We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa
Ranked #20 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2017

From the time I sent an email inquiring about vacancies, until the time I checked out, the service was superb. The staff were friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble and they always had time for questions about the area. The hotel is clean and lovely, great staff from the chef who came out at breakfast time to the room cleaners and staff cleaning up around property putting the pillows away each night and bringing them out each morning. Our room was a lovely self catering unit with enough space for all to mingle around and not be too crowded. They have a turndown service so I found chocolates on my pillow each night.

The hotel is a 6 minute drive from the V&A Waterfront and a 20 minute drive to the aerial tramway for Table Mountain. The area is very central too, surrounded by tiny, narrow roads and some construction was going on next door to the hotel but it wasn’t annoying. Absolutely had a good time at the hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Just_a_normal_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2017

My husband, two teenage sons and myself stayed at Romney Park and had a great stay. We found the staff very warm and helpful and very down to earth which was refreshing! The rooms are very cosy and nicely furnished with a clean kitchen and comfortable beds. Breakfast at the restaurant was always delicious and a great way to start the day. Romney Park is set back from the beach and waterfront but its no hassle to ask reception to call a taxi for you, fair to the waterfront is 50 rand. I hope to come back again soon so I can use that beautiful bath (fingers crossed cape town gets some good rain soon)

As with any good review I do have some suggestions. I found that at night I was freezing, I know I could go down to reception to ask for a blanket but perhaps having some in the cupboards already might be a good addition. Housekeeping always seemed to be done very late, we would arrive back at roughly 430pm and our room was still being made or they would have just started which made us feel slightly awkward, Also they would sometimes forget the chocolates (petty I know, but its the little things that make hotels great) In the restaurant we often had to wait for a table to be cleared for us, not a big issue for us but others might find it tiresome.

Overall we had a fantastic stay and would highly recommend to others. Keep up the excellent work Romney Park!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MonicaJeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomneyHotel, Owner at Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good afternoon
Thank you kindly for your review of Romney Park, I sincerely appreciate the feedback as well as the constructive pointers which we need to work on...it is great to get this feedback so although we do have standards in place...we can see where we need to pull up our socks! Warm regards Susan Versfeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

This place is pretty good. Suites are spacious although we didn't really need all the paraphernalia. Location is pretty good - easy to get a taxi. Lovely quiet spot. Cheap to get to everywhere you want to go.

Breakfast amazing!
Didn't use the pool or facilities. I would recommend this. Hotel staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SurreyTravel_Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

What a fantastic surprise. From the moment that we arrived to the last goodbye.
The attention to details the cleanliness of the hotel.
The food much better than we expected. Brerakfast was more than sufficient.
The staff very acommodating and helpful. The location to restaurants and the waterfront within a 10 - 15 min. walk.
We stayed for 2 days prior to our safari and 2 days on the return.
Cannot say enough about our lovely stay in Cape Town!

Room Tip: The 4th or 5th floor will have water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Riis44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

We usually stay in the surrounding of waterfront, but this time we decided to try this hotel in Green Point due to its all-suite facilities.We were not deceived. We chose a ground floor Senator suite, which was ideal for the family, as we have 2 kids. Very cosy and clean suite. The rooms are not that spacious, esp. the kids room, but they were clean with comfy beds. we slept really well. I was impressed by the availability and cleanliness of the kitchen utensils.
If there is one thing which is certainly commendable about the hotel is its customer care. All staff we met from Reception to restaurant and cleaners were all friendly and helpful. My daughter fell sick the first day we were in Cape T. They called for an experienced Doctor who came within minutes. The Chefs prepared special meals for her. And Ahmed the Chef even came to enquire about her health. We could not really go out the first day, but my kids never felt bored, as they certainly would have been in a standard hotel room. they could watch TV in living room and use the table to do colouring. Even the veranda was very convenient and safe for them to play outside.

My suggestions for improvement would be:
1. To grease the locks in the bathrooms as they are bit hard to handle, esp. if kids lock themselves inside
2. The breakfast is nice but basic. It should be more diverse with more varieties, esp the hot meals.
3. Although the place is very safe, may be security should be enhanced. I didn't see any camera around, esp at the gate and in lobby. I don't know if there is any.
4. Given that the gate is literally on the road and that thereafter stairs lead to the entrance door of hotel, new guests have to take their luggage up themselves. There is no bell boy per se, but the staff is always willing and ready to carry the luggage for you. BUT for that they must know that you are checking in. That is why a camera is important.

The hotel does not have an impressive entrance, lobby and reception area as standard 5-star hotels, but the personalised service and cleanliness greatly outweigh these aesthetic features of other hotels. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tripMauritius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomneyHotel, General Manager at Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Good afternoon
Many thanks for your kind review of Romney Park. I am extremely glad that you enjoyed your stay and that my team including Ahmed looked after you. Thank you for your constructive feedback it is always great to have comments from a fresh perspective that we can work on. Regarding cameras, we do have these on all entrances and the lobby but for security purposes they are discreet but they are there. The reception staff should have seen your arrival and come out to assist and I will take this up at our next meeting. Thank you for your recommendation...I would be happy to assist you with your next stay at Romney Park which can be arranged @ susan@romneypark.co.za...until then warm regards Susan Versfeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.1 km away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 112 in Cape Town Central
571 reviews
2.1 km away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,807 reviews
2.3 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Dysart Boutique Hotel
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#18 of 112 in Cape Town Central
435 reviews
1.1 km away
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
#22 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,147 reviews
0.9 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa

Address: Corner of Hill & Romney Roads | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Romney Park Luxury Suites & Wellness Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: HK$1,470 - HK$2,979 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romney Park offers 30 sea facing suites, each with 1 or 2 bedrooms, private balcony, lounge/dining area and kitchenette. Hotel facilities include a restaurant, bar & spa. Free wi-fi access throughout the hotel. Awarded Best All Suite Hotel 2010 in RSA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romney Park All Hotel Cape Town Central
Romney Park All Suite Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing