We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$81
Hotels.comUS$81
ExpediaUS$81
Trip.comUS$82
Agoda.comUS$81
TripadvisorUS$81
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
92
179
89
27
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
92
179
89
27
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gateway mall microwave and fridge location is ideal modern hotel the hotel offers south africa comfortable stay umhlanga leisure kzn
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 412 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2020 via mobile

I was very skeptic about visiting this property after reading reviews. This hotel proved me wrong and now I know not to base a decision on what others say. From the moment we checked in with my family we were welcomed with a smile and my younger sisters and brother greeted and not ignored like in other hotels. The breakfast was better than we had expected and the hotel really tries to follow the covid protocols. Reception staff is friendly and the restaurant staff serves with a smile. Emmanuel I think was friendly and the food was good. I will be back

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CharlesD0582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2020 via mobile

Six weeks of vacationing in South Africa, equated to a whole host of lodging option! We experienced hotels, both large and small, quaint inns and small charming B&B’s, and after doing so The Protea Hotel Fire and Ice, located in Umhlanga Ridge, just north of Durban, South Africa, gets our vote for the lodging option delivering the BEST VALUE, or as one might say, THE MOST BANG FOR THE BUCK! It appears to be a newer Marriott property and while my partner and I don’t typically stay in large international chain properties we did this time, and WOW, WHAT A PLEASANT SURPRISE! . Check in was simple, a front desk attendant, professional and pleasant as could be! A quick look around and it was very apparent that someone did a very tasteful, nicely harmonized throughout, beautiful job, with the decor! A lot of smart choices regarding serviceability, wear and tear! Best of all, the room itself had EVERYTHING a traveler could want or need for a totally comfortable stay. Conveniently located USB ports on each side of the bed, as well a third located on a writing desk. (No need to unplug a lamp in search of an electrical outlet for phone charging, and no need to have to brought along an international electric converter plug. Great bedside lighting, making reading in bed both easy and possible! A spacious room, with really comfortable king size bed, a small furnished kitchenette, with mini refrigerator, microwave, fully stocked with everything needed for morning in room coffee or tea, plenty of storage for suit cases, a closet with hanging space, shelves for storage,too. In room room safe. A very nice bathroom , both tub and shower, nice bathroom amenities! A small outside patio with 2 comfortable chairs.. The hotel offers A REALLY NICE large dining room with wonderful full service breakfast, includes an extensive buffet, at just an additional $10- $15 . Really nice bar, a comfortable lounge , an outdoor swimming pool.
All places considered, for a room rate of just under $100. US dollars, no question about it PROTEA HOTEL, FIRE AND ICE, delivers exceptional value, indeed, A WHOLE LOT OF BANG FOR THE BUCK!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank dalejohnson2994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2020

We spent our last night of a 20 day tour through KZN at this hotel. What we wanted was a large room where we could sort out our luggage before the flight, a quiet night's sleep and the vicinity of restaurants, shops and the airport. The hotel certainly delivered all of that! Reception staff were attentive, competent and very friendly and we enjoyed our large double room (549). True, the room was definitely lacking in style and atmosphere - a bit of colour and some pictures might have helped, but if you want practical and convenient, this is your place.
Nice bar area and two pools, one on the ground floor and a smaller one on the top deck with a nice view.
It is an easy and safe walk to the beach promenade with lots of restaurants and cafes on the way. And for those in need of retail therapy: the Gateway Mall is just across from the hotel with endless shopping options.
I would happily stay there again in the future.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank tingasiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2020

This really is quite a dated hotel. Check in was very slow, and as previously mentioned you have to pay when you check in. This causes pain for expenses so I asked if I could skip this, which they reluctantly allowed. I will not be back.

Date of stay: March 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank spencermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHURDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Durban Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2020

Dear Spencermit,

Thank you for taking the time to let us have feedback with regards to your recent stay. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the discomfort caused and be assured that the matter has received our urgent attention.

Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance to you.

Sincerely,
Nomonde Mkhabela
Guest Relations Liaison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2020

The hotel was refurbished in 2018/19 and inexplicably since this time has decided to charge the full amount of the stay at the time of check-in. There is no option to pre-authorise a credit card and this behaviour matches that of low budget hotels and motels. It is not typical of Marriotts at this price point in my experience. It is then impossible to charge meals / drinks to the room.
Beware the carpark as the reception staff constantly forget to issue the exit card leading to delays when leaving. I have had constant issues across 3 separate stays with air conditioning and have had to switch rooms as there is no on site maintenance.
The staff is made up of people who struggle at times with English which is very unusual in SA.
There is a strong desire from the management to solve problems but they keep on coming.
The location is ideal but I have decided not to compromise any further and will not stay again until they stop pre charging my card - it simply is not the behaviour of an international business hotel.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank WhySlamDoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHURDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Durban Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

Dear Valued GUEST,

Thank you for taking the time to let us have feedback with regards to your recent stay.

Meeting and exceeding GUESTS expectations can only be achieved through efficient and friendly, personalized service. Your comments, together with others we receive are being analyzed and will be instrumental in helping us to maintain and improve, where necessary, our standards of service and facilities.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any disappointment you experienced. Your feedback certainly does not reflect the high standard of service that we at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Umhlanga Ridge are usually proud to offer.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to Umhlanga Ridge.

Sincerely,
Nomonde Mkhabela
Guest Relations Liaison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews