We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (791)
Filter reviews
791 results
Traveller rating
212
295
199
53
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
295
199
53
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea facing room whale watching no lift quaint hotel an update bit dated within walking distance see whales perfect location on the rocks enjoyed our stay breathtaking views comfortable stay sea front across the road short stay marine drive
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 791 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We liked staying at Hermanus's Windsor Hotel with its sea front location, attentive staff and amazing breakfast room with views over the ocean. It has a good car park at the back and a reputation stretching back over a hundred years. But our room (at the back) was small, un-airconditioned and without a fridge. Also adjacent building work meant the car park was sometimes a bit blocked by work vehicles. So we liked the place and it felt special to be there - but actually the room wasn't that special. The hotel does need refurbishing in parts.(and it is getting that) but there are newer hotels in Hermanus and you might want to look around at some of them.
We paid 3300 Rand for 3 nights - about £64.70/night - so good value.
Nevertheless - a nice hotel in a fabulous location.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RickW419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Good Day Rick W,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus.

We thank you for the valuable feedback you have given us regarding your stay. The Hotel us currently undergoing upgrades and renovations to improve on our guest experience to make the stay more comfortable.

We would like to welcome you back very soon so that you can experience the newly renovated rooms for yourself.

Kind Regards,
Johanri Meyer
Marketing
Windsor Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Really amazing stay, old fashioned hotel. Loved the furniture. Slept well listening to the waves as you fall asleep and awoke. So close to all the amendments in town. Had a wonderful experience and stunning weekend and will be back

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank edithpengee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Good Day Edithpengee,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus.

It is such a great pleasure to know you have had an amazing stay with us. We thank you for the wonderful feedback and we strive to give our guest the best possible experience so that they feel right at home.

We look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards,
Johanri Meyer
Marketing
Windsor Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We have stayed at this 3 star hotel 4 times and we have found it a very relaxing hotel each time we have been here. The view is excellent and it is very convenient for the centre of town. Plenty of parking and the breakfast which is included in the price is very good. The staff are always very helpful. The room we had this time was in the back annex, which was comfortable.and well maintained. Extremely good value for money.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank watchman2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Good Day Watchman2015,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus.

We are so very pleased to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the wonderful feedback.

The Windsor Hotel strives to give our guest the best possible experience and to make them feel right at home.

Looking forward to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards,
Johanri Meyer
Marketing
Windsor Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Awesome sea view. Friendly staff with great service. So relaxing. Home away from home.
We have been going to Windsor Hotel and 45 Marine Drive for many years.
After a weekend in Hermanus you feel like a new person.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank eloisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Good Day Eloisl,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus.

It is always such a pleasure to welcome you back and back again and thank you for the wonderful feedback you have given us.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Johanri Meyer
Marketing
Windsor Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

A wonderful stay - thank you very much. The rooms were clean and neat and the breakfast was great. The service was excellent.
Lovely old fashioned hotel experience. Will definitely recommend to others and will return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 120julietg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Good Day 120julietg,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus.

It is such a pleasure to learn you have enjoyed your stay with is and we than you for the wonderful feedback. We strive to give our guest the best possible experience and with such positive feedback it helps to improve on our service even more.

Looking forward to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards,
Johanri Meyer
Marketing
Windsor Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews