We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (620)
Filter reviews
620 results
Traveller rating
565
49
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
565
49
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel kloof street table mountain beach bag our honeymoon booking taxis quiet neighborhood little touches guest house dinner reservations lion's head great boutique the main house four nights breakfast was excellent small hotel stay in cape town
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 620 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2018

This is a tricky review in many ways. The staff here were warm and welcoming and happy to help in many ways. The property is in a nice residential area. If you do not have a car you will be getting taxis or Uber’s everywhere, such as to the waterfront and table mountain, the staff do help and get preferential uber rates which they pass onto guests, taxis are very cheap. The accomodation is acceptable but for us did not have any wow factor. The rooms were clean and comfortable although needed some tlc. The blind in the shower was broken at the top and the wardrobe doors were cheap and operated poorly. The room provided tea coffee water but after that everything was charged. On arrival it would have been nice to be offered a welcome drink water or juice and we asked if any take out food was available locally but received a really cool reply to this as if it was discouraged. The room had a tiled floor and provided bath robes but no slippers we found this odd, robe but no slippers. Breakfast was fine with options for most people. We did notice some travel company’s using this small hotel. It would have been nice to see tea and coffee in the communal lounge other than port and the 2 very small dishes of pretzels put out in the afternoon. Ultimately the hotel had the feel of a bed and breakfast for us and not a boutique hotel, the price versus value for money didn’t quite add up in our view. The pool which is very small is closed due to the drought which was fair enough. Staff were mostly helpful but on personal preference alone we wouldn’t return here, that doesn’t mean it’s not a suitable property for other travellers.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Peter1Northampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourRosmead, General Manager at Four Rosmead, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear Peter,

Thank you for your review.

I have taken a look at the blind in the bathroom and we will indeed be replacing all of them. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

May I ask what you meant by "The room provided tea coffee water but after that everything was charged"? Tea & coffee in the rooms is complimentary.

My apologies that you were not offered a welcome drink. We do normally unless we ask the guests if they would prefer to go directly to their rooms if it was a long flight.

We are in fact a Guest House not a Hotel.

We don't have self service tea and coffee in the main lounge as we prefer to serve guests. All teas & coffees are complimentary day and night.

Kind Regards

Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

Well what can we say other than great hotel. Staff fantastic nothing is to much for them they are pleased to help with local knowledge. The hotel is in full view of table mountain fantastic place well worth the visit

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jacque B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed four nights at this gem of a boutique hotel at the start of our 2 week stay. Nadine, Jade and the team were always available to offer good and helpful advice when needed or book tickets and restaurants. The hotel is in a quiet, residential area of Cape Town with Table Mountain right behind. There is not much within walking distance but that does not matter because everyone uses Uber to go everywhere anyway. We had a room upstairs with a vaulted ceiling, windows on three sides and a spacious bathroom. There was a well-stocked mini bar and lovely little touches, such as the snippets of historical information left when the beds were turned down. In the lounge, complimentary port and pretzels were always available as well as daily newspapers. Attached to the lounge an outer covered verandah overlooked a small courtyard garden laid out with sunbeds and a small splash pool (which was covered and not in use due to the water restrictions). Breakfasts were taken on the verandah. The choice was ample and of very good quality, including an excellent seeded muesli mix, individual goblets of fresh fruit and fresh avocado. Excellent bircher muesli and cooked breakfasts were available to order. Everywhere was calm, clean and tidy and I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 33judes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed this beautiful boutique hotel for four nights. Our stylish room with its own little garden was stunning. The staff were incredibly helpful when organising our trips to Table Mountain and Robben Island. Breakfasts were first class , I would def recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Cape Town

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TollyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

Four Rosmead is quite simply one the best boutique style hotels that we have ever stayed in. The location is excellent on the slopes of Table Mountain but within easy walking distance (Uber back at bright) of several good restaurants. The hotel is stylish and comfortable although unfortunately the serious water shortage affecting Cape Town meant that the pool was unusable.
What hover makes this place outstanding is the support provided to all guests by the team of managers who could not do enough to ensure that our visit to Cape Town was enjoyable and went smoothly.
When we return we wouldn’t dream of staying anywhere else.
Nadine, Jade and Sonja, thank you very much!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gerald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews