We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falaza Game Park & Spa(Hluhluwe)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
196
80
11
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
80
11
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscat tourbeautiful catswild catsfire pitbig catslittle touchescheetah experiencecity lifefantastic experiencestayed here for two nightsnight packagedinner buffethoneymoon suitegreat gamehluhluwe game reservegame driveszulu village
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2017

This was one of the highlights of our South African trip. From the moment we arrived and saw zebra roaming the grounds we were delighted. Our accommodations were comfortable but what really stood out was the excellent food. All the meals and wines were first rate. The location between the Hluhluwe–iMfolozi Park and the Isimangaliso Wetland Park was perfect.

One bit of advice – we made the mistake of driving the N2 at night one evening. Not recommended: Too many large trucks, bikers, vendors, minibuses and walkers competing for space on a very busy un-lit road.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank tjl202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmpleMedia, Public Relations Manager at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Oh wow, what a brilliant review! Thank you for recommending our lodge, the food and wine offerings and location. It makes us proud to know that we are living up to our guests' expectations. All of the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We stayed in part of a roundavel which was cool. The bedroom was nicely furnished. The buffet was good and the staff entertained us. Nice bar. Friendly and helpful staff. I gave this a 5 but it isn't luxury if you are looking for that. It fits in with the natural surroundings; just perfect for us. We did the visit to the cat rehabilitation center and it was worthwhile. Got to see some of the cats up close and personal and learn about their habits. We also took a tour to Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Park. I loved this. We saw a lot of animals--not as many as in Kruger, but still a lot. More rhinos than anywhere else. Also zebra, elephant, giraffe, Cape buffalo, baboons, and more. I liked it because it was green--a very pretty park.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank aztraveleroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmpleMedia, Public Relations Manager at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

We are so grateful for another 5 star review! Thank you for taking the time to write about your good experiences at Emdoneni Lodge. We love that you loved your visit to the cat project, our beautiful surroundings and food offerings. Please visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to stay for a weekend. The lodge is clean and staff is really friendly.
The breakfast was also good with a good variety.
If you want to have a restful stay and be close to nature this is the place to be

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lientjie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmpleMedia, Public Relations Manager at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Another 5 star review! We are so happy! Thank you, Lientjie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We had a lovely stay at Emdoneni, it was a very relaxed weekend break away from the Durban city life. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable, the breakfasts and dinners were delicious and a large selection to choose from. The little touches, like the bedtime stories left on the pillow every night were special and something to remember.
We loved our stay so much that we have actually decided to have our wedding at the lodge early January 2018. We are very excited to share this little gem of a place with our family and friends. Ingrid has been amazing and we look forward to planning our special day with her and the staff at Emdoneni.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gina_nel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmpleMedia, Public Relations Manager at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Gina. This is truly a fantastic review. Thank you for taking the time to write down everything you love about the lodge. We are so very happy to welcome you back as a bride and we will make sure your wedding is perfect and beautiful :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Just spent 3 nights at the lodge with my 9 year old daughter and had an amazing experience. The lodge itself is wonderful. The staff is friendly and accommodating, the food and service are good, with something for everyone, the rooms and property are clean and safe. The game drives were fantastic, we got lucky enough to see 4 out of the big 5 our first day out, and we couldn't have asked for a better guide. "Z" was not only knowledgeable but also obviously enjoying his job. He went out of his way to explain everything we were seeing, from the animals to the plants to the tracks on the ground. The cat project was also a great learning experience as well as a lot of fun, especially being able to get so close. I would recommend Emdoneni to anyone looking for a family friendly, African experience. I was sad to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acfvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmpleMedia, Public Relations Manager at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you for a wonderful review. It always make us so happy to learn that our guests (and their kids) had an enjoyable time at the lodge. Glad that you spotted 4 of the Big 5. How lucky?! Please visit us again. All of the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews