We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place in Sea Point”
Review of Villa Sunshine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Sunshine
Ranked #2 of 7 Bantry Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2016

Everything you could want in a guesthouse. Comfortable, bright & airy, quiet & relaxed, spotlessly clean, nice decor, a pool, top notch service (thank you Jarryd) and really great value.
It's in Sea Point which is a great part of Cape Town. Good for food, Clifton Beaches, Lion's Head.
Recommended!

Room Tip: Upstairs (3 rooms) is nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 52countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 May 2016

Thank you so much for the review, I like to make my responses personal but I see you have no name or even a hint in your username - but I have a feeling I know who you are.

Thank you for the special mention to our cleanliness and service we really do take a lot of pride in what we do here at Villa Sunshine. We are very fortunate to be so close to great restaurants, it is so convenient to our guests. Clifton beaches just a 4 minute car ride to the left of us, with the popular Camps bay beach just on the other side of Clifton and V&A waterfront 10 minute car ride to the right of us, we are very blessed.

Next time you come down, we should look at sending you on a few tours around Cape Town, we have a wonderful wine region which us as locals love exploring, and the Cape Point tour where you stand on the tip of Afrika and see where the two oceans meet as well as visit the penguin colony exclusive to Boulders beach. Next time, weather permitting, you coud also take a nice relaxing ferry out to Robben Island where Nelson Mandela was held as a prisoner and take part in the Island tour before sailing back and having a nice dinner in the V&A Waterfront. - I can arrange all these tours for you right here at the guest house - but we will wait for next time because I know you come down for Afrika Burn every year and hope you will come and spend at least more than 2 days with us next time.

Once again Anthony, thank you for staying with Villa Sunshine and thank you for the kind review - at least you are approaching your summer season in the UK now.

Kind Regards
Jarryd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2016

Nice studio with little garden near the Beaches And the ocean. Sea point is a really lovely, quiet And safe Area to stay for Holiday! Not convenient to collect the Keys If you arrive after 6 PM....
We recommend plante africa!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank S8806WPjulieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016

We found Villa Sunshine to be very good value for money in a good location in the Seapoint/Bantry Bay border. Friendly and helpful staff. It is comfortable and clean with a beautiful view from our upstairs room.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 342bradk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 May 2016

Hi Brad,

Thank you for your review and thank you and Taryn for staying with us as well as Andrew, we were more than happy to accommodate you and you were all such a pleasure to have at our property,

We do hope that next time though, you all will want to stay a little longer than you did this time around,

Safe Travels,
Jarryd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016

The place is beautiful located in a safe and quite neighbourhood. The room and balconies are mazing. Amazing staff members. The place is closer to most restaurants and other entertainment areas. Street parking not so great though

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank margareta454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 May 2016

Hi Margaret,

Thank you for the review and thank you for choosing to stay at Villa Sunshine, We are very happy to have built our guest house in such a quiet and safe neighbourhood and we strive to make sure each guest feels as safe and comfortable as possible.

It is rather convenient for us to be within a few steps of great places for dinner, as well as great places for breakfast.

I do hope that next time you visit us you will not be here for work, I remember helping you with transforming your room into a mini office at one stage.
Once again thank you for staying with us and we hope that you return to us soon.

Kindest Regards
Jarryd
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016

The staff were very helpful and service minded. Good overall hospitality.
I feel more can be given for the rate paid, for ex breakfast included
Better signposts on all outside walls of the property - so as when you arrive from another street - you will be able to see the Guest house.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EcoTraining_ET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 May 2016

Thank you so much for these kind words, I am happy that Michael and I were able to assist you on your travels.

I would like to point out that Villa Sunshine actually has 2 Road Signs, 1 on the corner of Kings road and the other on the corner of Rochester road, we also have 1 massive sign on the wall in Rochester road as well as a massive sign on the wall in Kings road, but we are happy that you found the guest house and were able to have a relaxing few days with us, even though it was short, before heading off to your next destination. - The reason we don't include breakfast in our rate is for the longer staying guests who want to go out for breakfast some mornings, as you know we are mere steps away from some of the great breakfast bistro's Sea-point has to offer - I will mention that it was the guests feedback that drove us to exclude breakfast from our rate and if it is current guest feedback that drives us to have breakfast inclusive, then that is what we will do as we take guest feedback very seriously.

We do hope you return to us in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Jarryd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
0.2 km away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
1,048 reviews
0.2 km away
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bantry Bay
303 reviews
0.7 km away
Mojo Hotel
Mojo Hotel
#113 of 201 in Cape Town
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#24 of 110 in Cape Town Central
533 reviews
0.4 km away
Compass House
Compass House
#6 of 6 in Bantry Bay
228 reviews
1.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#69 of 110 in Cape Town Central
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sunshine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sunshine

Address: 1 Rochester Road, Bantry Bay 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry Bay
Price Range: HK$531 - HK$1,366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sunshine 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Sunshine is a perfect base from which to explore Cape Town. The city centre; Table Mountain, The V&A Waterfront and the International Convention Centre are all within a 5km radius. Beaches and Restaurants are within walking distance. Our 7 en-suite rooms are exquisitely furnished, equipped with all the necessary amenities to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Our rates also include a delicious continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Sunshine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing