We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Grounds - OK Room”
Review of Grande Roche Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grande Roche Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We stayed two nights in late October and had a very enjoyable stay. The grounds and restaurant (and wines) were the highlight. The grounds are impeccable as are the views of the surrounding mountains. Had two lunches and one dinner at Bosmans and the food was simply outstanding - truly fine dining and the Sommelier, Duane, picked a wonderful selection of wines from the area for our dinner. Staff were very friendly, helpful and always wanting to make sure you were enjoying your stay.

The only reason for not giving a five star rating was that our room (Saddle room) was a bit rustic and in need of sprucing up a bit. With all rooms on the ground floor you must keep curtains drawn as you are totally visible to those walking by. Even the front door is all glass and you need to pull a curtain to cover it. We could hear every word spoken by the women in the adjacent room as she made phone calls. This is probably a function of the thatch roof with a faux wall between rooms. Furniture was comfortable as was the bed but the outdoor furniture on our terrace was old and tattered. Overall a great experience and a spectacular setting but the rooms do need some updating.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller111Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRocheHotel, Sales & Marketing Department at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. Your positive feedback and constructive criticism is extremely valuable to us and truly appreciated. Thank you once again.

Kind regards
The Grande Roche Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2017

If you can pick one place in South Africa that you should sta,y then it is Grande Roche Hotel in Paarl. The hotel is a 17th century vineyard which has been converted into the most beautiful hotel. Everything is perfect. The staff, the restaurant, the amazing sommelier, the fantastic breakfast team, the beautiful gardens and pools etc etc etc
We stayed in a two story room in the old slaves quarter called java, beautiful lounge area on the ground floor and a very spacious bedroom upstairs.

Bosmans restaurant is a taste discovery and with the talent of the sommelier who guided us through some amazing wines we had the best time.

Dont think about it, just book, you will not be disappointed.

Hello from the boys from Oz :-)

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotabbots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRocheHotel, Sales & Marketing Department at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as your visit to Bosman's and look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit from Oz.

Kind regards
The Grande Roche Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

I write this review with a heavy heart as one of the great hotels have fallen! As a guest at an event last night at the function venue, I was to say the least horrified! Funny thing is we attended the event because it was so great in the past, with excellent food and hospitality! At Approximately R 15000.00 for twenty people one would expect the greatest platters and layouts to be seen. Alas it was not to be. The snacks served where clearly done at the local spar down the road! Samosas, spring rolls, some wraps cut up, a french loaf with fillings and my personal favorite pieces of plain bread with cottage cheese and toppings! Apparently this is a canapé! ( it might be the new nouveau canapé, specially designed in the supermarkets of South Africa waiting to take the master chef awards by storm ).The dinner was an inedible mix of something green swimming with some red stuff and wobbly bits!.
Management needs to wake up! You are a ripoff! Look at your wine list alone. You are purposefully ripping of tourists and doing a disservice to our industry and country as a whole! I further implore the wine industry to boycott you. Sis! You should wear a stocking mask.
And to top it off, best quote of the night when the organizers tried everything in their power to make it better..... " I have seen people pay much more for less." Excellent quote there from the hotel management!
They have just proven, agreed and are currently marketing this iconic hotel as a RipOff! Well done! Please all take serious note! This is a disservice to us all!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank CassiusJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRocheHotel, Sales & Marketing Department at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Mr Jones

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of a recent cocktail evening you attended at the hotel. All feedback is very important to us as it affords us the opportunity of improving the service we offer to our guests.

It is always distressing to hear that we have not lived up to the criteria expected from us as we pride ourselves on the standard and quality of the food and service offered throughout the hotel.
On behalf of Management, please accept our very sincere apologies for having failed your expectations.

It has not gone unnoticed that the past four out of five reviews you have written on Trip Advisor have been negative. That said, we accept full responsibility where it is due and can assure you that your review/comments will be included in our weekly feedback meeting being held later today so that the necessary steps can be taken to ensure that something similar does not reoccur.

Should you wish to continue this correspondence, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel and ask to speak to the Manager.

Kind regards
The Grande Roche Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

I heard a lot of good things about this hotel so my expectations were high. Arriving to a live performance in the rose garden just for us as the sun was setting behind the Paarl rock really set the tone! Huguenot cottages are jotted in the vineyards underneath the majestic Paarl rock with carefully laid out flower beds and clipped lawns. As if this was not enough we are blown away by a sumptuous 8 course dinner in the renowned Boshmans restaurant executed with military precision. The staff and management were superb and I’m so happy we stayed here. Well done guys !!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Dawid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRocheHotel, Sales & Marketing Department at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review on both the Grande Roche Hotel and Bosman's Restaurant on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as your dinner in Bosman's and look forward to welcoming you again in the hopefully not too distant future.

Kind regards
The Grande Roche Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

If you would like to experience old world charm and style in a beautiful location, look no further. Our office came for breakfast to celebrate a 40th. The service was impeccable, the selection and quality of the food at the buffet was exceptional; oysters and bubbly included!

You will feel special when you dine here.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Paljas1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRocheHotel, Sales & Marketing Department at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review posted on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you and your colleagues enjoyed your breakfast with us and that we could add an element of enjoyment to a special birthday celebration.

Kind regards
The Grande Roche Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paarl
5.9 km away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
8.9 km away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
199 reviews
25.5 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
2,034 reviews
23.4 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
193 reviews
9.6 km away
Ridgeback House
Ridgeback House
#1 of 1 in Windmeul
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Roche Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Roche Hotel

Address: Plantasie Street, Paarl 7646, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Price Range: HK$1,806 - HK$4,058 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Roche Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Grande Roche, celebrated international hotel, famous for its exquisite location in the heart of the beautiful Cape Winelands as well as for its luxurious, cosmopolitan accommodation, award-winning cuisine and matchless service and hospitality. The immaculately restored Cape Dutch homestead at Grande Roche dates back to the 18th century, and offers guests a variety of sumptuous accommodation which include 35 luxury suites. The Banqueting Venue with an open-air amphitheater sits on the upper slopes of the estates, in the midst of vineyards and plum orchards, with a backdrop of Paarl Rock. Whether it's an international conference, a board meeting, cutting-edge product launch or high-profile company summit, The Grande Roche will take care of your needs... we know it is the little details that matter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Roche Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing