We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Highgrove House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
aha Casa do Sol(Hazyview)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aan de Vliet(Hazyview)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Machai Lodge(Hazyview)
View Hotel
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
110
17
7
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
17
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmacadamia nut treessauna and jacuzzismall luxury hotelselection of winesservice excellencethe main househighest standardrooms are beautifully decoratedsabi sandsafrican wineshidden awaypeace and quietbeautiful gardenfull body massagesitting rooman unforgettable experiencesuperb food
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2016

This was a wonderful stay. Location was relatively close to Krugar Park and Sabi Sands where we ended up going to after here. Close to Hoedspruit for ballooning and Blyde Canyon sights and waterfalls. Very close to Elephant Whispers. Should have own or arranged transportation to fully take care of the location. Would most definitely stay here again if in the area.
Pros:
Beautiful rooms done in a more classical style
Very friendly staff
Our package included both breakfast and dinners. Food very well done. Selections are cooked to order from menu. Dinner was a five-course meal.
Very beautiful grounds.

Cons:
It is about 8 miles from Hazy view but is on Google Maps so we had no problems getting there. You must travel half a mile? On a well maintained dirt road which most cars should be able to handle.

Room Tip: Dinner was included
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FamilyWth3Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Thank you for your positive review. We are really thrilled that you stayed with us to enjoy the surrounds of the area. We certainly do have a great deal of activities nearby and glad you enjoyed them.

I have passed on your positive comments to the chefs with regards to the meals you experienced during your stay- they really love their work and do it with passion and feel great pride when people enjoy it. Really happy the staff met your expectations for service.

As we are on a working Macadamia nut and avocado farm, one has to travel on the dirt road, but we do endeavour to keep it well maintained for most cars.

We certainly look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We travel a great deal - it is easy for me to say that Highgrove House is a very special place. Great attention to detail for all the finishings, but also the same level of attention to the service. All in a beautiful setting. We were there for two nights, but I would have loved it to have been more ! You can tell the owner stays very involved in the property. Very well done on what she has created there.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review with Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass on your compliments to the entire TEAM! As the owner, I am very proud of Highgrove and my entire staff and glad we could share this piece of paradise with you. We are looking forward to your next visit - hopefully this will be soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We stopped in for just one night en route to Timbavati game reserve and were bowled over by the characterful charm of this sympathetically refurbed old farm house. The setting is exquisite and our family suite massive with a separate lounge, balcony (veranda), huge en-suite with an outdoor shower. Food was outstanding.

I have no hesitation giving a 5* rating for a 5* establishment. One little niggle was the service was a little too attentive at times. Our evening meal was unnecessarily interrupted a couple of times to check we were OK. I freely admit I did not raise it with management during our visit as it's being somewhat nit-picky.

Wish we had stayed longer. The walk through the grounds was great after a long-ish day travelling.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and all your expectations were met. We value your comments on the service during dinner and this will be addressed. Your positive comments will be passed on to our TEAM. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for a longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Absolutely stunning spot with incredible facilities and staff that looked after every inch of our stay and made it the perfect evening. The room was exceptional and beyond our wildest dreams. Amazing food and incredible hospitality. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michelleaF2382WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our 2 night stay at Highgrove. We arrived late due to problems at the SA/MOZ border and where afraid we would not make it in time for dinner. Lucinda the Assistant Manager had dinner ready in our room in front of the fireplace upon our arrival; it’s these details that make a difference.
My wife used the Spa and enjoyed her experience very much. The rooms are very well appointed, the fireplace smokes beautifully. I must also congratulate the Chef as the food was also excellent. Very good value for money. Well done Highgrove team. A special thank you to Lucinda and Mr. Cossa at the Restaurant and Bar.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diogo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews