We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Request certain lodges”
Review of Emdoneni Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Emdoneni Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2016

This lodge was very hard to rate as there were actually two very different rooming experiences.
First, a room in the circular lodge. The room was quaint, but definitely showing age. There was not a lot of room to move around and the tile floors were dirty and there was hair in the sink. Yes, I know I am in Africa, but it could have been a little cleaner. The shower stream was also very weak.
Our friends, on the other hand had one of the rectangular rooms. There was much more room to move about and it wasn't, quite as "old". I would rate this room much higher.
The staff was very friendly and attentive. The buffet meats provided a nice variety of food and it was plentiful.
The location is good and it is a great place to socialize and relax. Nice patio with fire pit, good pool area, and you can observe wild life. Great free wifi.
Be sure to visit the Cheetah project while there.

Room Tip: Do not get one of the circular rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Grumpyone88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmpleMedia, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your review. We deeply regret that you had the unfortunate experience of hair being left behind in the basin. When you brought the problem to our attention, we offered to solve the issue immediately. However we weren’t allowed in your room, hence we weren’t able to rectify the problem. We are aware that our chalets are more spacious than our rondavels, but staying in an authentic African-style rondavel with a thatched roof, is a unique experience that many of our guest enjoy. It’s a pity that you didn’t feel that way and didn’t value the unique experience.

A sincere thank you for your positive comment about our wonderful staff and food.
We always go above and beyond to ensure that all our guests have a wonderful time and feel spoiled at Emdoneni Lodge.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here on a tour. Little bungalow rooms are simply too cute. Nice private enterances. Food in the restaurant is very good and plenty. Big plus and draw here is their animal refuge on site. You can walk up to the animals near the enterances and get pretty close to take photos. Also went into the "cat" incloser with a guide. Absolutely loved it here.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank SuzetteStrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmpleMedia, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

Hi Suzette

Thank you for a wonderful review - it is much appreciated. We are so happy to learn that you had a wonderful time at the lodge and that you enjoyed visiting our cat project which is so dear to our hearts. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

I have never felt so at home away from home. I booked the three night package directly through Emdoneni and was not disappointed. My partner was worried when we arrived and there wasn't a TV. By the end he understood why.

We had a fantastic time (and forgot that there wasn't a t.v in the room) and I cannot fault the amazing hospitality from Nondomiso and Rebecca and the crackling on the roast pork prepared by Cindy is world class.

Nondomiso has exceptional customer service skills and was most helpful though out our stay.

The Lodge is close to the main road so you may hear some traffic in the evenings although we didn't find this invasive.

Towards the end of dinner there is a charming choir to entertain guests with beautifully sung African songs including an incredible Shosholoza.

Our second favourite part of the evenings was sitting around the fire pit after dinner with a glass of wine or coffee talking and star gazing.

There are some places in South Africa that will stay with you forever. This is one of them.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Bianca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Hi Bianca. We are so blessed to receive such wonderful feedback. A heartfelt thank you for taking the time to write this review and for pointing out just how much you enjoyed your stay at Emdoneni Lodge. We are glad to learn that you could enjoy some quiet time with a glass of wine next to the fire - this is Africa! We are very proud of our staff, and I'll be sure to share this review with them. We look forward to welcome you back in Hluhluwe one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed two nights at Emdoneni Lodge while touring South Africa. Very comfortable accommodation. Buffet meals were very nice. Highlight was hearing the kitchen and serving staff sing several traditional songs towards the end of dinner. Their harmonies were wonderful.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Oh wow, what a special review. Thank you for letting us know just how much you enjoyed your experience at Emdoneni Lodge. All of the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

This was our first hotel after Cape Town and was a welcome change. Very quiet and no phones no TV. In some rooms the heat did not work but blankets made it unnecessary.
Outside shower would be fun in summer but not in winter.
Breakfast and dinner buffets were as expected with the singing of the staff on the second night a good surprise and worth the tip.
Visiting with the cheetahs was great and 1 member of group who dropped her phone had a good close encounter none of us will ever forget!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank william f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear William. A sincere thank you for the compliments to our establishment. We are extremely thankful for your recognition of all aspects of your stay. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
9.5 km away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
11 km away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
77 reviews
3.4 km away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
146 reviews
23.4 km away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#1 of 33 in Hluhluwe
329 reviews
10.3 km away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#9 of 33 in Hluhluwe
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emdoneni Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emdoneni Lodge

Address: District Road 123 | Emdoneni Farm, Bushlands, Hluhluwe, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range: HK$1,116 - HK$1,468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Emdoneni Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following the 2015 voting period, Emdoneni Lodge has won: Global Winner in the Luxury Game Lodge category of the World Luxury Hotel Awards. If you ever dreamt of getting close to nature, interacting with tame cats like Cheetah, Emdoneni Lodge is the place to visit! Located in the heart of Zululand lies Emdoneni Lodge. The lodge offers unique opportunities for the visitor, as you get up close and personal with local wildlife. From sitting by the pool watching Zebra, Nyala, duiker and impala in their natural Sand Forest habitat, to coming face to face with Cheetah, Serval, Caracal and African Wild Cats at the Cat Sanctuary! Air-conditioned, en-suite rooms allow you to escape the heat of the day, and in the evenings you have a variety of meals to choose from at the buffet restaurant. Dinner in the Boma adds a different atmosphere as you eat under the African night sky, and get a glimpse into one of South Africa's great cultures with our Zulu dancers. End off your evening with a night-cap in our cosy bar or a chat in front of the fireplace. Your Zululand experience would not be complete without visiting nearby Hluhluwe/Imfolozi Game Park in one of the Lodges' game vehicles, or taking a trip to St Lucia to view some Hippo's and crocodiles on a lazy afternoon boat ride. Other activities on offer include Fishing charters, visiting the nearby Zulu cultural village, quad biking, horse riding or spending the day on the infamous Cape Vidal and Sodwana Bay beaches. Emdoneni Lodge offers the visitor a chance to experience Zululand at its' best. Centrally located and close to the main attractions that Zululand has to offer! Not long dirt roads to travel on.... A Home away from home!Your hosts Louis and Cecillie Nel look forward to meeting you, and from all the staff at Emdoneni - Salani Kahle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Emdoneni Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing