We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Emdoneni Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp(Hluhluwe Game Reserve)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
196
80
11
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
80
11
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscat tourbeautiful catswild catsfire pitbig catslittle touchescheetah experiencecity lifean amazing experiencestayed here for two nightsnight packagedinner buffethoneymoon suitegreat gamehluhluwe game reservegame driveszulu village
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here on a tour. Little bungalow rooms are simply too cute. Nice private enterances. Food in the restaurant is very good and plenty. Big plus and draw here is their animal refuge on site. You can walk up to the animals near the enterances and get pretty close to take photos. Also went into the "cat" incloser with a guide. Absolutely loved it here.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank SuzetteStrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmpleMedia, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

Hi Suzette

Thank you for a wonderful review - it is much appreciated. We are so happy to learn that you had a wonderful time at the lodge and that you enjoyed visiting our cat project which is so dear to our hearts. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

I have never felt so at home away from home. I booked the three night package directly through Emdoneni and was not disappointed. My partner was worried when we arrived and there wasn't a TV. By the end he understood why.

We had a fantastic time (and forgot that there wasn't a t.v in the room) and I cannot fault the amazing hospitality from Nondomiso and Rebecca and the crackling on the roast pork prepared by Cindy is world class.

Nondomiso has exceptional customer service skills and was most helpful though out our stay.

The Lodge is close to the main road so you may hear some traffic in the evenings although we didn't find this invasive.

Towards the end of dinner there is a charming choir to entertain guests with beautifully sung African songs including an incredible Shosholoza.

Our second favourite part of the evenings was sitting around the fire pit after dinner with a glass of wine or coffee talking and star gazing.

There are some places in South Africa that will stay with you forever. This is one of them.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Bianca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Hi Bianca. We are so blessed to receive such wonderful feedback. A heartfelt thank you for taking the time to write this review and for pointing out just how much you enjoyed your stay at Emdoneni Lodge. We are glad to learn that you could enjoy some quiet time with a glass of wine next to the fire - this is Africa! We are very proud of our staff, and I'll be sure to share this review with them. We look forward to welcome you back in Hluhluwe one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed two nights at Emdoneni Lodge while touring South Africa. Very comfortable accommodation. Buffet meals were very nice. Highlight was hearing the kitchen and serving staff sing several traditional songs towards the end of dinner. Their harmonies were wonderful.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Oh wow, what a special review. Thank you for letting us know just how much you enjoyed your experience at Emdoneni Lodge. All of the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

This was our first hotel after Cape Town and was a welcome change. Very quiet and no phones no TV. In some rooms the heat did not work but blankets made it unnecessary.
Outside shower would be fun in summer but not in winter.
Breakfast and dinner buffets were as expected with the singing of the staff on the second night a good surprise and worth the tip.
Visiting with the cheetahs was great and 1 member of group who dropped her phone had a good close encounter none of us will ever forget!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank william f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear William. A sincere thank you for the compliments to our establishment. We are extremely thankful for your recognition of all aspects of your stay. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Myself and my husband spent the weekend here. What a wonderful experience it was.
The service from arrival, bar staff, room staff, dinner staff could not be faulted!! Everybody was so joyful and friendly.
The food was excellent!!
The rooms were small but completely functional.
The highlight of course was the cat tour. AMAZING. Guides were so knowledgeable and willing to answer questions. The area was well kept and clearly the cats are all well looked after and loved!
The venue itself is very central. We easily spent an afternoon in Hluhluwe Park itself and on Sunday went through and participated in an elephant interaction.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank HeidiinDurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

Dear Heidi. Thank you for the review. We love it when our guests spend 2 nights or more with us. With a longer stay one get to know our staff, and have enough time to thoroughly enjoy the lodge and its surroundings. Glad to hear that your visit to our cat project was the highlight of your stay. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews