We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
What a fantastic tasting, book ahead.

We booked in advance and arrived slightly early, but had a wonderful welcome. The entire team we... read more

Reviewed 10 December 2019
Finemaster
,
Worthing, United Kingdom
via mobile
Awesome tour with free tastings!!

Make a reservation for this tour. It was a great tour, very informative! The wines and tasting room... read more

Reviewed 14 June 2019
stacys359
,
New York City, New York
Read all 25 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Stellenbosch
from US$123.03
More Info
from US$112.49
More Info
from US$113.19
More Info
from US$130.06
More Info
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
25
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
25
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2019

Make a reservation for this tour. It was a great tour, very informative! The wines and tasting room are wonderful.

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank stacys359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De-Toren, Owner at De Toren Private Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2019

Dear Stacy,

Thank you for these very kind words. It was lovely having you and we hope to see again soon!

Wishing you a lovely day ahead.

Best Regards,

The De Toren Private Cellar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Had a wonderful tasting in the private cellar. From Fusion five to de Toren Z all just top quality and it only has been topped by the black lion a 100 Procent Shiraz. I only can recomand it.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank DealZuerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De-Toren, Owner at De Toren Private Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

It truly was a great honour hosting you and we hope to see you again soon! All the best - Emil, Albie & the De Toren team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

We were told about this winery by friends in Joburg. The wine was hard to source so we decided to ring and arrange a private tour. What a delight to go there and see the love and care that went into every bottle. Also to appreciate and understand the technical expertise which was behind the growing, production and bottling of these superb wines. It goes without saying that the "tasting" was something special.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank DavidLloyd60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De-Toren, Owner at De Toren Private Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thank you for these kind words David. It was a true honour hosting you and we hope to see you again soon! All the best - Emil, Albie & the De Toren team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

We drank De Toren’s Fusion V in the Netherlands. Wonderful ‘three dimensional’ wine, bit heavy, but we love it. Looked at their YouTube-video’s to be a bit informed. Have set a date and got a warm welcome and excellent tour by Anja Bekker.
What a remarkable winemaker, full of passion!
Thank you, appreciate the time you gave us. Really look forward to order your wine in Holland

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank heleeng2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mielies48, Owner at De Toren Private Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

I am so glad you appeciated the visit Heleen. Please enjoy our wines in The Netherlands.
Emil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We left Cape Town a day early bc this is my husbands favorite wine and they do not take weekend appointments. Imagine our delight that when we arrived, the very nice receptionist told us that the owner Emile would be giving us our tour. A nice lady from Jo Burg popped in and we invited her to join our tour. we also had the vineyard manager with us.
Emile was so interesting and has such a passion for his wines. We learned so much about the soil and all the special ways they treat their grapes. It was no wonder it is our favorite, the care that goes into these wines. It was such a unique tour and tasting and we left with a lot of great wine and fantastic memories. Thank you so much Emile for the lovely tour . De Toren will forever be our favorite. I can't wait to give my husband the key to the Book XVII.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank tinkr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De-Toren, Owner at De Toren Private Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

What kind words! It was my absolute pleasure and do let us know once he has the privilege of getting the key! Our best, Emil & The De Toren Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews