We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The one and only!”
Review of LORD PRAWN

LORD PRAWN
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Lord Prawn has been family run along with an amazing team of loyal and conscientious staff members, some of which have been at Lord Prawn since the start. At Lord Prawn we strive to constantly serve the best quality of food at a reasonable price but with a genuine want to please our customers and in turn build strong customer relationships and add to our Prawn family!
Reviewed 11 June 2021 via mobile

We went to this restaurant twice during our stay in Umhlanga this week. On both occasions we sat out on the deck - both were windy evenings but we found the setup to be comfortable with good social distancing. The food at this establishment is consistently good (we were there in March and found that they had kept up their standards), staff were attentive and overall good service. No hesitation in recommending.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank johnN7556ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lord Prawn, General Manager at LORD PRAWN, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2021

Dear John,

Was a pleasure meeting you guys, the corner table on the deck is lovely. Thank you for the kind words. See you soon.

Warm regards
Lord Prawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2021 via mobile

We had a fabulous dinner. Service was quick and the food was delicious. We had Prawns for mains and it was the best we ever had. The restaurant comes highly recommended.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Monique_za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lord Prawn, Owner at LORD PRAWN, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2021

Thank you for the review and kind words.
See you soon.

Warm regards
Lord prawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2021 via mobile

We went looking for something different than the usual fish eatery. The food was great and the drinks was on point. Even though the food was great, the food service took longer to take your order than it did to prepare. So the restaurant isn’t for the hasty.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank Collective S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2021 via mobile

We have always been a fan of this restaurant but were disappointed at the price of the food. The lacklustre setting and average food does not warrant the prices on the menu. We feel resentful paying high prices for meagre meals.

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank AndreanaOchse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lord Prawn, General Manager at LORD PRAWN, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2021

Dear AndreanaOchse,

Thank you for the review.

Our Quality and Quantity of our food still the same, unfortunately seafood prices increased harshly and we had to adjust our prices, since our last increase 14 months ago. Most of our customers understand, and complimented us on keeping the same standard.

Kind Regards

Lord Prawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2021 via mobile

We had a very good time and the food was very good, just needed a bit more flavor on the lobster and prawns but elsewise very good..

I must say the service was excellent most probably the best in Umhlanga..

Well done a keep it up..

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank JWMare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lord Prawn, General Manager at LORD PRAWN, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2021

Good day,

Thank you for the kind words and 4 star.

We grill the seafood in Lemon butter, you can then flavour it further with our 3 sauces that come with it, Peri Peri, Garlic butter and Lemon Butter.

Warm regards
Gerhard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed LORD PRAWN also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to LORD PRAWN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.