We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Fijndraai Estate(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eikendal Lodge(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penelope's Guesthouse(Stellenbosch)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banhoek Lodge(Stellenbosch)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baruch Guest House(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wild Mushroom Luxury Country House(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jordan Luxury Suites(Stellenbosch)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acara(Stellenbosch)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hunneyball House(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (959)
Filter reviews
959 results
Traveller rating
708
194
32
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
708
194
32
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshelena's restaurantchurch streetperfect hotelgeneral managerlovely boutiquesmall hoteleggs benedictcentral locationmiddle of townlarge bathroomlovely townwonderful stayhome from homecape townrestaurants and shopswine countrybreakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
379 - 384 of 959 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Amazingly helpful and friendly staff! Beautiful environment with many excellent restaurants. Rooms are very comfortable and the 1713 building is beautifully adapted. Breakfast was excellent. Definitely recommended if you are staying in the area.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_and, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear Michael B,

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa.

We value all our guests' comments as these assist us greatly in improving our products and services.

Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

From the minute we set foot in Coopmanhuijs Hotel, we fell in love with it so much so that we made a special detour to have lunch there on our way back to Cape Town airport the day we left South Africa! It was a horrible rainy July day when we arrived and it was lovely to be met with such a warm welcome. We had three rooms, the best of which had been reserved for my husband and me - the bathroom had a wonderful rain shower, a cute slipper bath and his and her sinks plus underfloor heating. Bliss!
The rooms are fairly small but completely in keeping with the character of what was once a family home and one of the oldest buildings in Stellenbosch. We enjoyed pre-dinner drinks in the bar and were waited on by Kiki (not sure if that's the correct spelling) for dinner which was absolutely delicious. My daughters and I had the shoulder of lamb which was cooked to perfection and Kiki ensured that my potatoes came "pimped" i.e. without butter as I had requested. From starters to desserts, everything was perfect and we loved it so much that we dined here again the second night. Again, Kiki served us with good humour, grace and efficiency. Breakfast was also a treat and again the staff were gracious and very accommodating. In fact, this was probably the best service we had during our stay in South Africa. There was a wide array of buffet items including a wonderful fruit selection and the cooked breakfast was very good - I had salmon and poached eggs on an English muffin and it was one of the nicest breakfasts I've had in years. We were only sorry that we had to head off very early on Sunday morning for a flight to Port Elizabeth, which meant missing a second full breakfast. We were given hot drinks and breakfast boxes but it wasn't the same thing. The staff at reception were also extremely helpful and helped us arrange a half-day wine-tasting session on the Saturday afternoon, which was another highlight. It was the only night during the holiday that I couldn't even look at a bottle of wine much less sample any! All in all, a fabulous, charming, quaint place that is beautifully and tastefully decorated; you are transported back to an earlier age without sacrificing any 21st Century mod cons. And the free wifi was a bonus! Please go if you're in the area; you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Loved our rooms but courtyard rooms would be lovely in summer time.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supercritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_and, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear supercritical,

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa.

We value all our guests' comments as these assist us greatly in improving our products and services.

Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Coopmanhuijs Hotel! The room was super cozy, comfortable and romantic, and the hotel staff were fantastic throughout our entire stay. The breakfast had everything we could want, and dinner at Helena's was delicious! Great room, great food, and great service - I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel when visiting Stellenbosch and the winelands!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_and, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear Alanna R,

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa.

We value all our guests' comments as these assist us greatly in improving our products and services.

Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Excellent location and very charming, rooms are very comfortable. As I like to do some running, it was awesome to do so in the campus of the University of Stellenbosch, half a mile away. We would definitely come back.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank carlos_kawall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_and, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear carlos_kawall,

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa.

We value all our guests' comments as these assist us greatly in improving our products and services.

Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Staff were great, location was great, food was great, service was great and I presume that the other rooms were good. Room No. 1 unfortunately is very poor. very small, very noisy, badly located with a single window facing onto a passage!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 911grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews