We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blackheath Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Ritz Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Centurion All Suite Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The One 8 Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antrim Villa(Green Point)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winchester Mansions(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Premier Hotel Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spring Tide Inn(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,931)
Filter reviews
1,931 results
Traveller rating
1,780
131
14
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,780
131
14
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmobile phonesea pointhome away from homedvd playerrestaurant recommendationsthe entire staffstay in cape townsouth africalittle touchescape pointbreakfast was deliciousour honeymoondinner reservationspersonal servicewestern capelovely roomcamps bay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 1,931 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2017

We had a loft room. It had 2 king size beds and a kitchen area and was spacious. You had to be careful not to hit your head on the the sloping bits. There was no bath but it had a large wet room with a wonderful shower. There was loads of draws, and hanging space. The best bit of all was the veranda - OMG it had a sofa, table and chairs and a shower and 2 sunbeds. Unfortunately the weather was OK but not good enough for a bikini and we were so busy sightseeing we hardly used it. The staff were amazing and everybody was so helpful. Inside the room they have you an ipad to use and also a phone which had useful numbers, however we didn't use them. The staff were very attentive and I would really recommend a stay here. I wish we had booked for longer. Breakfast was freshly cooked after you ordered it and was excellent. I can't fault it. Although it is a 10 minutes walk from V & A, I liked the area and the Hop on and Hop off bus was a few minutes away. We recommend.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 2
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank juliaelizabethann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony T, Owner at Blackheath Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay in the Loft Suite with it's private veranda and great views! Look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

Outstanding B&B. We felt at home the minute we walked in the door. I’ve traveled all over the world & the Blackheath lodge is at the top. The staff was absolutely amazing Charle & Karin took such great care. The rooms, meals and poolside was a perfect way to start a South African trip. Everyone went out of their way to be helpful. I would HIGHLY recommend your first stop in Cape Town. You’ll love Little Coco too.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ctarrtarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony T, Owner at Blackheath Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Wow - lovely words, thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

This hotel ticks all the right boxes; location, friendliness, service, design, food, etc, etc
There cannot be a more ideal location to stay in Cape Town. All the staff are so friendly and the location is perfect wherever you intend to visit during your stay here. A special shout out to our encourageable member of staff, who was absent when we left, for all your advise, delivery of wine + cheeseboard & compliments! An unforgettable stay, we'll be back xxx

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank janemuir51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony T, Owner at Blackheath Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Hi Jane - we are all so proud that we 'tick all the right boxes' - thanks for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

Fantastic on absolutely all fronts.
This is a small(ish) guest house in the very convenient area of sea point - a short taxi ride from all the excellent restaurants in central Cape Town (see my other reviews).
But it’s the people and the tiny details that make this place so special.
Nothing was too much trouble including them making me a regular cup of tea in the afternoon when there’s a help yourself tea area around the corner (that I didn’t notice until i saw the cake!). There’s suntan cream put out, there’s the super breakfasts, there’s the taxi calling, the restaurant recommendations - the list goes on.
It was lovely sitting in their little bar before going out to dinner.
We also used their recommended guide for a trip to cape point - it was excellent.
We also hired their cabriolet for a trip up to the wine lands which was great.
We wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again and would recommend it to anyone going to Cape Town.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank wendyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony T, Owner at Blackheath Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Hi Wendy - thanks for your next review - much appreciated and look forward to welcoming you back to BHL and 1MD !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

We where Here First Time about 6 year ago, and fel in love with this beautiful Diamond in Capetown!
To come back year After year is like coming home, the total Hospitality and Care taking of us clients is amazing. You always know What we need before we ask it❤️❤️❤️ just love to stay Here!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Markkujsaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony T, Owner at Blackheath Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Hi Markku & Hakan - it's lovely to be known as the 'beautiful Diamond in Capetown' - come back for some more spoiling !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews