We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed two nights in the Harbour Square part of the hotel. The room was spacious, and a unique design with the bedroom and bathroom divided by the bath. Secure parking on basement level. Breakfast was well organised, in a lovely setting, and the staff were attentive. Highly recommend the French toast! The hotel is located within minutes of several lovely restaurants, and perfect whale watching sites just across the road.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Nell2583,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our Hotel. Are staff are constantly driving to better themselves all the time and we are happy it has been fruitful. As you have mentioned the Hotel is very centrally located within walking distance of most of the restaurants and attractions. I would agree the whale watching sites around our Hotel is absolutely amazing. I hope on your next adventure you visit us again.

Kind regards,
Ryan Laaks
Host Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here as part of our Garden Route tour. The hotel is well situated close to the old harbour and onshore whale watching spots. There were many opportunities to see the whales from the coastline and we were given notice of their appearance by the local town whale crier. The town itself has a number of shops and restaurants, it was safe to walk around. Our accommodation was an excellent suite with sea views. We recommend a stop for those that want to see whales whilst traveling the Garden Route.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kirstie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Kirstie S,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be just perfect. The whales surely have been quite abundant this year, and where better to enjoy them showing off from than the comfort of our look out deck. I hope to welcome you back to my hotel next time you visit Hermanus.

Kind regards,
Ryan Laaks
Host Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Harbour House Hotel in Hermanus - Excellent excellent excellent, what a great place, staff incredibly friendly, rooms fantastic, and we had great views!
The breakfast was also amazing with generous portions.
Although the restaurant was not open for dinner this is not a problem as there are plenty of choices within a very short walking distance.
Real bonus was that although we could not go on our whale watching boat tour because of rough seas we saw loads from the coastline. Binoculars a must though!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kennokent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Kennokent,

Thank you for taking the time to review my hotel, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are fortunate to have many restaurants on our doorstep to cater for all types of cuisine and I am glad to read that you took advantage of this.

Kind regards,
Ryan Laaks
Host Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night, on our garden route trip. This hotel is just ideal. The reception and check in was good and efficient. Reception staff very helpful. We had rooms 33 and 34 and I must say they are lovely rooms. I cannot understand anyone who would have any any complaints! We managed to take some coffee capsules from previous nights stay. Thanks for heads up trip advisor.

The garden area was a great place to have a pint in the sun and watch out for whales!

Good local restaurants very close.

Breakfast was had outside, again looking at numerous whales. Great selection at breakfast!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank steveglenn56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Steveglen56

Thank you for your wonderful TripAdvisor review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our lookout terrace on perfect days is the ideal spot to enjoy a wonderful breakfast while seeing the whales. Our kitchen and restaurant staff work very hard to make sure your meals are well presented and the quality of food is of a high standard. We hope to welcome you back next time you visit Hermanus.

Kind regards,
Ryan Laaks
Host Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We stayed for 3nights here in a beautiful light and airy room with its own kitchenette, which came in very handy. An nespressomachine but you have to pay extra for the pods. However the local supermarket sells them which worked well for us. Along with some fresh milk and Mmmm we had lovely cafe latte every morning.

The breakfast was lovely with a wide selection, and you can eat on the raise outside terrace overlooking the ocean if you wish. There is a pool for your use also overlook8ng the ocean.

Parking is secure !

We had a fab stay here once again the staff were so helpful.
Would cer5ainly recommend

Room Tip: Our room at the back could see the sea, but front rooms were better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Paula W,

Thank you for wonderful comment. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your accommodation was up to your standard. We are very proud of our breakfast selection and I am glad to read that the quality was to your standard. The staff work very hard to make it as wonderful as possible and I will ensure they read your review. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Ryan Laaks
Host Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.6 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.4 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
728 reviews
0.5 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.3 km away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
3.6 km away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range: HK$953 - HK$2,007 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour House Hotel enjoys the most prominent of positions in the heart of the Old Harbour area, flanked by the seaside and the bustling centre of this holiday town. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to revel in the soothing surrounds of the ocean ahead and enjoy a lunch from Selkirk's restaurant inspired by abundant local produce and fresh ingredients, alternatively savour a sundowner from the Wine Bar in the Pavilion. Guests are offered a choice of accommodation from the historical architecture of the thatched roof seaside Manor House built in 1920, to the contemporary New Wing and Harbour Square. Rooms are luxuriously appointed with sophisticated modern décor, all within easy walking distance of the town’s top attractions, whale watching sites, markets, restaurants, street cafés and an abundance of reserved natural splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing