We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (801)
Filter reviews
801 results
Traveller rating
503
254
28
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
503
254
28
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shopping centre suite hotel self catering three bedroom apartment secure underground parking walking distance full kitchen convenient location lovely apartment well equipped kitchen washing machine main bedroom hotel is situated your doorstep large balcony restaurants and shops comfortable beds
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 801 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2018

It was by far one of the best breakfasts we had. We enjoyed the apartment, which had all necessary facilities, nice view and is centrally located in the Hermanus Old Harbour. A nice touch is the van to take you and pick you up at restaurants

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank llaino189189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrieV147, Manager at Whale Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Valued Guest

On behalf of the entire team at The Whale Coast Hotel, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and many thanks for the lovely review! We are looking forward to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

Beautiful place, friendly staff, well located. Apartments are big (three bedroom apartment) and clean, kitchen, living room, delicious breakfast. There is enough space for everyone. They also offer free transfers to restaurants nearby. But you can go by walking because everything is so close to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 641melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrieV147, Manager at Whale Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Melissa

Thank you for your great review on your stay at the Whale Coast Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the excellent location, modern apartments and the wonderful service from the team. Our hotel is indeed situated perfectly to explore all that Hermanus has to offer. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

I needed to get away for a couple of days to relax (and shop)! The Whale Coast Hotel was the perfect choice in Hermanus. We’ve visited Hermanus a number of time, so decided to try something new in accommodation. The 2 bedroomed apartment was stunning, spacious and was everything we could ask for. Beautifully decorated, willing, friendly and able staff and most convenient. Situated on top of a shopping complex and walking distance to the Village square and the old Harbour with all its restaurants and shops, was really outstanding.
Accommodation consisted of one large bedroom with King size bed and1 smaller bedroom with 2 single beds, ideal for children, both had en-suite bathrooms. A large sunny balcony with outdoor furniture completed the picture. We were happy and had an enjoyable stay. Thank you Whale Coast, well be back.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Songbird7900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrieV147, Manager at Whale Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Valued Guest

I greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. I am so glad that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. It's wonderful hearing that you were so impressed with the spacious apartments, excellent location and friendly service you received from our team. Again, thank you for sharing your review with us and fellow TripAdvisor users. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

This was a great choice of hotel.
We wanted comfort, space, views (they were of mountains), cleanliness, convenience for shops, beach, - mainly cliffs and rocks nearby, and walks with picturesque scenery.
We also wanted good air conditioning - heating as well as cooling as we went in July!
We got the lot, plus very friendly, helpful and courteous staff. We had a 6 week old baby with us and nothing was too much trouble.
We had a 3 bedroom duplex apartment with balconies (2)
The breakfast choice was good.
The only downside was that the walls could have been a little more soundproof - one night we did have very noisy neighbours but management dealt with the problem next day, were very apologetic and compensated us! This situation has not been their fault..
Also, a great choice of restaurants within a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dkelly353110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrieV147, Manager at Whale Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Whale Coast Hotel. We are glad to read that you were impressed with our spacious apartments and excellent location. We take great pride in delivering excellent service so comments like yours let us know that we are meeting that goal. We appreciate you visiting our hotel and hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Hermanus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018

Overall a great experience. The check in was very professional and efficient. The apartment was neat and well equipped. The manager of the hotel was welcoming and friendly. The checkout process was quick and painless. The location is convenient, and the parking is secure.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nmagan337584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrieV147, Manager at Whale Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Valued Guest

On behalf of the entire team at The Whale Coast Hotel, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and many thanks for the lovely review! We are looking forward to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews