We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”
Review of Sante Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sante Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Reviewed 19 December 2016

No hot water in shower - advised management, never remedied for duration of our stay. Attempt to engage on issue when we checked out met with feeble apology. Cold breakfast offering poor, "fresh" fruit and pastries looked like they had seen better days. One of worst (if not the worst) breakfasts I have had in a hotel. Would not have booked there if I had known the hotel had recently been auctioned. Can probably attribute current poor standards to fact still under old management. Nothing in minibar when we were there...not even water. Serious shortcoming given summer heat in the area. Can't fault staff though, they were lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking pool as opposed to courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ej130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, marketing at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review Sante Hotel and Spa. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve our services and customer experience.
Please accept our sincerest apology for the inconveniences your experienced throughout your stay. This is not acceptable. Senior management has been informed and is working hand in hand with the hotel to improve the service offerings. Our staff try very hard every day to make sure the guests are tended to and we are pleased to hear that they are doing so.
We do hope that you will return in the future and have an improved experience.
Warm regards
Staff and management
Sante Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Sante is located in the beautiful winelands of Paarl. It is a quick drive from Stellenbosch and Cape Town and is the perfect weekend getaway. Besides the attraction of the beautiful mountains and vineyards, the architecture itself is exquisite. Beautifully decorated. I loved the soft linen and pillows - heavenly sleep. Bakwena spa is also a MUST. The spa offers great massages and wholesome food. Perfect day of relaxation and lots of fun.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Ingrid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Dear Valued Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to review Sante Hotel and Spa. And what a wonderful review!

We are so pleased that you had a good time and do hope that you will return in the near future for another great stay at our hotel.

We value you as our guest and appreciate all feedback given by our guests.

Warm Regards
Staff and Management
Sante Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

By far the most disappointing hotel I've stayed in Cape Town.
This is NOT A 5 star hotel. The maximum stars it should get is 3!!
The rooms look amazing until you see how dirty the doors, plug points and floors are.
Some of the lights are not even working and they had no hangers in the closets.
Let's not even speak about the fridge or safe that doesn't work and the fact that you don't even have mineral water in the room.
They don't even have wifi - what 5 star hotel doesn't have wifi?!!
The buffet lunch that was served at the spa was beyond terrible. It lacked imagination to say the least. The food was dry and bland.
They didn't even have glasses to serve the soft drinks in. Just my lunch experience alone would get a 1/10.
We've waited for ages for our food at dinner. Taking we were the only people in the restaurant at the time. They also had no waiters on duty and we had to call the bartender from the lobby to serve us.
When the dinner eventually came after waiting for ages they couldn't even get the steak right!
I'm super disappointed that I had to spend over R2000 a night for this horrible experience.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank LorindaVoges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Dear Lorinda,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Sante Hotel and Spa.

We are concerned to learn of your disappointment with so many aspects of our services. Excellence in customer care is of paramount importance. You can be rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by Senior Management and improvements will be made as a matter of urgency. We constantly doing maintenance checks on the hotel and therefore the Line Manager concerned will take this up with housekeeping. On this occasion, we would like to apologize for the disappointment you experienced. We value you as our guest at Sante Hotel and do hope that you will return in the near future where we will be given the opportunity to exceed all your expectations.

Warm Regards

Staff and Management Sante Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We were very dissapointed with our night at Sante,We have stayed here previously & found standards had dropped considerably,Although the grounds are still very well maintained the actual hotel has a general air of neglect & would appear to be running on a skeleton staff,Our kids had booked us a Manor King room which was not available & we had to wait in reception while the staff found us a suitable room (Although the hotel was almost empty) We were then given a twin room which we thought was hilarious as we were celebrating our anniversary,We were the only people in the dining room for breakfast at 8.30 & finding someone to help us was not easy., Not really a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanneblack2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Dear Valued Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to review Sante Hotel and Spa. We are concerned to learn of your disappointment on your recent stay with us.

It is helpful to have our customer views on this important aspect of the hotel. You can be rest assured that the Line Manager will review your comments. Where improvement is required this will happen as a matter of urgency. On this occasion, we would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you encountered on this occasion.

We do hope that you will afford us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our services.

We value you as our guest and appreciate all feedback given by our guests.

Warm Regards
Staff and Management
Sante Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We had a lovely time. The outside venue is well kept and we loved the bird life. It is a quiet and peaceful place (if you like bird life) and you find yourself wondering where all the people and staff are ? We were not told about the venue facilities or shown around, we had to find things for ourselves. We were in a Suite outside the hotel area and I think the suite needed some maintenance attention. The breakfast was a little unorganized with staff not helping but the food was well prepared. It is an excellent wedding venue with beautiful open air lake wedding photo opportunity.
The Bakwena spa is definitely a plus and we really enjoyed our treatments as always with the friendly staff delicious food.

Room Tip: Outside suites would be quieter but you have much more bird life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 78sylviaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Dear Valued Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to review Sante Hotel and Spa. And what a wonderful review!

We are so pleased that you had a good time and do hope that you will return in the near future for another great stay at our hotel.

We value you as our guest and appreciate all feedback given by our guests.

Warm Regards
Staff and Management
Sante Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paarl
11.2 km away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
6.3 km away
Grande Roche Hotel
Grande Roche Hotel
#2 of 14 in Paarl
519 reviews
21.7 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 12 in Franschhoek
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Pontac Manor Hotel
Pontac Manor Hotel
#12 of 14 in Paarl
44 reviews
14.3 km away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
203 reviews
6.2 km away
De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sante Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sante Hotel & Spa

Address: La Bella Vita Wine Estate | Simonsvlei Road, Paarl 7646, South Africa (Formerly Sante Winelands Resort)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paarl
Price Range: $860 - $3,958 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sante Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flanked by the majestic Simonsberg Mountains in the picturesque Franschhoek Valley, Santé Hotel, Resort & Spa is situated on a working wine estate. Only 40 minutes from Cape Town International airport, Santé has it all - a luxurious hotel, outstanding conference facilities and an award-winning Spa & Wellness centre. The hotel’s fine dining restaurant serves gourmet meals with international flair and inspired by local delicacies - many sourced from its own organic gardens. The rooms are stylish and luxurious, with marble finishes, deluxe bathrooms and offer sweeping views of the mountains, lakeshore and vineyards. Three types of accommodation are available: Manor rooms – in the main hotel, Spa suites, and the Villas. Santé means ‘health’ and this simple message is carried through every aspect of the guest experience - from the décor of the luxurious and spacious rooms, through to the rejuvenating spa treatments and the thoughtful attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, WingontravelTA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sante Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sante Hotel, Resort And Spa
Sante Hotel Paarl
Sante Winelands Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing