We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
535 results
Traveller rating
335
111
45
29
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
111
45
29
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoystersterrace suitebeautiful hotelstar hotelattention to detailrose petalsslave quartersfine diningwine listsouth africacomplimentary winemain buildingtreated like royaltyfeel specialgeneral managercape towncourse dinner
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 535 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2017

If you can pick one place in South Africa that you should sta,y then it is Grande Roche Hotel in Paarl. The hotel is a 17th century vineyard which has been converted into the most beautiful hotel. Everything is perfect. The staff, the restaurant, the amazing sommelier, the fantastic breakfast team, the beautiful gardens and pools etc etc etc
We stayed in a two story room in the old slaves quarter called java, beautiful lounge area on the ground floor and a very spacious bedroom upstairs.

Bosmans restaurant is a taste discovery and with the talent of the sommelier who guided us through some amazing wines we had the best time.

Dont think about it, just book, you will not be disappointed.

Hello from the boys from Oz :-)

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotabbots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRocheHotel, Sales & Marketing Department at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as your visit to Bosman's and look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit from Oz.

Kind regards
The Grande Roche Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

I write this review with a heavy heart as one of the great hotels have fallen! As a guest at an event last night at the function venue, I was to say the least horrified! Funny thing is we attended the event because it was so great in the past, with excellent food and hospitality! At Approximately R 15000.00 for twenty people one would expect the greatest platters and layouts to be seen. Alas it was not to be. The snacks served where clearly done at the local spar down the road! Samosas, spring rolls, some wraps cut up, a french loaf with fillings and my personal favorite pieces of plain bread with cottage cheese and toppings! Apparently this is a canapé! ( it might be the new nouveau canapé, specially designed in the supermarkets of South Africa waiting to take the master chef awards by storm ).The dinner was an inedible mix of something green swimming with some red stuff and wobbly bits!.
Management needs to wake up! You are a ripoff! Look at your wine list alone. You are purposefully ripping of tourists and doing a disservice to our industry and country as a whole! I further implore the wine industry to boycott you. Sis! You should wear a stocking mask.
And to top it off, best quote of the night when the organizers tried everything in their power to make it better..... " I have seen people pay much more for less." Excellent quote there from the hotel management!
They have just proven, agreed and are currently marketing this iconic hotel as a RipOff! Well done! Please all take serious note! This is a disservice to us all!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank CassiusJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRocheHotel, Sales & Marketing Department at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Mr Jones

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of a recent cocktail evening you attended at the hotel. All feedback is very important to us as it affords us the opportunity of improving the service we offer to our guests.

It is always distressing to hear that we have not lived up to the criteria expected from us as we pride ourselves on the standard and quality of the food and service offered throughout the hotel.
On behalf of Management, please accept our very sincere apologies for having failed your expectations.

It has not gone unnoticed that the past four out of five reviews you have written on Trip Advisor have been negative. That said, we accept full responsibility where it is due and can assure you that your review/comments will be included in our weekly feedback meeting being held later today so that the necessary steps can be taken to ensure that something similar does not reoccur.

Should you wish to continue this correspondence, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel and ask to speak to the Manager.

Kind regards
The Grande Roche Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

I heard a lot of good things about this hotel so my expectations were high. Arriving to a live performance in the rose garden just for us as the sun was setting behind the Paarl rock really set the tone! Huguenot cottages are jotted in the vineyards underneath the majestic Paarl rock with carefully laid out flower beds and clipped lawns. As if this was not enough we are blown away by a sumptuous 8 course dinner in the renowned Boshmans restaurant executed with military precision. The staff and management were superb and I’m so happy we stayed here. Well done guys !!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Dawid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRocheHotel, Sales & Marketing Department at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review on both the Grande Roche Hotel and Bosman's Restaurant on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as your dinner in Bosman's and look forward to welcoming you again in the hopefully not too distant future.

Kind regards
The Grande Roche Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

If you would like to experience old world charm and style in a beautiful location, look no further. Our office came for breakfast to celebrate a 40th. The service was impeccable, the selection and quality of the food at the buffet was exceptional; oysters and bubbly included!

You will feel special when you dine here.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Paljas1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRocheHotel, Sales & Marketing Department at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review posted on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you and your colleagues enjoyed your breakfast with us and that we could add an element of enjoyment to a special birthday celebration.

Kind regards
The Grande Roche Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

This hotel rates well above the average for the quality of accommodation, service and setting.
It is situated at the foot of the Paarl mountain and has views over the Paarl valley with a magnificent mountain backdrop in the distance.We stayed in one of the 'Stable Rooms' which have a patio and separate lounge and bedroom. The bathroom is well appointed and has a double basin and well enclosed shower.
The service was excellent and the staff extremely courteous.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTownChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRocheHotel, Sales & Marketing Department at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in future.

Kind regards
The Grande Roche Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews