We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A highlight of our trip”
Review of Emdoneni Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Emdoneni Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2017

This was one of the highlights of our South African trip. From the moment we arrived and saw zebra roaming the grounds we were delighted. Our accommodations were comfortable but what really stood out was the excellent food. All the meals and wines were first rate. The location between the Hluhluwe–iMfolozi Park and the Isimangaliso Wetland Park was perfect.

One bit of advice – we made the mistake of driving the N2 at night one evening. Not recommended: Too many large trucks, bikers, vendors, minibuses and walkers competing for space on a very busy un-lit road.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank tjl202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmpleMedia, Public Relations Manager at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Oh wow, what a brilliant review! Thank you for recommending our lodge, the food and wine offerings and location. It makes us proud to know that we are living up to our guests' expectations. All of the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017

We stayed in part of a roundavel which was cool. The bedroom was nicely furnished. The buffet was good and the staff entertained us. Nice bar. Friendly and helpful staff. I gave this a 5 but it isn't luxury if you are looking for that. It fits in with the natural surroundings; just perfect for us. We did the visit to the cat rehabilitation center and it was worthwhile. Got to see some of the cats up close and personal and learn about their habits. We also took a tour to Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Park. I loved this. We saw a lot of animals--not as many as in Kruger, but still a lot. More rhinos than anywhere else. Also zebra, elephant, giraffe, Cape buffalo, baboons, and more. I liked it because it was green--a very pretty park.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank aztraveleroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmpleMedia, Public Relations Manager at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

We are so grateful for another 5 star review! Thank you for taking the time to write about your good experiences at Emdoneni Lodge. We love that you loved your visit to the cat project, our beautiful surroundings and food offerings. Please visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to stay for a weekend. The lodge is clean and staff is really friendly.
The breakfast was also good with a good variety.
If you want to have a restful stay and be close to nature this is the place to be

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lientjie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmpleMedia, Public Relations Manager at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Another 5 star review! We are so happy! Thank you, Lientjie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We had a lovely stay at Emdoneni, it was a very relaxed weekend break away from the Durban city life. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable, the breakfasts and dinners were delicious and a large selection to choose from. The little touches, like the bedtime stories left on the pillow every night were special and something to remember.
We loved our stay so much that we have actually decided to have our wedding at the lodge early January 2018. We are very excited to share this little gem of a place with our family and friends. Ingrid has been amazing and we look forward to planning our special day with her and the staff at Emdoneni.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gina_nel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmpleMedia, Public Relations Manager at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Gina. This is truly a fantastic review. Thank you for taking the time to write down everything you love about the lodge. We are so very happy to welcome you back as a bride and we will make sure your wedding is perfect and beautiful :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Just spent 3 nights at the lodge with my 9 year old daughter and had an amazing experience. The lodge itself is wonderful. The staff is friendly and accommodating, the food and service are good, with something for everyone, the rooms and property are clean and safe. The game drives were fantastic, we got lucky enough to see 4 out of the big 5 our first day out, and we couldn't have asked for a better guide. "Z" was not only knowledgeable but also obviously enjoying his job. He went out of his way to explain everything we were seeing, from the animals to the plants to the tracks on the ground. The cat project was also a great learning experience as well as a lot of fun, especially being able to get so close. I would recommend Emdoneni to anyone looking for a family friendly, African experience. I was sad to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acfvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmpleMedia, Public Relations Manager at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you for a wonderful review. It always make us so happy to learn that our guests (and their kids) had an enjoyable time at the lodge. Glad that you spotted 4 of the Big 5. How lucky?! Please visit us again. All of the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
3.4 km away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
10.5 km away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
137 reviews
11.0 km away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#6 of 7 in Hluhluwe
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Gooderson DumaZulu Lodge and Traditional Zulu Village
9.5 km away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
10.3 km away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#8 of 32 in Hluhluwe
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emdoneni Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emdoneni Lodge

Address: District Road 123 | Bushlands, Hluhluwe, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range: HK$1,061 - HK$1,802 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Emdoneni Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following the 2015 voting period, Emdoneni Lodge has won: Global Winner in the Luxury Game Lodge category of the World Luxury Hotel Awards. If you ever dreamt of getting close to nature, interacting with tame cats like Cheetah, Emdoneni Lodge is the place to visit! Located in the heart of Zululand lies Emdoneni Lodge. The lodge offers unique opportunities for the visitor, as you get up close and personal with local wildlife. From sitting by the pool watching Zebra, Nyala, duiker and impala in their natural Sand Forest habitat, to coming face to face with Cheetah, Serval, Caracal and African Wild Cats at the Cat Sanctuary! Air-conditioned, en-suite rooms allow you to escape the heat of the day, and in the evenings you have a variety of meals to choose from at the buffet restaurant. Dinner in the Boma adds a different atmosphere as you eat under the African night sky, and get a glimpse into one of South Africa's great cultures with our Zulu dancers. End off your evening with a night-cap in our cosy bar or a chat in front of the fireplace. Your Zululand experience would not be complete without visiting nearby Hluhluwe/Imfolozi Game Park in one of the Lodges' game vehicles, or taking a trip to St Lucia to view some Hippo's and crocodiles on a lazy afternoon boat ride. Other activities on offer include Fishing charters, visiting the nearby Zulu cultural village, quad biking, horse riding or spending the day on the infamous Cape Vidal and Sodwana Bay beaches. Emdoneni Lodge offers the visitor a chance to experience Zululand at its' best. Centrally located and close to the main attractions that Zululand has to offer! Not long dirt roads to travel on.... A Home away from home!Your hosts Louis and Cecillie Nel look forward to meeting you, and from all the staff at Emdoneni - Salani Kahle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Emdoneni Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing