We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
200
80
11
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
80
11
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscat tourwild catsfire pitbig catslittle touchescity lifedinner buffetstayed here for two nightsnight packagehoneymoon suitegame driveszulu villagewonderful stayday triphluhluwe parkst luciacaracal
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Gorgeous location easily accessible without having to bump over dirt roads which was a plus for us. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Cheetah experience and Game Drive were the hi-lights of our stay. Hope to visit again with the rest of my family - know they will have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2017

Dear Margaret. Thank you for a lovely review. Please visit soon with the rest of your family - we would absolutely love to have you again. All of the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

My husband and I are a gay, American couple. Earlier this month as part of our honeymoon trip to South Africa we spent a few nights here. We liked the location KwazZulu Natal (near both game reserve and wetlands) and so booked with Emdoneni. We stayed in the Windfall cottage - their honeymoon suite. It is a bit separated from the other lodgings and main building but just a 3 minute walk. When we got to the cottage, there were zebras and other animals roaming in the yard. Just amazing. For two urbanites that closeness was very special. We could also see two of the cheetahs that Emdoneni is caring for from our porch. They were also basically in our yard - though behind a fence. The staff were always pleasant and helpful - including before and during our stay. The food was excellent. We hired one of their guides, Justin, to take us out into the park twice - once in the morning and once in the afternoon. We saw an enormous number of animals and frankly were as taken with the landscapes. Justin was an incredible guide. We learned so much from him about the area and each animal we saw (including 4 of the bi 5). Perhaps most appreciated, he made sure we did not leave the park without seeing a lion. He was committed to us seeing one. We so much appreciated that dedication and skill. We ended up seeing 3 lionesses and 8 cubs just as we were getting ready to leave the park. Thank you, Justin and Emdoneni!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is perfection - though the internet is not really functional. That is probably good though.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank dcjay64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Hi DC. We are so glad that we exceeded all your expectations. Thank you for writing this wonderful, detailed review - it makes us very proud! Congratulations once again on your wedding. All of the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

What an awesome place this is fantastic experience meeting the Cheetahs and a great game drive in the afternoon- tremendous value for money fabulous friendly staff can't say enough about the place
Great food clean rooms what more do you need

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jeff h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

This is a bigger lodge than I expected and therefore perfect for families. Good accommodation, a pool, a bar and restaurant and good food with great selection of choices. They organise safaris and are art of the Cheetah project which is great to see

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

We spent a night here in early December 2016 and regret not having booked for longer. We got to interact with the cheetahs, boy do they purr!!
Our rondavel was lovely as was the whole camp. Food was lovely but our choice was limited because there were only 5 guests there that night. Spent a relaxing hour or two sitting round the fire pit and having a drink. Will we be back? Oh yes!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tonyeade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Thank you for a 5 star review, Tony! We really appreciate your kind words and wonderful feedback. Please visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews