We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
US$135
View deal
Booking.com
eDreams
Vio.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
235
103
39
18
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
235
103
39
18
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building fantastic food pork access road fresh orange juice go the extra mile public areas rural setting breakfast was excellent long dirt road alentejo house eclectic silence track dust km
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 414 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2022 via mobile

Sumptuous accommodation on every level, beautiful pools and stunning public areas set in a tranquil rural setting. Dinner was of the table d’hote variety - one starter, main and dessert which was ok if nothing exceptional. The house white actually recommended by our server, a first, was not only relatively inexpensive but pretty good on the palate. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice from pancakes through eggs or cold meats with fresh orange juice or whatever combination required. Faultless. Our room was in a separate accommodation block of 8 apartments a short walk from the main building in what could loosely be described as a shipping container but the similarity ended with the structure. Inside, a massive and insanely comfortable bed, deep pile carpet and powerful shower completed a beautiful room which was metres from a well appointed pool area. My only complaint - and for me it is a serious problem - is the access road to the property, a 2km dirt track that no doubt shortened the lives of my rented car’s tyres considerably. Driving up and down this monstrosity raised my blood pressure as well and cancelled out much of the chill experience the hotel os designed to engender. If you love your car do not under any circumstances bring it here. That said, a great experience and highly recommended.

Room tip: The access road is a shocker.
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank davidfL7115SO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Herdade da Matinha, Proprietário at Herdade Da Matinha, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2022

Dear David,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Herdade da Matinha.
We appreciate your kind words about our property and services.
Our access is typical of a country house, there are 3 km of dirt road, with some dust in the mix, no doubt, but we believe that it serves as a disconnection from the real world and the entrance to a place of contact with nature.
Hope to welcome you back in the future,

Kind regards,

Marco Matos
Herdade da Matinha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2021 via mobile

A long dirt road through the Montados leads to this oasis. It is eclectic and luxurious and lush and unique. We went with the fixed price dinner and had all kinds of wonders. Local beef tartare and shrimp rice were fantastic with. outrageously good service.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank pepelevoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Herdade da Matinha, Owner at Herdade Da Matinha, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2021

Good afternoon,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Herdade da Matinha.

We appreciate your comments about our property and restaurant.

Looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Marco Matos
Herdade da Matinha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2021

Herdade da Matinha is a great place. We came with our family.
The place is beautiful, the staff very friendly and caring. The restaurant is delicious. The rooms are great. We vowed to come back soon !

Date of stay: May 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Capucine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 May 2021

We had a wonderful time in Herdade da Matinha. We felt immersed in nature and comfort, right under the beautiful stars of the Alentejo sky. The room in the Farmhouse was wonderful, the food was delicious, and the staff was so kind and attentive! We mostly enjoyed the pool and visited nearby Vila Nova de Milfontes, but would have definitely tried their spa, picnics and horseback rides, had we had more time. Can't recommend it enough!

Date of stay: May 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Catarina_MiguelST
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Herdade da Matinha, Owner at Herdade Da Matinha, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2021

Dear Catarina,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Herdade da Matinha.
We appreciate your kind words about our hotel and staff.
We are looking forward to welcome you back.
Kind regards,
Marco Matos
Herdade da Matinha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2021

A hidden location, beautiful gardens and common spaces. Excellent dinner. Staff is young, friendly and efficient. The bar is a great meeting point. Nearby, the fantastic coast of Alentejo, with towering cliffs and dense flora and fauna.

Date of stay: April 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JoaoConde666
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Herdade da Matinha, Owner at Herdade Da Matinha, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2021

Dear João,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Herdade da Matinha.
We appreciate your kind words about our services and staff.
Looking forward to welcome you back.
Kind regards,
Marco Matos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews