We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (791)
Filter reviews
791 results
Traveller rating
212
295
199
53
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
295
199
53
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea facing room whale watching no lift quaint hotel an update bit dated within walking distance see whales perfect location on the rocks enjoyed our stay breathtaking views comfortable stay sea front across the road short stay marine drive
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 791 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2018

Hermanus is a lovely location with many eating establishments and coastal walks. This particular hotel is not one I would return to. Frequented by many coach parties who departed early and as a result hotel was extremely noisy at 6:00-7:00 in the morning. I would recommend that the hotel provides signs to think of other guests similar to what premiers inns do. Another disappointment was lack of fridge in the rooms. They were extremely basic reminding me of a travelodge in UK. Whist our room had a veranda there was no furniture to sit on. There was however chairs in the room that could equally be used outside.
On a positive the breakfast was plentiful and varied. The personnel were extremely friendly and attentive.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank 323HELE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Good afternoon 323Hele

Thank you for your review - we always look forward to feedback from our guests after they have stayed with us, and we always try to use it to improve on our services.

During the time that you stayed, we had a School Group from the UK that was inhouse with us. They displayed exemplary manners at all times, and were most courteous and friendly. On the morning of their departure there was a hiccup with their schedule and they were delayed, hence the noise levels in the passages as they were ferried out to the buses for departure. We have brought this to the Schools attention, and have put measures in place to ensure that this does not happen again.

We do not provide fridges in our rooms, as this is not a requirement for a three star graded property. If you were to peruse the inroom binder, you will see that we do have fridges available on request that can be brought up to your room for your perusal during your stay. We offer this as an extra service to our guests, but the fridges are not placed in every room, as the space in the rooms is limited, but they are available on request.

We have had many instances of the balcony furniture going missing off the balcony over night, therefore we have put chairs in the rooms which are light and can be moved with ease to the balcony.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and that your encounters with our staff were so positive.

We hope to welcome you back to the Windsor Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Madeleine
On Behalf of the Windsor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

We had choosen the Windsor hotel in Hermanus because of the spectaculair seaview. We were not disapointed. The room was average, no fridge, but staff was very helpfull. Closeby are a couple of nice restaurants for lunch and diner. Buffetstyle breakfast is fine.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Good afternoon DickB

Thank you for your review - we always look forward to hearing from our guests after they have stayed with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the views from the rooms - they really are something special.

Yes, unfortunately we dont have fridges in our rooms, as this is not a requirement in a three star graded property.
We do however have fridges available on request, and can have one install in your room. You are most welcome to ask for this prior to arrival, on arrival or even during your stay, as we always have staff on hand to assist with this.

Thank you so much for your lovely comment about our breakfast spread - we really do try to put out the best breakfast possible.

We hope to welcome you back to the Windsor Hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
Madeleine
On Behalf of the Windsor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

We knew about the status of this hotel, and our experience confirmed the rating of Windsor hotel.

The staff at reception was very friendly and accommodating, like all the other staff.

The ambiance reflects the ambiance of a bygone era, as the hotel age goes back many years, although we chose to stay in one of the recently refurbished rooms.

The room was spacious, dressed in light colours, very good bathroom with a very good shower, and the large king size bed was very comfortable.

Breakfast was excellent, a full english breakfast, with a large choice of fresh fruit.

The hotel has different lounges on every floor facing the beautiful and breathtaking ocean views, including a pool playroom on the first floor.

Out of the hotel, a very nice trail bordering the coast, 2 km long, allowing for fresh fast walks in the early mornings.

All together an exceptional hotel to be recommended to visitors to Hermanus.

Room Tip: try to book a room on the top floor
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sevalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Good morning Alex

Thank you so much for your lovely review - we always look forward to hearing from our guests after they have stayed with us.

We are absolutely delighted to hear that you had such a good stay with us, and that you found the room to be comfortable, the bed nice and big and the shower refreshing.

We are also very glad to hear you enjoyed breakfast - we try to offer our guests a good breakfast to set them up for a successful day!

We are also happy to hear you made use of our lounges and that you were able to rest and unwind a little bit.

We hope to welcome you back to the Windsor Hotel again soon!

Kind regards,
Madeleine
On Behalf of the Windsor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

This hotel is an awesome place for a school tour. The hotel is quaint and well looked after. Perhaps a fridge in the rooms would help. There isn’t an aircon either but with the windows open this isn’t a problem. I loved my stay here and would like to come back without the 40 children!
Well done to all!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank IanH4022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, Owner at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Good morning Ian

Thank you so much for your review - we always look forward to receiving some feedback from our guests after they have stayed with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and most of all that you would like to come back!

We unfortunately do not have fridges in the rooms, due to space constraints, however should you request a fridge in advance to be placed in the room, we are definitely able to do that.

We hope to welcome you back to the Windsor Hotel again soon!

Kind regards,
Madeleine
On Behalf of the Windsor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

we simply enjoyed our stay. it’s nicely located on the marine drive within 5 minutes walk to the town center. we had a room on the second floor with brilliant sea view. we could hear the sound of waves hitting the rocks. we like the room. thought it’s cute and the bed is comfortable for the 3 of us (2 adults one child). breakfast is decent. the omelet was great. fresh tropical fruits served. it’s value for money. nothing luxury though.

there is no lift. not a problem for us though. there is no air conditioner but a portable cooler unit is provided. not a problem for us too. we leaves the balcony door opened at night and it’s cool enough. hermanus could be chilly at night.

the hotel provides ample parking space and it’s free.

would definitely stay again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Wei C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Good morning wcthoo

Thank you so much for your review. We always look forward to getting feedback from our guests after they have stayed with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and most of all that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, as well as our breakfast.

Unfortunately we do not have a lift, as we only have 2 floors in the hotel, therefore one isnt really needed. We have porters on hand at all times to assist with luggage. We also do not have air conditioning, however since we are directly across from the ocean, there is a lovely cool breeze all day & night.

We hope to welcome you back to the Windsor Hotel again soon!

Kind regards,
Madeleine
On Behalf of the Windsor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews