We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Von Abercron Residence
Ranked #62 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

It was great and we definately encourage and holiday maker to book in. Absolute peace and complete quieteness. The area is surrounded by natural beauty and it also helps to have a great host like Petra and her family.

Room Tip: Rooms on mountain side are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Seretse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

I have just returned from a 1 day trip to Hermanus, and spent last night at this Residence. It was absolutely magnificent! My room overlooked the pool, with views to die for! Magestic mountain in my backyard! The room is decorated in white and turqoise, with a bit of navy. Modern, with an exquisite bathroom! In the bedroom there is also a cabinet with TV on top, and inside coffee and tea making facilities, plus a small fridge with cold drinks (R10) and beer (R15). I paid R500 for the night, which included a superb breakfast in the morning. Perhaps a bit steep, but really worth the money! Petra made me feel really welcome!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2travelislife2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We have just spent 3 weeks staying in the Rose Suite, Von Abercron Residence. The location is excellent, a safe and attractive area, very convenient for all attractions in Hermanus and the surrounding areas. Petra could not have been more helpful, booking restaurants and giving very good advice. On our arrival we found the Rose Suite to be a little musty, the cupboards in the kitchen and bedroom smelt damp which improved by keeping them open during our stay and though the kitchen was quite well equipped apart from a microwave oven there was no effective oven and the portable electric hot plates needed updating. The suite was very well serviced during out stay but we felt the mattresses were not really up to standard. Attention to detail would make this a winner!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 336Nomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The house is in a good position - right on the mountain. We had a good day swimming in the pool and saw a whole troop of baboons passing by and many beautiful Cape Sugarbirds in the garden. Unfortunately the rooms and bathrooms were disappointing - very tacky, the upstairs room facing the garden was stuffy and the mattress and pillows were extremely uncomfortable. It was such a beautiful evening but we were forced to cook indoors. We wanted to have a braai but were told that the grid had rusted away and there was no wood (despite there being a whole pile outside our bathroom window). The place is definitely not 4 star accommodation and not worth the price. Overall we were disappointed with the experience and will definitely not be going back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kirsty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PetraV721, Owner at Von Abercron Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Sorry to answer now on this review from Kirsty

This woman had only rented a double room with breakfast.
A double room is not kitchen equipped.The guests are not allowed to cook in a double room

Units are fully equipped and have own braai facilities.


Petra Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We had a short stay at the Von Abercron Residence and it was wonderful. The rooms are querky and well decorated and very very clean.The host is warm and professional. What a lovely breakfast too.

Room Tip: The blue room is very suitable for family with its kitchen/lounge area and views over the golf club
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fumpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
1.3 km away
Four Pines Lodge
Four Pines Lodge
#11 of 11 in Hermanus
14 reviews
2.1 km away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#10 of 86 in Hermanus
337 reviews
3.4 km away
The Nantucket B&B
The Nantucket B&B
#38 of 86 in Hermanus
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Milkwood Lodge
Milkwood Lodge
#39 of 86 in Hermanus
111 reviews
0.8 km away
Selkirk House
Selkirk House
#5 of 86 in Hermanus
234 reviews
1.3 km away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 86 in Hermanus
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Von Abercron Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Von Abercron Residence

Address: 75 Fernkloof Drive | Heights, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: HK$679 - HK$882 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Von Abercron Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VON ABERCRON RESIDENCE is a 4 star luxury Guesthouse situated directly above The Hermanus Golf Course and adjacent to Fernkloof Nature Reserve with magnificent and panoramic mountain and sea views. It’s only a few minutes to the centre of Hermanus, the best place to watch whales or to the main beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Von Abercron Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing