We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury restaurant that compliments the hotel”
Review of Ginja

Ginja
Ranked #49 of 1,113 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Description: Ginja caters to guests of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel as well as other patrons. A stone’s throw from the water’s edge in the heart of the V&A Waterfront, the restaurant exudes a wonderful atmosphere, enhanced by its contemporary interior and superb views of Table Mountain. The menu comprises a wide selection of dishes, inspired by various cuisine styles, to satisfy all palates, a true reflection of the chef’s talent. The spectacular setting encourages guests to savour the moment to the fullest, whether they are enjoying a cup of coffee and cake with colleagues, a meal with family, or a sundowner with friends. Native Espresso Bar, within the restaurant, further offers a sensational coffee fix and on-the-go baguettes for breakfast or lunch.
Restaurant details
Description: Ginja caters to guests of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel as well as other patrons. A stone’s throw from the water’s edge in the heart of the V&A Waterfront, the restaurant exudes a wonderful atmosphere, enhanced by its contemporary interior and superb views of Table Mountain. The menu comprises a wide selection of dishes, inspired by various cuisine styles, to satisfy all palates, a true reflection of the chef’s talent. The spectacular setting encourages guests to savour the moment to the fullest, whether they are enjoying a cup of coffee and cake with colleagues, a meal with family, or a sundowner with friends. Native Espresso Bar, within the restaurant, further offers a sensational coffee fix and on-the-go baguettes for breakfast or lunch.
Reviewed 22 February 2021

We had breakfast in Ginja every day during our stay at the Victoria & Alfred Hotel.
The Harvest table is fabulous and the cooked breakfast menu really delicious.
We were very well taken care of - I must mention Clint our waiter who served us every day for the period we were there and even when we were not sitting in his section, he went out of his way to make sure we got everything we needed - we really looked forward to breakfast every morning - will definitely return.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hermfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad Elario, Other at Ginja, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2021

Dear Hermfish

Thank you for your very informative and positive review, we do appreciate it very much. We are happy to hear that we have made your breakfast experience a memorable one, this coupled with the exceptional service you received from Clint. We will be sure to inform him of this positive review.

Please do join us again in the near future.
Kind regards
Chad Elario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2021

We decided to dine at Ginja restaurant based on the beautiful setting and proximity to the Harbour. The food left much to be desired. The menu is limited to begin with. The line fish was bland, lacked flavour and seasoning. The Korean chicken was salty. The burger was full of onions, patty was dry and relish also did not taste nice.

Overall the food was not good value for money at all and quite honestly not up to standard in comparison with the hotel

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank tebogom902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad Elario, Other at Ginja, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2021

Good day Tebogo M

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your experience at Ginja restaurant. We are sad to hear that the meals were not to your liking. We have since discussed your experience with our chef regarding the dislikes as we do take such reviews very seriously. Our chef has assured us that the recipes have remained unchanged and consistent. The Wagyu burger is a dish that comes with a suggestive temperature, which is either medium rare, or medium. Any temperature above the recommendation will be dry as all the fat will have cooked out of the patty.
We do hope that in the near future, you will give us another try.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2020

With such beautiful view its overtly dissappinting to experience a staff member (waiter) that was, arrogant, aggressive and rude in the manner of he's approach.

The waiter was unprofessional, making it vehemently clear that hotel guests get treated very differently to walk in guest. Poor customer service.

After discussing the incident with senior management who seems to be resting(over confident) on the notion(illusion) that they have been running the business for 27 years with "exemplary" service.

Suggestion: train all your staff members to treat all guests(walk in and in house) equally, instead of segregating them, both your staff and guests. . Sort it out from the Top Down.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Luis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad Elario, Other at Ginja, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2020

Dear Luis G.
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review the overtly dissappinting (sic) experience you had with one of our team members on Christmas Day when you were advised that the restaurant was closed to non-hotel residents for breakfast. You were advised that our other eatery on the premises, Native Espresso Bar was open to outside guests and were asked to please join us there, where a number of other non-residents were enjoying the food & beverages on offer coupled with our unsurpassed and uninterrupted views of Table Mountain overlooking the working harbour. It was completely your choice not to do so and leave.
Then choosing to review Ginja as a poor value and poor food establishment appears to be odd particularly as our General Manager, Andy Nold, spoke to you at length on the telephone and committed to review the CCTV footage of the alleged incident later in the day when the fully booked Christmas Lunch celebrations were over, he said he would get back to you that evening or the following day. Minutes later you sent an SMS thanking Andy Nold for his time and to “please not bother with wasting your time with the video footage”, then going on to allude that team behaviour, attitude and customer service to be a top down issue and after referring to the current global situation, continued by saying “nine out of ten times it is a top down issue” and ended of by saying “All the best wishes for today and the future. Kind regards, Luis”
We are proud of being the first hotel to open its doors in the Waterfront exactly 30 years ago, since then have traded without a break through the good and bad times and our tens of thousands of excellent reviews must be balanced against the few when customers and guests were not completely satisfied as this is the nature of our business if not all businesses worldwide.
Once again thank you for your feedback and suggestions Luis, hopefully we can prove to you that the positive starts right now and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ginja in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Chad Elario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2020 via mobile

Cheese corn was exceptional! Service and all food was excellent! Sat outside and watched the clouds roll over table mountain- beautiful!

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank quentonmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad Elario, Other at Ginja, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2020

Dear quentonmarty

Thank you kindly for your five star review, we greatly appreciate it. We are really glad that the service and food was excellent and we are fortunate to have the best view in Cape Town.
Please do visit us again soon.

Kind regards
Chad Elario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2020 via mobile

Had a delicious pink lady and cosmopolitan cocktail while watching the world go by. The sirloin steak was great. The KGC chicken not so much - it was almost too salty to eat.
Staff were friendly.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank KarooChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad Elario, Other at Ginja, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2020

Dear KarooChick

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and of your experience of Ginja, we do appreciate it. We will look into what you are saying regarding the salty taste of the Korean Fried Chicken. What I can say regarding the matter is that it can be the soya sauce reduction which forms the base of the teriyaki sauce that we coat the chicken with, after it has bee fried.
We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Chad Elario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ginja also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Ginja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.