We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveller rating
86
208
127
27
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
208
127
27
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong streetcentral locationadderley streetbreakfast is servedbudget hotelthe hotel is cleanview of table mountainbus stopwalking distancestayed here for nightsconvention centercomfortable stayvisit cape townspacious roomwater frontwaterfrontmyciti
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 478 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2016

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Initially we had a booking for 4 nights at this place. i only said yes for this hotel seeing its locations. its centrally located in the heart of Capetown. many transport and food options nearby. firstly this hotel doesn't have its own restaurant and bar. so no room service is available in the rooms. the lift and corridors was also very scary. the bathrooms are also very outdated with separate taps for hot and cold water. in the time of checking the receptionist Mr. zahir gave us a set of instructions we had to follow. our tour guide was also not allowed in the room. the receptionist was too rude in talking to him too. after staying for one night we immediately checked out of this property. the management also cut a lot from our money. totally annoyed with their service. for breakfast also u had to walk all the way to the next building. totally uncomfortable. the place for breakfast is located in the next very crowded building. i don't recommend anyone this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shabbir117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear Shabbir117,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel following your recent stay with us. We were very saddened to read the review as there seem to be a few incorrect details stipulated in the review itself. We received your reservation on the day before your arrival from the travel agent. Upon arrival, we noted that one of your guests were in a wheelchair which was not communicated to us in which case we would have provided you with our Disabled Room. We received feedback from the travel agent the next morning, that difficulty is being experienced in using our bathroom by your guest to which we agreed that we will affect a refund to your agent and allow you to depart after the one night stay as we did not have our Disabled Room available as of this day. Never at any stage did you or any of your guests advise us that you were unhappy with the hotel. We therefore only charged you for the one night's stay and refunded the remaining balance to your agent in order to allow you to book alternative accommodation more suitable for the needs of everyone in the party. All details regarding the hotel was confirmed to your travel agent upon receipt of the reservation with our Reservation Confirmation. It does appear that none of it was communicated to you in return. In addition, we were astonished to read in your review that you perceived Zahir as rude as he is known to be one of our best.

We are therefore extremely regretful that you did not enjoy your stay with us, however, tried our best to assist from our side.

Kind regards.
Yolanda Prinsloo
General Manager
Hotel on St Georges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Room Tip: Good views of Table Mountain from some rooms, ask at reception
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Hotel on St George is decent hotel, modest but clean. Breakfast buffet is nice, excellent choice. Not in Hotel, but just around corner, few meters away.

On an ideal place in the city centre. Everything is at your fingertips. Waterfront is easy walking distance of 20 min. Other city attraction is even closer.

Hotel staff is maximum courteous and pleasant. Rooms neat and clean. Bathroom also, neat and clean.

Furniture modest, but I did not mind. They are all up for the exceptional professionalism and warmth.

In any case, my strong recommendation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
Thank Vladimir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear Vladimir S

Thank you very much for your fantastic review of our hotel following your recent stay with us!

It is comments such as yours that we strive for and to which we measure our performance in terms of our service standards to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in future.

Warmest regards.
Yolanda Prinsloo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews