We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parker Cottage(Cape Town Central)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MannaBay(Cape Town Central)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Underberg House(Cape Town Central)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rouge on Rose(Cape Town Central)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveller rating
195
171
52
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
171
52
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskloof streetbreakfast vouchersgreat locationrestaurants downstairstable mountainkitchenette arealong streetsmall kitchenettechoice of restaurantsoff street parkingrooms are hugeyour doorstepsecure parkingwithin walking distancegreat rooma great staycamps bay
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 434 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

This is a great little hotel, with a helpful staff and very nice rooms. It is within walking distance of main streets and sites as well as public transport. There are many nice restaurants nearby with a wide range of food.

They arranged airport transport and were helpful about navigating the city. The hotel was a good value for the price.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write down your positive feedback with regards to your stay with us at Hippo Hotel in Cape Town. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and experienced our exceptional staff, spacious rooms, superb restaurants for breakfast and brilliant location. We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels take you to Cape Town!

Kind Regards

Adine Perel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

Loved everything about this place! It is within walking distance to coffee shops, bars, and restaurants. The rooms are great! Spacious, quiet, modern, and clean! Breakfast vouchers for local breakfast spots are included in rate. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, Front Office Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Good Day Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding our establishment. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the comforts of your room, as well as the local restaurants.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Have a lovely day.

Carin Classen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2016

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of our South Africa vacation - what a great finish! The hotel is well located near public transport and a variety of restaurants - our favorite breakfast spot was Knead (good value covered by our hotel voucher). Cindy, Karen and Moline were all great at the front desk and help us promptly with our questions and needs. The room was spacious, and comfortable. Go to Nelson's Eye nearby for dinner - ask for Franz

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2016

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments pertaining to your recent stay at Hippo Boutique Hotel.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time spent at Hippo Boutique Hotel and the welcoming service offered, met your expectations. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon when your travels next bring you to Cape Town.
Kind Regards,
Adine Perel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

Hippo was a chance booking for the first 3 nights of our stay in Cape Town. We went to stellenbosch and franschoek for 2 days and decided to return to Cape Town. We immediately booked back at Hippo hotel since we had such a great experience. We are on our way to namibia in 2 days and couldn't wish a better place to end our trip in South Africa.

The maid service was amazing and the staff was absolutely delightful. The hotel is centrally located and the best breakfast we had was at Knead just around the corner, which is one of the 5 restaurants you have option of free breakfast at.


Definitely suggest this. Just make sure to avoid the rooms in the front if you don't want to have noisy drunk people outside your window.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mfrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write down your positive feedback with regards to your stay with us at Hippo Hotel in Cape Town. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and experienced our spacious rooms, spoilt choices of restaurants for breakfast and excellent location.
We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at Hippo Boutique Hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back when next your travels take you to Cape Town!


Regards

Adine Perel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016

We booked a front room but were given a (more expensive) back room which was large and impressive in style. The bathroom in particular was very good. The eating out option or breakfast worked very well and the front-of-house staff very friendly and helpful. No issues with noise from the downstairs bars which have worried a few reviewers. Recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have balconies, but may be noisier (from the bars downstairs).
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2016

Thank you for taking the most precious commodity, your time to write down your comments.
The Hippo team greatly appreciates your positive response to your stay at our unique stunning hotel. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and experienced our proficient staff, spacious rooms, superb restaurants for breakfast and brilliant location.

Kind Regards

Adine Perel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews