We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$131
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Selkirk House(Hermanus)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Venusta(Hermanus)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (806)
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveller rating
539
170
62
23
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
539
170
62
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafood restaurantorigins restauranttravel deskpavilion restaurantliz mcgraththe cliffcomplimentary mini barmain restaurantwhale watchingbeautiful hotelstar hotelsister hotelsea viewthe general managersouth africawalker baycape town
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 806 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Built in 1902, this grand hotel has been treated very nicely. Be sure to find the hallway by the reception area that has the OLD photos of the Marine's construction over Walker Bay. The rooms have high ceilings and are decorated perfectly. Our suite (227) had a huge balcony and the best views of the mountains and the sea. The folks that welcome you and service the rooms always have a smile. We found no problems with noise - or anything else. We were greeted with a nice bottle of red wine from Creation. The beds were the most comfortable of our trip. The breakfast each morning was very nice. We shall definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review. It was lovely to read it.

We pride ourselves on our staff and our service and we try very hard to make each guest experience memorable. The Marine Hotel is an iconic building in Hermanus. I will share your feedback with all the teams. 227 is a beautiful Premier Suite. The views are amazing. Our surroundings are beautiful.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us in the near future.

Kind regards
Annemie Parker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

It had been 10 years since we had last been to South Africa and stayed in the Marine. Then our experience was fabulous and nothing has changed despite the hotel no longer being part of the Relais&châteaux group. If you love the sea the location of the hotel is ideal, perched on the cliff you can smell, hear and see the sea. If it is whale season you are also able to see whales and much closer than you would imagine. Our room had a large bay window which made spotting whales very easy. The room itself was large, beautifully decorated and made the best of its sea view. The food was and still is a highlight. Fish as you would imagine make up a large part of the menu, which suits us, and we were served innovative courses, beautifully presented and expertly cooked. For many reasons this hotel is one of my favourite in the world.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing such a glowing review for us. Your kind words are very much appreciated.

We are indeed very lucky to be working and living in such a beautiful town. Our location is prime and the views are spectacular. I am also glad to read that you saw a few whales. It makes the visit extra special.

Our Executive Chef and his team enjoys preparing food for our guests. It gives them great pleasure to read these positive feedback.

We hope you will not put the next visit of for too long.

Kind regards
Annemie Parker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

The welcome was good, and the suite just beautiful. This hotel is very expensive but merits its reputation. I did not use the spa but I am told it is very good indeed.
Great bar and restaurant and staff ready to do everything to help.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the lawns leading down to the cliff edge
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.

I feel that you have enjoyed your stay and I am delighted to read that. You will have to stay longer next time to make use of all the facilities we offer. The Spa is fabulous and so is the team there. We are very fortunate to have such a lovely bar and restaurant with great views. Hermanus is a very special place.

We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards
Annemie Parker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

What a spectacular hotel and beautiful location. Everywhere you looked was another photographic arrangement of flowers, beautiful furniture, scenic views. We were so thrilled to be upgraded to an ocean view suite and really enjoyed all of the thoughtful touches, like turndown service, all-inclusive breakfast - yum!, and flowers in the room. Such a lovely place and hope to return someday for another magical vacation!

Room Tip: Splurge on an oceanview - that's why you're staying here! And for the beautiful accommodations too!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panamacruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for writing such a glowing review for us. It is much appreciated.

We try very hard to make each of our guests experiences memorable. Fantastic to read that you enjoyed the views from your rooms. Hopefully you saw a few whales too. All your comments have been shared to my team.

We hope that we will be able to look after you again very soon. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards
Annemie Parker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in a room with seaview and enjoyed the time. Reception welcomed us very personal and attended superfast to our personal requests. Tour bookings were handled very professionally. We had every day breakfast and dinner in the Pavillon-restaurant and enjoyed the foid quality and service in the elegant but not at all stiff atmosphere. Nevertheless feel that the bathroom in the room should be refurbished (very small and constantly changing water temperature) as in the present condition the room-rates are overprized.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Arno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.

When I shared your comments with our team they were and very proud. They were delighted to know that they have managed to meet your expectation and make your stay memorable.

Thank you for bringing the water and bathroom matters to our attention. Your feedback is invaluable to us. We will pay immediate attention to this. We are constantly trying to improve our beautiful little gem.

We all hope to welcome you back to The Marine in the near future.

Kind regards
Annemie Parker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews