We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick visit to Hermanus.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lavender Manor Guest Lodge
Ranked #4 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I wish we had spent some more time in Hermanus (we only stayed one night).

We arrived late and received a warm welcome from Isabel.
The room was really comfortable and the little fresh flowers were lovely.

The breakfast was superb, and the cliffpath walk back into town was breathtaking.

Pity we had to leave.

Pages & Zarpaks

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PageytheParrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very good guest lodge with excellent rooms. We were a party of 6 and had 3 rooms, one with a great view over the Indian Ocean. The welcome on arrival was good, breakfast great and the "honesty bar" was well stocked. We had a great time. Recommended for anyone doing the garden route.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lubbertusd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon travelling along the garden route. The house is gorgeous and very grand. There's a terrace to sit out on and the views are amazing. We were lucky that it wasn't busy when we stayed (end of August) so our room got upgraded to a front room which had a sea view.

The couple who run the guest house are very friendly. The man (sorry can't remember his name) was very chatty and gave us some advice on where to go in Hermanus.

The only downside we experienced was that our room was freezing. The temperature wasn't hot anyway due to the time of year and the room had minimal heating. It was front facing so had the full force of the sea breeze and it was quite windy when we stayed. There was a little heater in the bathroom and a small electric heater in the bedroom but they didn't help much. We ended up sat in bed to keep warm.

The house is spotlessly clean and the breakfast was lovely. The staff were very friendly. The bed in our room was very comfortable. There's also an honesty bar to use in the communal area. It's very close to the beach which also has a lovely restaurant called Dutchies which we ate at. I would definitely recommend that.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank emmasam2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lavendermanor, Owner at Lavender Manor Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to submit your review of our guest house. We strive to give our guests a memorable and enjoyable experience and always appreciate feedback, positive and negative. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to perhaps welcome you back one day.
Best regards, Isabel & Kobus Nel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Without any hesitations I would recommend this hotel. It is a beautiful, cozy, smaller hotel, in which you will feel like home. The owner is incredibly polite and helpful with any information. I had a room with the ocean view which was really magnificent. The room it self was very cozy, with a special atmosphere. If you book a room without ocean view you can use a common room/bar upstairs with the same fantastic view. In the neighborhood there is a good restaurant recommended by Lavender Manor. The restaurant will not disappoint you.
Overall, it is worth to stay at Lavender Manor

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margrethe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lavendermanor, Owner at Lavender Manor Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Margrethe,
Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to submit your review of our guest house. We strive to give our guests a memorable and enjoyable experience and always appreciate feedback, positive and negative. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to perhaps welcome you back one day.
Best regards, Isabel & Kobus Nel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in room 1, which was beautiful with a small balcony and views across the bay. We could see the whales from our room. The whole atmosphere is relaxed and nothing is too much trouble, there is a guest honesty bar where you can help yourself and it has fantastic views, with a roaring fire too! Breakfast was fab with eggs cooked to perfection. The owners were very knowledgeable of the area and gave us tips on places to eat (Lisettes and Dutchies on the beach) which were both fab. They also told us of a quiet area from which to watch the whales. Thoroughly recommend a stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Oakey1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
4.1 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
946 reviews
4.7 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
4.1 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
709 reviews
10.0 km away
Kennedys Beach Villa
5.1 km away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#2 of 86 in Hermanus
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Manor Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Manor Guest Lodge

Address: 184 10th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: HK$1,011 - HK$1,434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lavender Manor Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lavender Manor offers spectacular sea and mountain views and warm, relaxed hospitality. Overlooking famous Blue Flag Grotto Beach and the whale sanctuary of Walker Bay, you are within two minutes walk of the magnificent beaches and the scenic cliff path. Relax next to the secluded pool and watch the incredible sunsets over the ocean from the upstairs patio. Ideally positioned for whale watching, walking trails, visiting the different wine routes, and near world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Lavender Manor Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing