We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Emdoneni Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp(Hluhluwe Game Reserve)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
194
79
10
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
79
10
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscat tourbeautiful catswild catsfire pitbig catslittle touchescheetah experiencecity lifetwo night stayan amazing experiencenight packagestayed here for two nightshoneymoon suitehluhluwe game reservegreat gamedinner buffetgame drives
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We received a friendly Zulu welcome to the Emdoneni Lodge. The accommodation is in a great location and very comfortable.
Meals were of a higher standard than the similar places that we visited.
Best of all was the Cat experience when we we able to interact with the four cat species that they have.
They do return animals to the wild although some are not suited for this.
We had singing by the staff after dinner one night.
Top marks

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmpleMedia, Public Relations Manager at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Hi Robert. Thank you for giving us a full mark score. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed all the offerings at the lodge. Our guests love the singing by the staff during dinner and we are glad that this was also enjoyed by you. Please visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

High hopes given its cat habitat and dedicated staff. Nice private villas with gardens, but a long way from reception and no phone - so a huge walk for help if you were even mobile. Non-functioning refrigerator. Same with air conditioning. Leaking from either toilet or shower in bathroom. No basics like tissues, face washers/flannels. No overnight replenishment of the paltry amounts of initial tea/coffee sachets provided on Day One. Single towel left on bathroom floor for replacement as advised remained there for the next morning - on the floor. It was necessary to walk a long distance to lodge laundry at reception. Once there, it was as if you were presenting the lady with a bag of dead rats. Despite assurances from the manager that their practice was to return it to the room, it didn't happen so I needed to approach reception to check and was chastised for my belief about delivery and my tardiness in collecting it myself. On another occasion (no phone, no room service), I walked to the bar to request a bottle of house wine to take back to my room. Despite the fact that the Lodge was fully booked, I was told that they had no house wine available as they had run out. I had no alternative but to choose a more expensive bottle. I was told flatly: "You don't need glasses." I certainly wasn't going to ask for an ice bucket and possible delivery after that instruction! Just when you felt that your own experience was an aberration, our group requested the national liqueur Amarula after our meal, only to be informed that there was none available - this despite there being at least 80-100 tourists in their dining room. Staff were later observed sniggering from the bar in our direction. Having said that, the buffet food was good. During my stay, I attempted to make incremental payments towards my daily expenditure in advance of checking out upon departure. This request was tersely refused. For a place that promised so much, the good experiences were totally extinguished by the majority of staff being rude, disinterested, argumentative, lazy, and openly scoffing at guests. What a shame.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Hetty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmpleMedia, Public Relations Manager at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for privately contacting us via Facebook and apologizing via email to our staff. We appreciate your honesty.

Herewith final feedback to your comments :

We didn’t receive any complaints nor negative feedback during your stay from any of our other guests which makes it all a bit surreal.

Your tour guide also completed his evaluation form - all were good and he even complimented us on our friendly staff. We always make sure to communicate with our guests and guides to make sure that during their stay they are 100% happy. As you know in this industry, things can go wrong but this wrong for us is very weird.

You should be made aware of the fact that we aren’t a hotel, but a lodge in the bush, with beautiful chalets in nature. And yes of course you have to walk a bit further to reception but I am sure it is worth it.

Unfortunately we do not have telephones in our rooms. As confirmed by you, you received your bottle of wine with glasses and ice bucket as per your request.

We don’t supply face cloths, we never had. This is a personal item which we believe guests need to be informed on.

We didn’t receive any complaints about a leaking toilet nor a leaking shower. And I can assure you that, after consulting with maintenance and the housekeeping, that the toilet nor the shower were ever leaking.

The amenities are being replenished daily, in the morning. However guests are always welcome to ask for more stock at reception.

Towels are being changed every morning, with no exception of your room.

The air conditioner in your room was working perfectly. The aircons are dual purpose for cold and heating. I assume you had difficulties with the settings? A manual is provided in the rooms.

The standard arrangement is to hand in your laundry at reception and also be collected. Help is always provided.

We did not run out of our house wine.

Our staff is constantly complimented about their friendliness and helpfulness. I can vow with certainty that none of the staff will ever make the comment ”you don’t need glasses”.
Our staff is really humble, willing and hard working. They are trying their utmost best and always happy to assist.

We did ran out of Amarula, but we made a plan that we had stock for the second night.

We, at Emdoneni Lodge, strive for excellence in all area’s and especially accommodating our guests in a friendly and professional way.

Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We had a good stay at the Emdoneni lodge but in my opinion it was overpriced for the room. We met 2 couples who said they got a discounted rate by calling the hotelL: they were South African though. The hotel also had some special packages but had only booked room, breakfast and dinner. We visited in the winter and stayed in a rondavel. the rooms were nice (nothing luxurious) and clean. Nice touch in the evening you found a short story on your bed on how the leopard got his spots or other local legends. We enjoyed the humor. The resort was well kept, and zebras and impalas were on the grounds.
The food was excellent for a couple of days: for those 2 days only 3 rooms were occupied in the hotel and the service was excellent: a la carte delicious dinners and breakfast. On the 3rd day, came a huge tour group and the menu was changed to a buffet for both dinner and breakfast. The food was varied but not as good as before for sure.
While there, we enjoyed visiting the Hluhluwe park. We saw most of the animals on that side of the park. The hotel is also located close to the elephant encounter project: we did not go but another family went and highly recommended it.
Location wise, the hotel is about 45 minutes from St Lucia. it looks close in a map but if you plan to spend time in St Lucia, i recommend staying in St Lucia (at least if you visit during the winter like we did). We spent 2 out of 3 days in St lucia: one the first day we got there and took a cruise. The cruise ended at 5pm which meant we had to drive at night to get to the hotel: not recommended to say the least... The next day, we went to visit the wetland park and Cape Vidal. Because we stayed too far from St Lucia, we were not able to take the tours offered by Heritage tour and some of them seem very cool especially at night.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cristina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmpleMedia, Public Relations Manager at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Hi Cristina

Thank you for the 4 star review. We are a little bit confused by some of your comments as the evaluation form you completed at the lodge is very different to this review (all either marked as excellent or good).

Please be advised that we are offering a standard 20% discount on our rates when a booking is made directly through our site. This special offer is applicable to all nationalities.

Please get in touch with us directly should you wish to discuss any of the issues raised above.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

This was one of the highlights of our South African trip. From the moment we arrived and saw zebra roaming the grounds we were delighted. Our accommodations were comfortable but what really stood out was the excellent food. All the meals and wines were first rate. The location between the Hluhluwe–iMfolozi Park and the Isimangaliso Wetland Park was perfect.

One bit of advice – we made the mistake of driving the N2 at night one evening. Not recommended: Too many large trucks, bikers, vendors, minibuses and walkers competing for space on a very busy un-lit road.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank tjl202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmpleMedia, Public Relations Manager at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Oh wow, what a brilliant review! Thank you for recommending our lodge, the food and wine offerings and location. It makes us proud to know that we are living up to our guests' expectations. All of the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We stayed in part of a roundavel which was cool. The bedroom was nicely furnished. The buffet was good and the staff entertained us. Nice bar. Friendly and helpful staff. I gave this a 5 but it isn't luxury if you are looking for that. It fits in with the natural surroundings; just perfect for us. We did the visit to the cat rehabilitation center and it was worthwhile. Got to see some of the cats up close and personal and learn about their habits. We also took a tour to Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Park. I loved this. We saw a lot of animals--not as many as in Kruger, but still a lot. More rhinos than anywhere else. Also zebra, elephant, giraffe, Cape buffalo, baboons, and more. I liked it because it was green--a very pretty park.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank aztraveleroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmpleMedia, Public Relations Manager at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

We are so grateful for another 5 star review! Thank you for taking the time to write about your good experiences at Emdoneni Lodge. We love that you loved your visit to the cat project, our beautiful surroundings and food offerings. Please visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews