We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff are always so well dressed, service is great most of the times”
Review of Ginja

Ginja
Ranked #49 of 1,113 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Description: Ginja caters to guests of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel as well as other patrons. A stone’s throw from the water’s edge in the heart of the V&A Waterfront, the restaurant exudes a wonderful atmosphere, enhanced by its contemporary interior and superb views of Table Mountain. The menu comprises a wide selection of dishes, inspired by various cuisine styles, to satisfy all palates, a true reflection of the chef’s talent. The spectacular setting encourages guests to savour the moment to the fullest, whether they are enjoying a cup of coffee and cake with colleagues, a meal with family, or a sundowner with friends. Native Espresso Bar, within the restaurant, further offers a sensational coffee fix and on-the-go baguettes for breakfast or lunch.
Restaurant details
Description: Ginja caters to guests of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel as well as other patrons. A stone’s throw from the water’s edge in the heart of the V&A Waterfront, the restaurant exudes a wonderful atmosphere, enhanced by its contemporary interior and superb views of Table Mountain. The menu comprises a wide selection of dishes, inspired by various cuisine styles, to satisfy all palates, a true reflection of the chef’s talent. The spectacular setting encourages guests to savour the moment to the fullest, whether they are enjoying a cup of coffee and cake with colleagues, a meal with family, or a sundowner with friends. Native Espresso Bar, within the restaurant, further offers a sensational coffee fix and on-the-go baguettes for breakfast or lunch.
Reviewed 23 January 2020

staff are always so well dressed, service is great most of the times... haven't eaten in here , at the end is Native coffee shop all the same fish place .. always had great service and fine coffee .. yesterday wednesday 22nd January 2020 stopped for 3 long Island Iced Teas.. they were a little more pricey but you are on the water front and they tasted great .. getting staffs attention was difficult at times.. will be going back

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
Thank rockie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GinjaRestaurant, Manager at Ginja, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2020

Dear Rocky03

Thank you for taking the time to write this five star review. We do appreciate it. We are are happy to hear that you always receive great service and fine coffee and i am sure that this is the reason for the five star review as i see that upon your last visit, our staff were not as attentive as they should be, so thank you for that and for making us aware.
We will continue to work on all areas to better the guest experience.

Please do visit again.


Kind regards
Chad Elario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 50 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2020 via mobile

Excellent value and good quality R750 for two. Couldn’t eat it all. Lovely king prawns,squid,hake and sardines. Excellent service from Chad the Manager and Junior our waiter.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank B5070ADyvonneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GinjaRestaurant, Manager at Ginja, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2020

Dear B5070Dyvnneh

Thank you kindly for writing us this five star review, we do appreciate it. It was a pleasure to host you sir. I will definitely pass on the compliment to Junior. I think TripAdvisor has three pages dedicated to him already.

Please do visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards
Chad Elario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2020

This bar has the best barman who has superwide knowledge of Gins. It was a priviledge to listen and taste different South African gins and to dive in the world of gins.
Roy, you are super talented barman! You are always welcome to taste also our world winning gins into the cold north.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Mscarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GinjaRestaurant, Manager at Ginja, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2020

Dear Mscarin

Wow, thank you for such a great compliment. We are just glad to see that our guests realise it as well. We do have very talented barman. Barman whom will go that extra mile to satisfy their guests needs. Roy has vast knowledge of probably every gin that you have heard of and he loves conversing with his guests about it.
We will definitely pass on this wonderful compliment to him, so again, thank you.

Kind regards
Chad Elario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2020 via mobile

Staff very friendly and engaging. Please ant ambiance. Felt chairs were a bit low for the tables. Service very good. A reasonable menu choice with well presented and good quality food. We had beef fillets and they were excellent. Compared to other eateries in Cape Town, this one was connected to a hotel - and the pricing reflected that.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Roaming21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GinjaRestaurant, Manager at Ginja, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2020

Dear Roaming 21

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear that our staff have given you the service that you deserve and that you found the food to be of good quality.
We only use the freshest produce and we only use karan beef which is of to quality.

Please do join us again in the near future.

Kind regards
Chad Elario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2020 via mobile

Our 3rd time in CPT. Sustainably returning to this restaurant and V&A hotel.
Amazing food. The best breakfast, the best view of Table mountain !
Staff is very helpful. Special appreciation to Clint for a great service and great memory - recognizes us every 6 months))

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank thewhiphand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GinjaRestaurant, Manager at Ginja, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2020

Dear vouliez

Thank you kindly for your wonderful five star review. It looks like we met with your expectations all round which is great to know as this is what we are striving to achieve. Service is E-motion.
We will be glad to pass on the compliment to Clint as well as our chefs.

Please do join us again soon.

Kind regards
Chad Elario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ginja also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Ginja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.