We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (543)
Filter reviews
543 results
Traveller rating
338
113
47
30
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
113
47
30
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oysters beautiful hotel star hotel attention to detail heated floors fine dining rose petals wine list complimentary wine main building treated like royalty south africa feel special general manager cape town great dinner course dinner
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 543 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

I heard a lot of good things about this hotel so my expectations were high. Arriving to a live performance in the rose garden just for us as the sun was setting behind the Paarl rock really set the tone! Huguenot cottages are jotted in the vineyards underneath the majestic Paarl rock with carefully laid out flower beds and clipped lawns. As if this was not enough we are blown away by a sumptuous 8 course dinner in the renowned Boshmans restaurant executed with military precision. The staff and management were superb and I’m so happy we stayed here. Well done guys !!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Dawid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRocheHotel, Sales & Marketing Department at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review on both the Grande Roche Hotel and Bosman's Restaurant on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as your dinner in Bosman's and look forward to welcoming you again in the hopefully not too distant future.

Kind regards
The Grande Roche Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

If you would like to experience old world charm and style in a beautiful location, look no further. Our office came for breakfast to celebrate a 40th. The service was impeccable, the selection and quality of the food at the buffet was exceptional; oysters and bubbly included!

You will feel special when you dine here.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Jacolien Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRocheHotel, Sales & Marketing Department at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review posted on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you and your colleagues enjoyed your breakfast with us and that we could add an element of enjoyment to a special birthday celebration.

Kind regards
The Grande Roche Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

This hotel rates well above the average for the quality of accommodation, service and setting.
It is situated at the foot of the Paarl mountain and has views over the Paarl valley with a magnificent mountain backdrop in the distance.We stayed in one of the 'Stable Rooms' which have a patio and separate lounge and bedroom. The bathroom is well appointed and has a double basin and well enclosed shower.
The service was excellent and the staff extremely courteous.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTownChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRocheHotel, Sales & Marketing Department at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in future.

Kind regards
The Grande Roche Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

This was our first stay at the Grande Roche. We've had dinner and breakfast at Bosman's before. The service was A+ From arriving at the gate up until departure. The room was lovely, spacious and had spectacular views of the mountains. Dinner was outstanding as always. We had a great stay and will definitely recommend GR to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 79SandraB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRocheHotel, Sales & Marketing Department at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Sandra

Thank you very much for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you once again to the elegant charm of the Grande Roche Hotel.

Kind regards
The Grande Roche Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Great dinner, great breakfast ! And a lovely welcome with a glass of bubbly on arrival.

Unfortunately the room was a mess ( and we were even upgraded .. ! ) ; they are in dire need of some maintenance. Our bedding was also dirty, which was a little worrying.

We were supposed to have massages ( something we were most looking forward to about our stay ! ) but unfortunately that was extremely unprofessional.

The pools look lovely and the grounds are absolutely beautiful ! Correspondence and booking with the hotel was a breeze.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRocheHotel, Sales & Marketing Department at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Sandra

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Please accept our sincere apologies for the standards not having been met. We can assure you that this is seen in a very serious light indeed and will receive an in-depth investigation by senior management.

Thank you for having also highlighted the positive sides of your visit, this is appreciated.
Kind regards
Grande Roche Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews