We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,211)
Filter reviews
1,211 results
Traveller rating
1,044
129
24
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,044
129
24
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea point gay friendly hotel the penthouse pool area nespresso machine welcome drink special thanks car hire the general manager breakfast was amazing our honeymoon hot breakfast camps bay fantastic hotel cape point standard room personal service
Filter
Updating list...
480 - 485 of 1,211 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2016

We stayed for a week at The Glen in February and highly recommend it. Service is clearly King/Queen here and everyone, from the maintenance crew and waiting staff to the front desk and management, has a smile on their face and is eager to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

We stayed in Room 1 in the main house, which is beautiful and large (more like a suite), with a private terrace. You can occasionally hear people in the outdoor dining area from the room, but this is only a problem if it's in the early hours of the morning! It is a lovely room containing everything you could wish for. Our travelling companion stayed in Room 10, next to the Spa, and heard nothing. Ever. The entire hotel is beautifully decorated, with some lovely designer touches.

Breakfast is superb - so much on offer, hot and cold, and all included in the price of the room. It's a leisurely affair and rightly so, so if you need to be in and out in a jiffy stick to the extensive self-service breakfast buffet. We lunched by the pool occasionally (great wraps), but generally went out for supper, as there are so many good places to eat in Cape Town.

We hired the hotel's Mini John Cooper Works for two days to tour around the vineyards and the Cape. It's all singing, all dancing, incredibly powerful and has GPS. We wanted to take it home with us - recommended!

The hotel's location feels very safe and it is ideally situated off High Level for walking into town, to the amazing V&A Waterfront (restaurants, shops, bars, outdoor activities, beach...) or for taking a taxi to Camps Bay (we recommend The Hussar for supper), the Botanical Gardens or elsewhere. Taxis are inexpensive, so we more or less cabbed it everywhere when in town.

All in all, our stay was relaxing and too short and we shall all endeavour to stay at The Glen again. Thanks for looking after us, guys.

Room Tip: The rooms are al beautiful, but if you need quiet, don't choose a poolside room.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank KJGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeSetchell, Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Dear KJGC,

What a pleasure it was to read such a lovely review! It's so great to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. You clearly made use of all our facilities, The Mini John Cooper Works is really an amazing piece of machinery! Those who hire this vehicle quite often take it out again and again! rest assured, we'll have it fuelled, sparkling and waiting for your return! Keep well guys and hope to see you soon :-)

All the very best,
Joe & The Glen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016

We stayed at this hotel for six nights at high season and had a well appointed and comfortable ground floor, double room with a view from the window of Lion's Head. We were right next to the terrace where food is served outside and so could hear noisy folk outside but they went to bed and overall the hotel is quiet. It is what it says on the tin - it is small and intimate and that little bit more quirky than a big chain hotel. It is located perhaps 600 metres from the beach and 400 metres from the main street of Sea Point, with its shops and restaurants. There is free parking, either in a small gated space at the front or in an underground car park at the back and security seems good. The staff were all friendly and helpful, wi fi is free (charges for wi fi is one of my pet hates). There is a pretty pool but it is more of the plunge pool variety than one where you go for a meaningful swim - but that is true of 95% of hotels. The buffet breakfast was varied and suited me well.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BAF_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeSetchell, Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2016

Dear BAF_52,

Thank you for your kind review, we're thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Glen and even more pleased to hear you'll definitely be back! Looking forward to it :-) Until then keep well!

All the best,
Joe & The Glen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016

I could go on and on about this place but lets keep it simple.....

Every positive comment you have read is true and the few negative comments are surely outliers because after a four day stay at the Glen my wife and I are positive that Mark and Frederick do not accept anything less than comfortable and welcoming perfection.

Mark has built an incredible staff based on ownership and it shows. Every employee there cares about both the guests and the hotel. It's a rare and welcome experience to stay at a place that automatically makes you feel at home and a part of the family.

Must do;
1. Drink the "Truth" coffee. I've never heard of it before, but this will be one of the best coffees you've ever drank.
2. Have a Margarita and/or a Mojita at the poolside bar. No matter where we were during our sightseeing my wife and I could not wait to get back to the pool and have an M & M.
3. Take a wine tour with Faisal......guaranteed to be a highlight of your trip. For that matter, get to know Faisal as he has many wonderful suggestions.

Hope that was simple enough. You will not go wrong if you stay at the Glen Boutique.

Ciao for now,
S & K

Room Tip: Room 2 was a nice room....quiet and slightly secluded from the pool.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steviemain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeSetchell, Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2016

Dear Steviemain,

What a beautiful review, you're a true gent! From Truth coffee, to refreshing margarita's... winelands tours with Faizel to simply relaxing poolside - you really nailed the perfect day from start to finish! We hope to see you back with us soon! Until next time!

All the best,
Joe & The Glen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016

On arrival we received a warm friendly welcomed by your staff (Abigale, Cilla) and were shown to our room. Much to our surprise we were upgraded to Room 7, the room was perfectly clean, beautifully decorated and the shower enormous with Rain products that I actually used (hotel shampoos can be shocking).

The massage I received from Desmond was the best massage I have ever had in Cape Town. The temperature, ambiance and music created in the spa was exactly what one expects when needing to relax. We both agreed we will definitely be back .

And lastly, breakfast was at an international standard but not with the international prices normally associated with hotel breakfasts.

Room Tip: Room 7, ground floor, next to pool, spa but still quiet and private.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeSetchell, Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2016

Dear Hilary I,

What a fantastic review! I have just shared your lovely feedback with Desmond and the Team, who like me, are delighted with your kind words :-) Thank you for making our morning Hilary! We look forward to welcoming you both back and making some more memories for you to cherish :-)

All the best,
Joe & The Glen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

I booked my fiance and I into a suite for our last night in SA. We'd traveled from PE, to Grahamstown to St Francis to Prince Albert to Pringle Bay and ended up here. It was a great place to unwind, indulge and relax.

I also booked us both into the SPA for a full body massage - which was a lovely end to the day, after which we were handed a complimentary glass of champagne. A lovely touch.

Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly and the room was superb. They'd thought of everything.

Room Tip: Room 1 is superb.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JamesHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeSetchell, Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2016

Dear JamesHarrison,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're thrilled you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and more so, made use of our fantastic Spa treatment and Valentines Special! We hope to see you again soon for a longer stay :-) until then, keep well!

All the best,
Joe & The Glen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews