We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,036)
Filter reviews
1,036 results
Traveller rating
926
51
28
14
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
926
51
28
14
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsatlantic viewpineapple suiteother guestsrange roverattention to detailbreakfast trayrock roomcape townevery eveningsunset suitetable mountaininfinity poolcomplimentary wineour honeymoonthe penthousemaster bedroomcape point
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 1,036 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2018

Having visited the Atlantic View a couple of years ago we already knew what a special place this was,and, as our daughter was getting married in a South Africa, we had a perfectly good excuse to fly down and once again enjoy the very special hospitality that we have only ever experienced here.
This time our son and daughter came with us and they too were blown away by the hotel as well as the spectacular location.Although some members of staff had changed, owner Greg has managed to maintain a world class team now headed up by new GM Jean who could not do enough for us.
Our personalised tours (with the fantastic guide Mansur) were fantastic days, and the hotels own fleet of luxury cars (always on call) made getting around town to all the recommended restaurants extremely easy.
The accommodation: what can I say? Not only were we given the penthouse suite but we even had our own name plate on the door! Attention to detail is everything here; from stunning breakfasts every morning to wonderful sundowners in the lounge before heading out in the evenings.
Bad points? Only having to leave at the end of the week ,we wanted to stay much longer!
To anyone thinking of going here;don’t think, just book! We are now busy planning on returning next year.Huge thanks Greg to you and you team.

Room Tip: Go for sea view rooms ;amazing view!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ickinglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

Why do we keep going back? That's a good question. We travel quite widely and enjoy new places. But there is something lovely about finding somewhere special that draws us back. There's nothing worse, in my view, than trying somewhere else for the sake of it and being disappointed. Well, there is nothing disappointing about the Atlantic View. We have stayed three times now and have already booked to stay next February.

Cape Town is a beautiful city; one of the most beautiful in the world, in my opinion. And although there is so much to see and do, the Atlantic Seaboard is a special part of the city, with endless sea views, sunsets and accessibility to the V & A waterfront, the City Centre and Constantia, the Winelands and futher afield. So, where to stay on the Seaboard? That is a matter of choice. For me, Camps Bay has the clear edge, so where to stay in Camps Bay? We prefer smaller hotels, so we stayed at POD the year before our first visit to the Altantic View. I wouldn't put you off if you like trendy architecture, quirky rooms and excellent service from lovely staff. But for us, the lack of space around the pool and partial sea views, caused us to try the Altantic View. That was a good call.

It's up the hill some way, above Camps Bay Drive, so out of the noise and bustle of the "strip". We love the restaurants on the strip, but it's great to dip and and dip out again. And that is made so easy by the hotel's fleet of three Mercedes cars and a Range Rover at your beck and call. Space around the pool? Make that two pools, both solar heated where each of the five rooms and four suites have two designated sunbeds. The view is breathtaking and a great way to take it in is to enjoy the complimentary sundowners and canapes each evening when you can meet your fellow guests - many of whom are also repeat visitors. An excellent breakfast is also included, but the chef will provide lunch or dinner of a high standard on request. And the staff Wesley, Andrew, Jean and all the others, are wonderful and can't do enough for you.

The owner, Greg Boki, has an obsessive approach to quality, keeping his finger on the pulse from wherever he is - in the hotel, or in the USA or the UK. This comes across in other reviews, where there has been the odd run in. All I can say is that I welcome such an approach - it shows in the quality of the experience. And as I said when beginning this review, we've booked again for next February. Actions speak louder than words! An exceptional place.

Room Tip: Sea facing obviously best and the suites, better still
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JohnEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

It is called Atlanticview for a reason. From our balcony we could see the beach, Lions Head , and Table Mountain. The facility is glamorous divided into four suites and I think four rooms. All are exceptional with the suites having a few more amenities. Our penthouse suite was the “top.” The experienced staff, most with over ten years at Atlanticview, catered to our every need. Our drivers and tour guide were great, knowledgeable, and very comfortable. Use of their shuttle service and tours, while perhaps slightly more expensive, is well worth the cost.
The vehicles are Mercedes and Land Rovers. The owner Greg, lives in the US and will work out any details. He has done a great job developing his staff.

Stayed: April 2018
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

I like to express a huge thank you again to the owner Greg and all crew of the Atlantic View Hotel, that made our stay so unique! The Infinity Suite and the view over Camps Bay and Lions Head is breathtaking, the breakfast has been one of the best I ever had and the Boutique Hotel proves great attentional to detail and fantastic taste in style / interior design. The service was outstanding and the Sunset Festivities (complimentary wine tasting and canapés) are a such a nice gesture of the hotel and opportunity to get to know other guests and the lovely hotel crew.

Greg, Andrew and the whole team: South Africa has been amazing and your Atlantic View Hotel contributed a lot to an unforgettable journey! I cannot wait to come back and to hopefully be able to stay in your beautiful Boutique Hotel v. soon again.

Alex x

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Before Arriving: I sent a few questions to the hotel and was responded to within 15 minutes by the owner. He was very friendly and without asking upgraded us for the remaining few nights of our stay. It was greatly appreciated but the hotel is so beautiful you really would be happy in any of the rooms.

Location: Hands up when we arrived I thought we made a big mistake on the location. For some reason I had it in my head it was on the beach front, it is a very short and cheap uber ride to the seafront. We realised when we went to camps bay on the first night that the location of the hotel is a gold mine. It is nestled in a safe neighbourhood at the base of Table Mountain. The hotel looks down onto camps bay and provides the most stunning views, seriously breath taking.

Hotel: The hotel is stunning and everything is immaculate, high praise indeed from a self-confessed clean freak. We stayed in two rooms, upgraded on the last half of our stay. Both rooms where beautiful and ridiculously comfortable. The breakfasts are amazing and not to missed. Fresh juice, amazing coffee and jesus the omelettes! There is a guest happy hour between 7-9pm every night with different local wines and canapes.

Tours: We were hesitant to book the tour initially as the cost is a lot higher than the tour buses. We decided to treat ourselves because we wanted to create a bespoke itinerary no tour bus could accomodate by condensing Cape point, boulders beach and some wine tasting. We came home that night so glad we did. The guide, was amazing and did everything to make sure we enjoyed our day. He was really knowledgeable and knows all the good vineyards.

Staff: I research hotels a lot on tripadvisor before booking anywhere. What I don’t think any of the reviews have raved about enough is the staff. We are fortunate enough to enjoy luxury holidays but never have we ever encountered staff like this. It is very clear there is a family feel to staff. They couldn’t be more helpful, welcoming and genuine, but not in a fake way that you get in so many hotels. We wanted to go to dinner at a specific restaurant after a friend’s recommendation, unaware you have to be a guest to eat there, Pieter got us a table and when we arrived at we were told it was the only time they had let non-guests dine there. Our last day we asked what time check out was as we worried about faffing around for the day and they arranged a late check out for us to make sure we enjoyed our last day stress free. The staff are the true unsung heroes and each and every one of them truly made this one of the best holidays we have ever enjoyed.

Room Tip: All of them!
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aideen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews