We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
1
0
1
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
0
1
4
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2015

First of all, Sleepy Hollow is a totally different place than Pmb Backpackers. The Management Photos show Sleepy Hollow, the visitors photos show Pmb Backpackers.

This rating will be for Pmb Backpackers. Former Sleepy Hollow, but at a different place.That's where I stayed.

Pmb Backpackers is NOT a bazbus stop as it said on their homepage. Also they do NOT do laundry service, as it said there. But they still let me do my washing as I asked for it.

When I arrived on cab as I was dropped off at Sleepy Hollow by bazbus and made my own way there, it turned out the bell didn't work and the gate was locked. So if you go there, please take a cell phone and their number and call them.

The backpacker itself is clean and well located in a safe area between a mall and the city center, both in walking distance.
Staff is not too helpful and interested.

As Pietermaritzburg itself is not worth a visit if you don't have too much time anyway, I do not recommend going there and staying at this place.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015

I had booked accommodation at Sleepy Hollow for 8 runners from Katu in the Northern Cape, who were coming down to run the Mandela Day Marathon. They arrived on Saturday 29 August 2015 and were going to sleep for 1 night and travel back after the race. The lady who is looking after this place, named Tipsy, was very rude, heartless, arrogant and had no sense of humour. The room that was allocated to guests had a broken door, in the ground floor, couldn't be locked, and by view will never be fixed as per Tipsy's explanation, as she said she saw no need to fix it. She complained that they will leave early for the race, so she has to let them out at 5am. When runners completed the race, Tipsy did not allow them to take a shower here. Imagine travelling all the way from Pietermaritzburg to Katu with sweat, yet you had paid for accommodation. I therefore called Mrs Masango, who is said to be the manager of this place. All she was saying was, she's in Jo'burg and she cannot help. Honestly, what kind of a manager is this? People here are very incompetent and they basically do not know what they are doing. I'm not sure on what quality standards they were assessed on, to meet the criteria and be given the permission to operate as a business. Customer service is unheard of. I have never in my life experience such a bad service in this industry. I hereby urge everybody who is looking for a place to stay to never try Sleepy Hollow. It is not worth wasting your cent on such. Look for an alternative accommodation. I do not recommend this place to anyone in South Africa and outside South Africa.

Room tip: Never think of sleeping at Sleepy Hollow. Try elsewhere.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sithembile N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2014

It was a bit of an emergency and last minute descions that we decided not to camp at Midmar dam and try find an alternative close by.

There turns out to be little in the way of backpackers or hostels in Pietermaritzburg, so I suggest if you do find an alternative option to Sleepy Hollo take it, alternatively push on through to Hillcrest.

The only upside is the one cheerful staff member, otherwise the place is run down, beds are uncomfortable, lacks facilities and has ZERO vibe.

Harsh but true I am afraid!

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ruggedchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

well, as said above, PMB Backpackers which apparently used to be sleepy hollow backpackers, has of course changed hands and under new ownership. I have been a constant guest to this backpackers for the last couple of weekends and what i can safely say is that the place is geared for greater potential!.
The new ownership and management are quite warm, friendly and keen to get the place in great shape. i believe it all starts with a positive attitude which is what is very clear with the new ownership.

I would be happy to see the building changes (minor and major) effected soon, so this is a call to the new ownership to keep up the positive attitude and translate that into developing this potential gemstone to its maximum benefits both to the guests and the owners.

I definitely would recommend this place to people visiting PMB.!!

Room tip: The 2 double rooms seem quite nice, new beds, cooler as their windows are shaded under the porch area on the outside. The dorm room in the main house does get a bit hot due to the unshaded windows.
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pantherz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

There was some confusion over where we are staying as Sleepy Hollow used to be located here but it is now called PMB Backpackers. This was the only place we could find in PMB at a reasonable price so gave it a go. The staff were friendly but the building needs a lot of work. The rooms are quite shabby and dated. If they gave it a facelift it would be a much nicer place and they have an opportunity to do this as its the only backpackers we could find in PMB. There is a great indian restuarant nearby which they recommended - Tandoori Clay Oven. One night stay only here was enough!

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 575lucyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews