We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$100
View deal
Agoda.com
US$101
US$87
View deal
SAVE US$14
Free cancellation until 23/04/21
ExpediaUS$101
Trip.com
FindHotel
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
95
48
13
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
95
48
13
7
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2019

Myself and my husband recently stayed at the St James on Venice while he was in town for a congress. While the staff were very welcoming and accommodating our stay was sadly very disappointing.

To begin with the quality of the hotel is not four star, even calling it a 3 star would be a push. The wall paper was badly scuffed, particularly upstairs leading to the rooms where large sections of it had black lines running across it, when in the room we noticed our walls were also scuffed, as well as the bathroom sink. Our bed was sufficiently comfortable but we battled to relax inside in our room as there was a very noisy Sheesha (Hubbly Bubbly) bar outside our window that was incredibly loud.

Furthermore and perhaps most disappointing were the breakfasts. There were NO COLD BREAKFASTS at all on the menu - not even a basic pastry. When I asked if there was anything at all they could offer me instead of hot breakfast I was told fruit salad and yoghurt could be arranged only to be informed 15 minutes later that it in fact it couldn't be arranged as there was no yoghurt. On our second morning (still no cold breakfast on the menu) there was no fruit choice available at all. To make matters worse the hot breakfast was really not great and took a long time to prepare. Even the most basic of hotels have a pastry selection and fruit juice available for its guests.

I am not sure when this hotel was last reviewed by the grading council but I do advise travellers that it is no longer four stars.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MLAbramson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2019

Wonderful food, crispy clean rooms, environment is so lively. Very helpful staff, from the security to Manager everyone ready to help. Just go see for your self, the outdoor has a farm vibes with all the trees with amazing shades yet still stand out modern and elegant.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mmomod338720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Vusi, General Manager at The Saint James on Venice Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2019

Thank you for your kind review and comments about our hotel. We truly appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2019

Staff and venue excellent. Close to amenities with secure parking. Restaurant on the premises which takes away you having to go looking for a restaurant in the area. Food gr8. Staff friendly and helpful. Nite vibe with the locals amazing.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank berthadunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Vusi, General Manager at The Saint James on Venice Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2019

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed staying with us. Please do return soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2019

Lovely gem. This is definitely boutique in that is small with enough staff around at any given time to ensure you stay is pleasant. The restaurant is a must, not just for breakfast but for dinner or lunch. They also have an assortment of fresh cakes. Its fairly close to anything you want to do and the fact that its alcohol free means that you truly can have a relaxing stay.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AimeeDherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Vusi, General Manager at The Saint James on Venice Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2019

Thank you for a wonderful review. We truly appreciate it and hope you visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2019

rooms were good and neat, they smell good, food is good and fresh, but we were not able to watch tv. breakfast and lunch are awesome and fresh. the service was good from the reception to the kitchen staff and everyone.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tlaitlait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Vusi, General Manager at The Saint James on Venice Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2019

Thank you for the lovely remarks and comments. We are glad your experience with us was great and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews