We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Expedia
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Trip.com
FindHotel
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
92
179
89
27
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
92
179
89
27
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gateway mall microwave and fridge location is ideal modern hotel the hotel offers south africa comfortable stay umhlanga leisure kzn
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 412 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2020

This really is quite a dated hotel. Check in was very slow, and as previously mentioned you have to pay when you check in. This causes pain for expenses so I asked if I could skip this, which they reluctantly allowed. I will not be back.

Date of stay: March 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank spencermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHURDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Durban Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2020

Dear Spencermit,

Thank you for taking the time to let us have feedback with regards to your recent stay. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the discomfort caused and be assured that the matter has received our urgent attention.

Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance to you.

Sincerely,
Nomonde Mkhabela
Guest Relations Liaison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2020

The hotel was refurbished in 2018/19 and inexplicably since this time has decided to charge the full amount of the stay at the time of check-in. There is no option to pre-authorise a credit card and this behaviour matches that of low budget hotels and motels. It is not typical of Marriotts at this price point in my experience. It is then impossible to charge meals / drinks to the room.
Beware the carpark as the reception staff constantly forget to issue the exit card leading to delays when leaving. I have had constant issues across 3 separate stays with air conditioning and have had to switch rooms as there is no on site maintenance.
The staff is made up of people who struggle at times with English which is very unusual in SA.
There is a strong desire from the management to solve problems but they keep on coming.
The location is ideal but I have decided not to compromise any further and will not stay again until they stop pre charging my card - it simply is not the behaviour of an international business hotel.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank WhySlamDoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHURDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Durban Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

Dear Valued GUEST,

Thank you for taking the time to let us have feedback with regards to your recent stay.

Meeting and exceeding GUESTS expectations can only be achieved through efficient and friendly, personalized service. Your comments, together with others we receive are being analyzed and will be instrumental in helping us to maintain and improve, where necessary, our standards of service and facilities.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any disappointment you experienced. Your feedback certainly does not reflect the high standard of service that we at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Umhlanga Ridge are usually proud to offer.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to Umhlanga Ridge.

Sincerely,
Nomonde Mkhabela
Guest Relations Liaison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2020

Hotel was very modern and beautiful, rooms were very spacious and lovely. The room was very clean and we had a room overlooking the main road but were not impacted by any noise. The bar area was nice and breakfast was really nice with a lot of choice.

There is a shopping mall opposite the hotel which is convenient and there is a restaurant in there called De'Ma which does an amazing bunny chow if you want to try it while there.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank emeraldxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHURDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Durban Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

Dear Emerald,

On behalf of the entire hotel team, we want to thank you for sharing your most memorable experiences with us during your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Durban Umhlanga Ridge.

It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! By taking pride in putting people first, we are not only executing the mission of our founders, but exceeding the expectations of our valued guests.

Please note your feedback has been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver great experiences. Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Durban Umhlanga Ridge and we hope you choose to create more memories here whenever your travels bring you back to Umhlanga Ridge.

Sincerely,
Nomonde Mkhabela
Guest Relations Liaison
nomonde.mkhabela@proteahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2020

All was as expected and we enjoyed our two night stay here. Pool and surrounding area rather small and could not cater for many guests. Room was fine and well appointed. Good bar, although drinks a touch overpriced. Breakfast good. Problem with the lifts (one of three basically out of order for our 2 day stay, another not working as we left). Good location for the Gateway (just across the road) and short Uber from the beach.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SarahC0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHURDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Durban Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

Dear SarahC0805,

On behalf of the entire hotel team, we want to thank you for sharing your most memorable experiences with us during your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Durban Umhlanga Ridge.

It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! By taking pride in putting people first, we are not only executing the mission of our founders, but exceeding the expectations of our valued guests.

Please note your feedback has been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver great experiences. Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Durban Umhlanga Ridge and we hope you choose to create more memories here whenever your travels bring you back to Umhlanga Ridge.

Sincerely,
Nomonde Mkhabela
Guest Relations Liaison
nomonde.mkhabela@proteahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2020 via mobile

Woke up at 4:30 to be on time for my flight to Durban, had a hectic day only got to the hotel around 19:00, knowing the brand I was just looking forward to having long bath, Order room service and off to bed in preparation for my next day, on the contrary I was confronted by an unpleasant smell on the corridor, passage not properly illuminated, then I got to my room and realize that I am not the only one who checked in (see pictures) . Scared to even take a shower let alone sleep on the bed my entire body is itching....

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank joycemoloi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHURDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Durban Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2020

Good Day Joyce,

We refer to your comments regarding your service experience during your visit at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Umhlanga Ridge and wish to assure you that these are viewed in very serious light.

Please accept our sincere our sincere apologies for the discomfort caused. Your experience of the service delivery overall most certainly does not reflect the high standard which we usually proud to offer.

We confirm that your concerns have been addressed and that corrective action is being taken to rectify the short cummings.

Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Umhlanga Ridge

Kind Regards,
Nomonde Mkhabela
Guest Relations Liaison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews