We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
118
18
7
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
18
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssauna and jacuzziselection of winesincredible foodthe main houseafrican winesbeautiful gardenrose petalssitting roomfull body massagehidden awaystayed longerthree nightspanorama routeblyde river canyonlucindaavocadosuite
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Highgrove, the staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. The location is great, would be nice to see the view from the rooms.Lucinda the Manager/ Hostess is there for your every need.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 628premb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Highgrove House. Your positive comments with regard to The TEAM certainly motivates them.

I understand your comment about the view and know that the Macadamia trees have grown significally over the past years. We will try and open certain areas near the balcony of the suites which are affected.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Highgrove in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017

We very much enjoyed this special place which was beautifully furnished and appointed. Each suite of rooms was just as one would want it, if one could afford it, with all facilities provided to a tee. The communal areas were of the same calibre and the service and food was of a very high standard which both my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed. I doubt if you intend to go to this area that you could get anywhere better situated and of the standard we experienced. This was all complimented by very accommodating staff and management. If we were to go back we would not go anywhere else. An easy drive to all major tourist venues makes Highgrove House a must for tourists such as us. Bob Cooke Northern Ireland

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Highgrove House. It is clear that you both have a natural appreciation of antiques, attention to detail and fine cuisine, therefore we are pleased that we met your expectations. Your positive comments are passed on to the entire TEAM.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Highgrove HOuse when you visit our beautiful country in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

Could be a really nice hotel with a bit of an update. Great location for visiting both Kruger park and the panoramic route.
Very friendly staff in a beautiful location. But everything felt a little dated and the lack of air conditioning in certain areas (in particular the dinning room) made some areas very uncomfortable to sit in. The rooms were clean and the sheets and towels of good quality but not sure it deserves the 5* title. Food was ok but not amazing, especially when compared to other places we have eaten in South Africa.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank mmeola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Highgrove House. We strive for service excellence and your positive comments with this regard certainly assist in motivating our TEAM.

Updates are an ongoing process for all areas of the hotel and we source various antiques and Persians thoughout the year and within keeping to the 'Colonial' feel of the hotel. The main Manor House is kept as authentic as possible. We do apologise for the airconditioner in the dining area, but we are in the process of rectifying this. We are graded 5 star under the category of 'Country House' and therefore cannot be compared to huge, modern, city hotels.

We offer country cuisine and the ingredients are sourced locally and from our own garden and are prepared by our in-house Chefs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful area soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016

On our arrival to the guesthouse, we were very excited for the next install meant to our honeymoon! We had just come from a few days safari in Kruger national park. We were greeted promptly by a member of staff who didn't really seem to know how to check guests in, whilst talking us through the running of the hotel and features of the room, she didn't seem to remember anything and was just walking around the room pointing at things.

That evening we wanted to just relax and chill out after a manic week, however, the pool was green in colour and full of leaves and dead bugs, not only on top from frequent wind but debris was coating the floor of the pool, the room was dated, tired and very musty smelling.

The pillows and bedding particularly smell musty, however the mattress itself was very comfortable. None the less we had a reasonable nights sleep.

The next morning after a big nights storm, we realised quickly that there was no water or electricity. Therefore meaning we could not wash or have a shower before we left the room. At first we were understanding, we are on the edge of the mountain, and had just had a big storm after all.

However, when we returned 9 hours later, there was still no electricity. We were told the night before by the owner that we should not worry because there was a generator, so of course we didn't, assuming the power would return shortly. Around 2 hours later I asked at reception what was going to happen?

After having to move around the room and then to outside trying to find light to read our books, no less that 3 hours later I again went to reception to ask what was happening. I was then told -quite possibly accidentally by the owner- that they hadn't yet turned the generator on, therefore meaning we were sat in our room, on our honeymoon, in darkness for 3 hours! We couldn't even relax in the pool because of the lack of cleanliness and state of it.

With regards to the food, the standard was not up to a 5* standard! You were very restricted with what you could eat, with only being able to choose your main course from two options. When we initially came down for dinner we were joined by the owner... who didn't leave us pretty much all night, which don't get me wrong was friendly and hospitable, but remember we were on our honeymoon! No private chat!

I should add that the staff were brilliant and tried their best, service at dinner was good. They obviously knew what they were doing.

The only reason we didn't consider moving is because we thought we could put up with it for just our 2 night stay. After now staying in our 5th hotel of the trip, I know for a fact that Highgrove was nowhere near the 5* standard of all of the hotels we have stayed in. The owner of the establishment was very knowledgeable and friendly, but possibly deluded about the quality of her property.

I wouldn't recommend the place to anybody of the younger generation or on their honeymoon! I will without a shadow of a doubt say it was the worst 2 nights of our 3 week trip away!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Thank you for taking time to review Highgrove House. Thank you for your positive comments with regards to the service as this certainly motivates the TEAM.

We did unfortunately have a bad lightening storm which was totally out of our control and this, in turn, destroyed the borehole pump and hit the electriicty connection of the generator. As the whole area was affected, we were in the hands of the technicians who were busy repairing numerous breakdowns. Your visit was during our peak rainy season.

Highgrove House is a 'Colonial' hotel with antiques and Persians thoughout. The main Manor House is kept as authentic as possible. We are graded 5 star under the category of 'Country House' and therefore cannot be compared to huge, modern, city hotels and feel that perhaps a more modern hotel would have been more suitable for you. We must point out though that we have had numerous, younger generation stay on honeymoon, and all have provided us with very positive complements.

We offer country cuisine with a table d'hote menu and the ingredients are sourced locally and from our own garden and are prepared by our in-house Chefs.

Highgrove House wishes you a fantastic future together and would certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016

A unique place situated in a lush garden, furnished with English antiques. The 5 course dinner is well prepared and tasty! The spa is excellent!!!!
The only problem is the street which is a big problem in case it is raining! We got stuck and needed the help of a tractor to get out!!
Overall we liked the place and can recommend it !!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Edith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Highgrove House. We really appreciate
it and your positive comments are passed to the TEAM which certainly motivates them.

We are glad you enjoyed the setting and furniture, you clearly do appreciate the finer things in life.

We do apologise about the road, but as it belongs to the Department of Forestry, we rely on them to maintain it for us. You also arrived during our very rainy peak season.

Highgrove House looks forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful country soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews