We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (835)
Filter reviews
836 results
Traveller rating
564
175
62
23
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
564
175
62
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews origins restaurant travel desk liz mcgrath pavilion restaurant the cliff complimentary mini bar whale watching main restaurant beautiful hotel star hotel sister hotel the general manager south africa sea view cape town walker bay the ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 836 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

To be able to sit outside your hotel room and watch whales is a real treat. Room was beautiful and well equipped. Staff were wonderful, pleasant and very welcoming. All the hallmarks of a great hotel and there is a real desire to make guests stay memorable. Ground floor rooms do suffer from hotel noise particularly first thing in the morning. There is a lovely restaurant which is only used for breakfast and as a result they serve dinner in a canteen style room at the front of the hotel which is disappointing to say the least. whilst the food was good we therefore chose to eat out after the first night. If they sort out the room soundproofing and open the restaurant in the evenings it would have got 5 stars from me.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank CHews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear CHews,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It is good to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate you bring the soundproofing and your Origins dinning experience to our attention. I would like to reassure you that both these matters are being addressed.

Looking forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the Western Cape.

Best regards
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

The hotel is perched on the coast right next to the sea – perfect for whale watching from the lounge or breakfast table. We walked on the cliff path surrounded by fynbos, admired the “Sculptures on the Cliffs” exhibition at Gearings Point and were privileged to view plenty whales during our visit. The fresh flowers that adorned the hotel were lovely. The use of white and contrasting blue paint in the corridors was befitting with the maritime theme. Our room was well equipped and spacious and the towels were tops! The serving team was helpful, always a step ahead in serving us and anticipating our needs. We appreciated the excellent service and friendliness. Ideal as a special base to explore Hermanus from.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kardoesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kardoesie,

Many thanks for this great review. It is so good to know you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. Especially our beautiful flowers for the fynbos area and the magnificent Whales, that visit our shores at this time of the Year.

Looking forward to your return visit.

Warm regards
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

We were somewhat skeptical about staying three nights in this sleepy village,however we are so glad we did. First the hotel is set on a bluff overlooking the bay and second the staff is amazing.
From our windows we were able to watch the whales perform and frolic. I never dreamt that I would spend so much time just staring out at the water and getting excited when one of these magnificent creatures jumped. Ok so it may not be for everyone.
The hotel has a five star restaurant as well. The breakfast was wonderful and dinner even better.
We had a lovely Ocean Front suite. There was a patio as well as living room. Each room has a snack bar and drinks included. This is a nice touch for those afternoons you don’t want to go out. If you can ask for room 104 or the one above it.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PlanoTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Plano Travler,

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are also pleased that you stayed for three night and really got a feel of our special location on this Southerly tip of Africa. It is very good to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your room, especially the wonderful position to watch the amazing Southern Right Whales.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay !

Warm regards
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

The Marine Hermanus is another Jewel of “The Collection by Liz McGrath”.
Great Hospitality and personalized services by very attentive staff . From the minute we checked in we felt very special. Every staff was genuinely competing to help and to offer their best led by committed supervisors to high levels of warm professional hospitality .
Superb location. Do not miss the breakfast that entices everyone to eagerly wake up.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shatha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Shatha M,

I am delighted to hear you so enjoyed your recent stay with us and felt well looked after by every member of the team.

looking forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Warmest regards
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

We were treated with attentive care on arrival - we were welcomed with warm hand towels and iced tea. Nestled next to the coast, the hotel boasts expansive windows with endless vistas of the ocean. We loved exploring the coastal cliff path. Part of The Collection by Liz McGrath, the hotel décor is elegant in a serene palette, with fresh flowers in abundance in the public areas. Our room was comfortable with a spacious double shower. All the linen and towels were of good quality. Breakfast was a highlight and is not to be missed. Five star facilities combined with professional yet personal service.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Mystery_Guest_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mystery_Guest_SA,

Thank you for this lovely review. It is wonderful to hear we met your expectations on your recent visit to The Marine Hotel.

Warm regards
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews