We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$119
View deal
Agoda.com
US$103
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/02/23
ExpediaUS$117
Vio.comUS$103
ZenHotels.comUS$114
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
69
88
34
24
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
69
88
34
24
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room service off the beaten track sauna bedroom cycle alentejo details
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2021

Pleasant hotel. Relaxing ambience. Really comfortable room. Great views from the balcony / veranda over the surrounding hotel. Friendly staff. Good pools (indoors & outdoors).

We really enjoyed ourselves but the hotel has the potential to be much better if they get the details right e.g. the television was far too small for the size of room; breakfast felt a bit like a 3* B&B rather than a 4* hotel; no info in the room about things like facilities; no room service.

That being said, our room had a fantastic bath that looked out over the hills - I could have stayed in it all day!

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank C6349VOpatrickk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 October 2020 via mobile

Overall was ok, place has so much potential but is very badly executed which is such a shame. Some things done very beautifully (design of reception) but then others feel like a cheap hostel. Confusing place! Enjoyed the stay as it was relatively quiet and views are lovely. Whatever you do tho don’t go to the restaurant it is the absolute WORST food! Wish I had read the reviews first, but we arrived late and didn’t want to drive somewhere (there is nothing in walking distance and driving somewhere decent is at least 20 mins away), so we went thinking it would be nice given hotel markets itself as 4star spa - so wrong!

Pros: views are beautiful from balcony in room - we had mountain view and I think that was better than the pool view. Could see lake and trees - very peaceful. Bed was comfy and clean. WiFi worked (but limited). And housekeeping seemed good. The outside pool whilst cold is a treat - with beautiful view and sun loungers to use. Pool is decent length to do some actual swimming lengths too. Spent a whole morning here enjoying it with just one other guest around. Imagine if got busier tho the tranquility would quickly go...

Cons - air con unit in room bit temperamental. No fridge despite when we booked the room saying it had fridge which we needed. Complained to reception and was told “some rooms did, some didn’t” and could get a fridge tomorrow as hotel was full then and no available fridges. Did finally get a fridge after reminding again the second day. No tea and coffee making facilities which again seemed a bit weird as was definitely a place for them in room. Also no telephone so had to keep going to reception if wanted anything!
You had to book the indoor pool area - which we did - only pool was open due to Covid - and even that none the water features worked - it was hot and stuffy in there and felt dirty (although saw them cleaning it the next day and seemed thorough) - we didn’t go back in as wasn’t a nice experience really.
Then finally the restaurant - we had dinner there the first night - what a mistake. Trying to ask the server what anything was on the very limited menu was pointless he just told me I should have steak and was like talking to a brick wall - didn’t seem to understand much and I felt sorry for him so ended up going with his suggestion. The bread was rock hard, the fish starters made us gag - we had only one bite and then were worried we’d get sick. The steak was actually ok, cooked rare despite the waiter telling us we would have it medium (didn’t seem to understand any other option) - but luckily we like it rare! The veg with it looked straight out a tin from 10 years ago. The dessert was weird but edible basically the fruit from breakfast or some classic pre-frozen buffet cakes! So sad as €45 that cost us we could have eaten so well elsewhere! Breakfast was included in room rate (thank god) - weird again - were given a plate of scrambled eggs and bacon to share (about 3 mouthfuls each) and some bread and pastries - no encouragement to get more if you wanted it - but it was fine. Think the tea option better than the coffee.

I guess you get what you pay for and overall I would stay there again at the rate we paid for room (esp in a quiet time of year) but it is quite remote and if you like eating out then this probably isn’t the best place to stay as it’s miles from anywhere and their own restaurant so terrible. But it’s good if you like driving and want to stay somewhere with a good view and walking in mountains.

Date of stay: October 2020
Thank 235annaleew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 July 2020

We had booked one of the two suites in the hotel for four nights (highest available category). Without any notification we had to find out on our own that the heating-system wasn’t working on the entire floor.

In addition, we were offered to have dinner at the hotel witch we made a reservation for. What a mysterious dinner we ever had. Nothing was cooked properly. Fish & prawns were overcooked, soup was totally horrible.

So we were already very disappointed within the first few hours and it didn’t become any better. The service was friendly but that all. We asked to speak to the hotel management which was never available and we were told that the manager doesn’t even speak good English.

The only thing was good that MASSAGE from INDIAN gentleman. He was simply superb.

The hotel is four years old but is seems they have a huge problem with their management and their maintenance. water in several walls at the edge of mildew, rusty chairs on the balcony, brown dirt running down several of the white outside walls, to just mention a few points, are just not what I personally expect from a four-star hotel

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher58788
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 July 2020

I should have read the reviews on here before booking this hotel!!! Extremely poorly managed.

This 4 star hotel didn't have any F&B dept. No F&B manager. Frozen breakfast, no bar service, no snack service available in the hotel plus on the top cheap crap dinner with such high price.

plus the man(best therapist in the town) who was advertised in hotel promo for massage was available, instead of that a lady was there but without any genuine massage offered.

From the moment we arrived, we had problems. This hotel is funded with EU money and will definitely write to the Tourism of Portugal to look into this hotel.

Nobody cares here, we won’t be back!!! Such a shame,

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank josefvons
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 March 2020

Did we pick the right time - I dont know - March / Cov19 .... maybe
We got interconnecting rooms - bathroom great, bedroom great, good internet connection - compfy beds - good TV - yes I agree some of the Cork is coming loose. The other stuff which people were complaining before I dont understand (taste is a personal thing isnt it)
Its very quiet - the balconys are great and yes our outdoor seats were also rusty (I think that could be managable from the hotel)
Breakfast was good - fresh orange juice and freshly baked goodies (like pastel de nato). Because of the lack of people the breakfast selection wasnt huge. Big Minus was the coffee - that was really horrible.
Restaurant - we didnt go because we are not used to eat this late - unfortunatly on our travel trough Portugal and Spain nobody is bothered even they dont have a lot of guests in their hotels - unfortunatly thats the way and its a bit unflexible because you could make some money out of it (because most of the time the kitchenstuff was there anyway).
Pool looked good.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank isabel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews