone could slip through that door and make their way to guest rooms at their leisure.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ibegonenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRGainey1, General Manager at Sonesta Suites Scottsdale Gainey Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thank you for sharing the impressions of your experience with us. We appreciate that you found the property "nice" but "not worthy of over $300 night", however our rates are competitive and comparable with those in the Scottsdale market, especially as this is peak season in March. We also include a complimentary full hot breakfast buffet and evening reception daily which you will not find at other hotels/resorts charging similar room rates.
Typically we hear very good things about how helpful and friendly our Front Desk staff is so I am disappointed to hear that you found them to be "hit or miss" in that regard. Of course I am the person who is ultimately responsible for every aspect of the guest experience and I will certainly follow up with our team in a most constructive and uplifting manner so we can all learn and grow together.
I understand your concern as the north door being propped open that you are referring to was due to equipment replacement being done in the adjacent laundry. Agreed that it should not be left open however short the duration may be.
Also, in the last 3 years we have invested over $7 million in property enhancements to create a rich, warm and welcoming residential/resort environment, which in the guestrooms has included all new wall covering, new marble surround glass enclosed shower and showerheads, new platform beds with top of the line plush pillow top mattresses and hypo-allergenic down pillows, new 43 inch HDTVs with complimentary Chromecast, new trestle style desks, lamps, power/charging stations and task chairs, glass tile kitchen backsplash/surrounds and stainless steel appliances. This summer we will be installing new carpet in all the guestrooms as well. We have also renovated and enhanced the public areas including the lobby, Hearth Room and Patio and guest corridors.
Please do not hesitate to contact me personally if I can ever be of assistance, and on behalf of all our Gainey Family we look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels may bring you back to Scottsdale, AZ. Until then, wishing you all the best ant take good care!
Warm regards, Rich Newman, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Had an excellent stay at hotel! Great breakfast bar and happy hour! Bartender Julio went above and beyond his duties to make us feel welcome each night! Food was great! Would definitely return to this property again.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank knikol881994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews