We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb accommodation, outstanding staff and great location for visiting Cape Town”
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #5 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2017

My husband and I have just returned from South Africa and spent 3 nights at Blackheath Lodge. It was a joy to stay there. Our room was very comfortable, lovely bed linen, very quiet, very spacious room and en suite .The public spaces were really well appointed and interesting. There is no room minibar but the bar area is really cosy.Breakfast was delicious. But most of all the staff are incredible, very friendly and went out of their way, arranging airport transport, taxis, booking restaurants etc. Antony and Charle are lovely people but we would like to give a special thanks to Karin. Having stayed there, we called back at the hotel on our way to the airport having stayed in Hermanus and Karin was so very welcoming and let us leave our bags there and have a shower etc before we went to catch our late night flight back to the airport. Can't praise this hotel enough.
Also they have a great hotel in Hermanus - we did not stay there as we had the use of a friend's house but we would definitely stay at Black Heath Lodge Sea Point and One Marine Drive Hermanus when we visit SA again.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony T, Owner at Blackheath Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Susan - we are looking forward to welcoming you to both properties next time ! We all enjoyed having you stay with us. Have a great year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,902)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 1,902 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2017

We had a loft room. It had 2 king size beds and a kitchen area and was spacious. You had to be careful not to hit your head on the the sloping bits. There was no bath but it had a large wet room with a wonderful shower. There was loads of draws, and hanging space. The best bit of all was the veranda - OMG it had a sofa, table and chairs and a shower and 2 sunbeds. Unfortunately the weather was OK but not good enough for a bikini and we were so busy sightseeing we hardly used it. The staff were amazing and everybody was so helpful. Inside the room they have you an ipad to use and also a phone which had useful numbers, however we didn't use them. The staff were very attentive and I would really recommend a stay here. I wish we had booked for longer. Breakfast was freshly cooked after you ordered it and was excellent. I can't fault it. Although it is a 10 minutes walk from V & A, I liked the area and the Hop on and Hop off bus was a few minutes away. We recommend.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank juliaelizabethann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony T, Owner at Blackheath Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay in the Loft Suite with it's private veranda and great views! Look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

Outstanding B&B. We felt at home the minute we walked in the door. I’ve traveled all over the world & the Blackheath lodge is at the top. The staff was absolutely amazing Charle & Karin took such great care. The rooms, meals and poolside was a perfect way to start a South African trip. Everyone went out of their way to be helpful. I would HIGHLY recommend your first stop in Cape Town. You’ll love Little Coco too.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ctarrtarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony T, Owner at Blackheath Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Wow - lovely words, thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

This hotel ticks all the right boxes; location, friendliness, service, design, food, etc, etc
There cannot be a more ideal location to stay in Cape Town. All the staff are so friendly and the location is perfect wherever you intend to visit during your stay here. A special shout out to our encourageable member of staff, who was absent when we left, for all your advise, delivery of wine + cheeseboard & compliments! An unforgettable stay, we'll be back xxx

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank janemuir51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony T, Owner at Blackheath Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jane - we are all so proud that we 'tick all the right boxes' - thanks for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

Fantastic on absolutely all fronts.
This is a small(ish) guest house in the very convenient area of sea point - a short taxi ride from all the excellent restaurants in central Cape Town (see my other reviews).
But it’s the people and the tiny details that make this place so special.
Nothing was too much trouble including them making me a regular cup of tea in the afternoon when there’s a help yourself tea area around the corner (that I didn’t notice until i saw the cake!). There’s suntan cream put out, there’s the super breakfasts, there’s the taxi calling, the restaurant recommendations - the list goes on.
It was lovely sitting in their little bar before going out to dinner.
We also used their recommended guide for a trip to cape point - it was excellent.
We also hired their cabriolet for a trip up to the wine lands which was great.
We wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again and would recommend it to anyone going to Cape Town.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank wendyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony T, Owner at Blackheath Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Wendy - thanks for your next review - much appreciated and look forward to welcoming you back to BHL and 1MD !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,461 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,843 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 112 in Cape Town Central
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
682 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,336 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: HK$1,430 - HK$2,790 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing