We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
212
41
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
41
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock house plunge pool keepers cottage morning game drive lodge manager self catering cottage the main house stunning setting walking trails amazing location fully equipped kitchen we loved our stay the cottages the reserve heaven on earth relaxing weekend ideal place
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely location and quiet remote but if you like to walk, bike or just chill this is one for the list. Dined in the main lodge first night which was all excellent and then went back to self catering (Braai) for the last two nights. Staff service was excellent. Only issue is the road in to the property is rough....but hey that’s Africa! Forgot to mention the Zebra that came to visit us on the first morning.....

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank pmj1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomjachuBushRetreat, Owner at Tomjachu Bush Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us here at Tomjachu.
Thank you for your comment on the roads - due to the rainy season our roads do become rough sometimes, but we make every effort to keep them in a driveable condition for our guests.
We hope you will visit again soon.

From the team at Tomjachu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

We had a wonderful stay at Tomjachu - helpful staff, delicious food and wonderful surroundings. The best place to unwind and recharge the batteries. We loved it and can't wait to fo back. Great walking on the farm - it is full of lots of different birds and animals. We saw newly born Impala amongst many others

Room tip: All the cottages are first rate
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank janie410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomjachuBushRetreat, Owner at Tomjachu Bush Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Janie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. It was such a pleasure to have you here at Tomjachu, and we hope you will be back again soon.

From all the team at Tomjachu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

We spend 7 nights at Tomjachu and loved it. Some other guests didn’t book that long and regretted it. Tomjachu is a fantastic place for both singles, couples and families. The property is beautifull and you can choose to do guided tours (walking or driving) with ex-photographer and conservation enthousiast Jack, or stroll/mountainbike around yourself to observe the animals. The pool is overseeing the property allowing you to relax with a great view. With Kruger Malelane gate only 45 minutes away, it is a convenient location to explore the park from. Flanked by lovely host Cheryl, chef Vuyo prepares fantastic breakfasts and dinners everyday. I don’t say it often, but this is a place that I would like to come back to and can recommend to anyone.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Vera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomjachuBushRetreat, Owner at Tomjachu Bush Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Vera and Bart,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review, we greatly appreciate it. It was a great pleasure to have you both to stay with us at Tomjachu, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
You will have to come back soon for the rematch of Netherlands and UK on the golf course! We hope that we will see you again in the future!

From all of us at Tomjachu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

I had a very good stay at Tomjachu bush retreat. It really lives up to its name of being a bush retreat as the location is overlooking unspoiled bush veld and offers breathtaking views.
A highlight for me was the walks in the bush which you can do unaccompanied or together with one of the very knowledgeable rangers. Here you will experience an enchanting world of unique fynbos, indigenous trees, game and abundant bird life. The staff work together in a very coordinated fashion and are most friendly, so much so, that before long one finds oneself almost a part of the team that run the place!
Any supplementary travel arrangements one may require, e.g. transfers to the lodge, is done very willingly & competently by the lodge manager.
The cuisine great and is professionally presented in keeping with the authenticity of this very special place.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank nkrone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomjachuBushRetreat, Owner at Tomjachu Bush Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Nick,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate your feedback, and are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us here. We are so pleased you felt at home here, even part of the family! We certainly feel that Tomjachu is a place which is good for the soul, and we were delighted to share it with you.

We hope to see you again soon,
From the team at Tomjachu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Our expectation was that this was a bush retreat, but driving there we were briefly concerned that we were in the suburbs of Nelspruit. However after turning a corner and a short drive on a dirt road we were completely immersed in nature - in the bush and very quiet. The welcome, the service, the food, and the accommodations were all outstanding. Best of all we could go walking and bike riding in the bush with buck, zebra, giraffe and a wide variety of birds all around. Cheryl, Jack and the team are amazing, and Buffy the ostrich may be there to welcome you also. Highly recommended - a beautiful nature escape a short drive from town and the airport.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank grhers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomjachuBushRetreat, Owner at Tomjachu Bush Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Our proximity to Nelspruit can be deceptive for sure, but we are incredibly lucky with our location, surrounded by the bush, with unbroken views all the way to the Kruger - my grandfather chose the site well I think!
Buffy is still pecking the windows and has recently discovered the doorbell..! It was a pleasure to have you to stay with us and we hope that we will see you again before too long.

Thakn you from all the team at Tomjachu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews