We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden of Eden”
Review of Highgrove House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Highgrove House
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Hidden in a beautiful, hilly scenery of forests and agricultural land about 1 mile from the main road from Hazyview to White River, this classic, victorian stylish boutique hotel offers much more than a room to sleep. We were welcomed by a perfect host, Lucinda who was both very professional and friendly and helpful. The whole staff was lovely. The hotel is situated in a beautiful garden with lovely trees, flowers, ... .The rooms are very spacy, with living room, bedroom and lovely bath room. The rooms are in fact small lovely houses surrounding the central part of the garden. The whole atmosphere is a very peaceful and quiet one. If we had the time, we could have staid there for at least a week. Breakfast is superb and dinner delicious and gastronomic. Thanks for such a Paradise on earth.

Room Tip: all rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happyfourGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time and effort to write your review, we really appreciate it. We are really glad you enjoyed the peaceful, lush setting and individual suites. The gardeners work extremely hard and take pride in their work so that guests may enjoy the beautiful surroundings. We have passed your positive comments to the entire TEAM and especially, Lucinda.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future - for at least a week!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2016

This was a wonderful stay. Location was relatively close to Krugar Park and Sabi Sands where we ended up going to after here. Close to Hoedspruit for ballooning and Blyde Canyon sights and waterfalls. Very close to Elephant Whispers. Should have own or arranged transportation to fully take care of the location. Would most definitely stay here again if in the area.
Pros:
Beautiful rooms done in a more classical style
Very friendly staff
Our package included both breakfast and dinners. Food very well done. Selections are cooked to order from menu. Dinner was a five-course meal.
Very beautiful grounds.

Cons:
It is about 8 miles from Hazy view but is on Google Maps so we had no problems getting there. You must travel half a mile? On a well maintained dirt road which most cars should be able to handle.

Room Tip: Dinner was included
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FamilyWth3Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Thank you for your positive review. We are really thrilled that you stayed with us to enjoy the surrounds of the area. We certainly do have a great deal of activities nearby and glad you enjoyed them.

I have passed on your positive comments to the chefs with regards to the meals you experienced during your stay- they really love their work and do it with passion and feel great pride when people enjoy it. Really happy the staff met your expectations for service.

As we are on a working Macadamia nut and avocado farm, one has to travel on the dirt road, but we do endeavour to keep it well maintained for most cars.

We certainly look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We travel a great deal - it is easy for me to say that Highgrove House is a very special place. Great attention to detail for all the finishings, but also the same level of attention to the service. All in a beautiful setting. We were there for two nights, but I would have loved it to have been more ! You can tell the owner stays very involved in the property. Very well done on what she has created there.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review with Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass on your compliments to the entire TEAM! As the owner, I am very proud of Highgrove and my entire staff and glad we could share this piece of paradise with you. We are looking forward to your next visit - hopefully this will be soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We stopped in for just one night en route to Timbavati game reserve and were bowled over by the characterful charm of this sympathetically refurbed old farm house. The setting is exquisite and our family suite massive with a separate lounge, balcony (veranda), huge en-suite with an outdoor shower. Food was outstanding.

I have no hesitation giving a 5* rating for a 5* establishment. One little niggle was the service was a little too attentive at times. Our evening meal was unnecessarily interrupted a couple of times to check we were OK. I freely admit I did not raise it with management during our visit as it's being somewhat nit-picky.

Wish we had stayed longer. The walk through the grounds was great after a long-ish day travelling.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and all your expectations were met. We value your comments on the service during dinner and this will be addressed. Your positive comments will be passed on to our TEAM. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for a longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Absolutely stunning spot with incredible facilities and staff that looked after every inch of our stay and made it the perfect evening. The room was exceptional and beyond our wildest dreams. Amazing food and incredible hospitality. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michelleaF2382WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
12.3 km away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
14.6 km away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
14.1 km away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
10.5 km away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#8 of 13 in Hazyview
306 reviews
13.6 km away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highgrove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highgrove House

Address: 1 Highgrove Ave | Off R40 between Hazyview and Whiteriver, Hazyview 1241, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Hazyview
Price Range: HK$2,528 - HK$3,433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Highgrove House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overview The original Colonial Farmstead constructed around 1893 and renovated and revamped in 1988, when the exquisite accommodation suites were constructed and the Country House opened it's doors in 1991.Situated on a Avocado & Macadamia Farm and surrounded by Forest.Aged Jacaranda trees provide an enchanting entrance avenue. Fine collection of antiques and Persian carpets adorns the reception rooms, warmed by crackling fires when winter's chill sets in. Location Highgrove House is onlt 20 minutes drive to Kruger national Park, 15 km away from Hazyview. Close by Private Game Reserves in the Sabi Sands including Londolozi and Mala Mala, Notten's Camp. Highgrove House is an ideal base for day excursions to the Panorama Route and all the romantic waterfalls. Climate Highgrove is ideally situated at 860 meters above sea level and so avoids the really intense heat and humidity that can sometimes be experienced in lowveld during the summer months. Accommodation: Limited to 17 guests. No children under 10 years. All individual suites are spacious and have veranda's overlooking the scenery and orchards. Maximum privacy is offered in expansive garden surrounds. Executive Orchard Suites: - Two - sleeps 2 each - King beds • Private Saunas • Outside Shower • Private Pool • Private Garden • Mini bar • Tea trays with selection of teas/coffee • Home-baked biscuits/biscotti • Fresh fruit and flowers • Fireplaces • Hairdryers • Large bath sheets • Toweling Bath Gowns • Goose down duvets inner • Egyptian cotton • Current Magazines/books • Complimentary Sherry Decanter • Charlotte Rhys guest amenities • Air- conditioning • Overhead fan • CD player and selection of CD's • Safe • Internet access - WiFi free of charge at manor house and gazebo Luxury Suites: - Six - 12 Guests - 2 twin/4 King (1 twin fits extra bed 3 sharing) • Fireplace • Hairdryer • Large bath sheets • Toweling Bath Gowns • Goose down duvets inner • Egyptian cotton • Current Magazines/books • Tea trays with selection of teas/coffee • Home-baked biscuits/biscotti • Complimentary Sherry Decanter • Charlotte Rhys guest amenities • Air-conditioning • Overhead fans • CD Player and selection of CD's • Safe • Internet access - WiFi free of charge at manor house and gazebo Membership/Accolades: • Highgrove House is 5 Star graded (updated yearly in September) with the Tourism Grading Council of SA • Rated 'Highly Commended' Superior Accommodation with the AA Travel Guides and American Express Accommodation awards Program (winner of 2014 service award) and Lilezela award 2013 • Member of Chaine des Rotisseurs Association Mondiale de la Gastronomie • Member of the Low veld Tourism Board • BnB Insurance • Exclusive Getaways • Portfolio Collection • Fedhasa - Federated Hotel Association of SA • RASA - top ten restaurant in our category 2013 • SA Venues • World Luxury Hotel Awards nominee 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Highgrove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing