We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views”
Review of MannaBay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
MannaBay
Ranked #2 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2017

We did not know what to expect but when we arrived we were blown away by how cool the hotel was. The views of Capetown from our room ( black and white room) were incredible. I loved that the hotel provided transfers for guests to and from dinner or a night out. Very nice perk of staying here. The neighborhood is quiet which we enjoyed after being out and about all day it was nice to come back to place that was peaceful! The service from the staff was on point! Highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannabayManagement, General Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Margaret R,

What a splendid review, thank you!

We do pride ourselves on our location, and you can't beat the views, especially from the Black & White room. With Table Mountain as our backyard, it really is a special spot in Cape Town. I'm happy you enjoyed the dinner transfers, it is our pleasure to get you comfortably to and from the restaurants.
And our staff are truly amazing, all credit to them. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Stretton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2017

My husband and I stayed here on our last night in Cape Town, and I am so glad we did! The hotel is just stunning - the rooms are beautiful and the views are amazing. We stayed in the Orchid room and loved our view of Table Mountain. The hotel had a congratulatory mini bottle of champagne in the room when we arrived, which we really appreciated. The high tea was delicious, and there are plenty of beautiful places to sit and enjoy the tea/food. All of the staff members were very gracious and helpful. We didn't feel like leaving for dinner, so they helped us order delivery food and then set up a candlelight table for us in the dining room, it was so peaceful and relaxing. The breakfast the next morning was the best we had in Cape Town - I am going to reach out separately and beg for their oatmeal+fruit compote recipe :) The complimentary airport transfer was also greatly appreciated. I would absolutely stay at MannaBay again if possible!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Camille D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannabayManagement, General Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Camille D,

Wow, thank you for your wonderful comments and high praise! Although Orchid is one of our smaller rooms, it is also one of my favourite as the decor is beautiful and the view of the mountain spectacular.
I'm happy you enjoyed the champagne, a small touch to acknowledge your special occasion. When you celebrate one of your many anniversaries to come, you must stay longer next time!
You only had one night, so it was a delight for us to make it really special and I'm happy you enjoyed the evening and night views of the city. It is all the little extras that make the experience at MannaBay special and I'd like to thank you for highlighting them here.

Kind regards,
Stretton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

Once an amazing family home, this tiny hotel has amazing views of the city and is nestled beneath Table Mountain. The rooms have fabulous decor and are huge. A very special hotel for one or two nights. Afternoon tea, with freshly baked cakes and savouries is a special treat and included in the price.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lesley-Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannabayManagement, General Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Lesley-Ann M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay, it was a pleasure having you. I think being a smaller hotel helps make the experience even more special and intimate, and with so much to do in Cape Town, one or two nights might just be too short!

The MannaBay family looks forward to welcoming you back to our home.

Warm regards,
Stretton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon and can’t think of enough amazing things to say about MannaBay. We stayed in the Versailles Room which was both huge and gorgeous with incredible views of the city (and a second bed outside on the porch to enjoy them!). The staff was amazing and available to help with anything we needed both at the hotel and around the city. Make sure to save an appetite for the delicious spread at afternoon tea every day! We will definitely be back.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannabayManagement, General Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear David B,

Thank you for your awesome review. Our Versailles Suite is probably one of the best rooms in Cape Town, with unbeatable views as you say. We appreciate your compliments about our staff; we are truly blessed with a fantastic team. And you're right about the High Tea - it is very difficult to hold back when such delightful treats are prepared daily by our chefs.

I do hope you will be back, as it will only be a pleasure to have you stay with us again.

Best regards,
Stretton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

I was recommended the High tea service at Manna Bay and decided to give it a try. The property itself is stunning, well kept and had breath taking views. Attentive staff, Including a personal welcome from the manager. Vegetarian options were prepared when we indicated our dietary restrictions, which was impressive. The selection felt more like afternoon tea, rather than High tea, however, that was easily forgiven considering the service and views.
I would definitely recommend.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank sherezam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannabayManagement, General Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear sherezam,

It was such a pleasure hosting you for High Tea recently. We are blessed with a fantastic location and the property itself as you rightly say is beautiful. However the one thing we are most proud of is our staff, and I am happy to hear you had a wonderful experience.

Thank you for coming and for your positive review; we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Stretton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,460 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#6 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,900 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#5 of 112 in Cape Town Central
564 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,129 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MannaBay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MannaBay

Address: 8 Bridle Road | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: HK$4,311 - HK$5,203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MannaBay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can't get much closer to Table Mountain than this... In the heart of Cape Town, MannaBay has just eight uniquely designed suites that set the bar for contemporary luxury. From this prime setting on the border of the Table Mountain National Park with suites becoming of Persian Princes, Orchid Hunters and Heroic Explorers alike, you can experience the Mother City in sheer comfort and privacy, with a team of friendly staff dedicated to making every guest's experience as special as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your MannaBay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing