We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$110
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/05/21
Expedia
US$110
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/05/21
Agoda.com
US$110
US$89
View deal
SAVE US$21
Trip.comUS$100
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,316)
Filter reviews
3,316 results
Traveller rating
1,359
1,122
457
214
164
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,359
1,122
457
214
164
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean breeze tsogo sun in room dining room service value for money durban beachfront indian ocean golden mile excellent service sea facing enjoyed my stay friends and family home away from home vigour verve promenade conference
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 3,316 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2020

No Aircons work. Given room 1202 and 1910 after complaining. Told they vintage rooms. Honestly how this is a 4* hotel, the lord knows. Really shocking place to be. I was made to believe a double bed is a queen size bed. They are thought to lie at this hotel.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank ziyaadh2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole Munro, Other at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2020

Thank you for the review and that we got to chat to you personally about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2020

Check in was bad, unorganized, the receptionist was more worried about payment for parking and tourism levy. No information about breakfast times, check out times, internet access, or even where the elevators where. On the morning of day 2 we found a drunk individual in the reception area wandering around making a commotion. There was no security. We felt very unsafe in the hotel. The room aircon was not effective. The decor and layout of the room was dated. Rather use other Tsogo Suns close by for value for money. Elangeni is no longer what it used to be. Maybe use Marine Parade and save a little money.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank RDevduth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole Munro, Other at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for the valuable feedback you have provided. Your feedback is noted and will be passed onto our teams for improvement. We very sorry for this .

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Elangeni and Maharani and hope that you find improvement upon your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2020

Everything about the Elangeni is superb! Location, service, deco and amazingly on point staff. Breakfast was an absolute delight especially since it catered fully for halaal options. Definitely place to stay if you need to be in the Durban central area.

Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank GlobetrotterLolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole Munro, Other at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review us We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Elangeni and Maharani .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2020

Cricket tour for school to Durban against DPHS school. We booked in and the stay was central it a perfect. Our family really enjoyed it. The hotel was clean the staff were friendly and kind. They accommodated my husband when he needed foam pillows.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank kaanitak2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole Munro, Other at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are delighted that you enjoyed. your stay with us.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Elangeni and Maharani .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2020

Spent a night there on a business trip. Got upgraded to a room on the 18th floor. Really spectacular views of the ocean, beachfront and the Durban port.

Dolphin sighting from the room certainly was a great welcome.

The rooms as clean and as expected from the chain. Service from all staff was excellent.

Breakfast was good with a wide variety. Good to see stewed fruit back on the menu.
Would recommend for a business trip

Room tip: Any room high up
Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeets2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole Munro, Other at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2020

Thank you for taking the time to complete the review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Elangeni and Maharani .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews